We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More eatery than market”
Review of Derosier's Market

Derosier's Market
Ranked #23 of 59 Restaurants in Freeport
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Pizza
Restaurant details
Kingston Ontario Canada
Level Contributor
64 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“More eatery than market”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

We had heard one of the locals advise a young couple to get their pizza at Derosier's so stopped in for lunch. The market has been here since the early 1900's run by the same family. They have an extensive menu of cold and "toasty" sub sandwiches as well as pizzas (whole or by the slice). The subs are either whole (12 inch) or half and are excellent. There is an assortment of beverages (my wife had tea and I had blueberry lager). There are only three small booths as most of the business is take out.
Well worth a stop

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 1kramer2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    20
    9
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Best Maine 'Italian'”
Reviewed November 24, 2012

They serve the quintessential Maine I-talian with great service and a great beer selection. A Freeport institution.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tmateosian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freeport, Maine
Level Contributor
59 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Since 1904, that's old for us”
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Great staff, sandwiches and pizza, and in season ice cream. A good cooler selection of drinks includig some English ales. Local down home atmosphere!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Doug_Reighley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
69 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great market in Freeport - friendly staff, good food at reasonable prices.”
Reviewed October 19, 2012

We stopped in there on our last morning in Freeport - I wish we had done so earlier in the trip. The owner was there and we chatted about lobster rolls among other things, and how some local places are selling a frozen Canadian seafood product which falls far short of the "real thing" . He stated he buys his lobster locally, never frozen, and wouldn't consider anything else. Since we were leaving town right then, we picked up italian subs and ate them later on the trip home - delicious!

Next trip up to LL Bean/Mecca, we will get lobster rolls at Derosier's - that's a promise!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NeverPayFullPrice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brunswick
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Best place in Freeport to grab a quick bite”
Reviewed August 1, 2012

Absolutely positive experience, so glad I stopped by this place. Extremely friendly staff (cute too ;). The food was great as well, for a small convenience store I wasn't expecting much when I got a sandwich there, but was definitely taken by surprise. Portion size was generous, price was reasonable. Well worth the visit if you're in a hurry, they also have great pizzas. I stopped by on the night of the 100th anniversary fireworks by L.L. Bean so downtown was insane, and the restaurants were packed well after 11 which I'm sure the staff wasn't happy about but they didn't let the customers know it. I was so pleased with my visit that night that I took one of their bumper stickers because I think this place deserves more recognition.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fman1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Derosier's Market also viewed

 

Been to Derosier's Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing