We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Consistently Good Food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lobster Cooker

Lobster Cooker
Ranked #16 of 59 Restaurants in Freeport
Price range: $5 - $25
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: The Lobster Cooker is located in the heart of Freeport's shopping district just two blocks from L.L. Bean. Join us for fresh seafood in the Downeast Maine tradition. Dine in our historic 1860 barn or bask on our sun drenched garden patio. Relax in our Sports Pub and catch your favorite game on our HD TV's and wet your whistle a couple ice cold local drafts. We offer a full bar with fast friendly service. We feature fresh picked Maine lobster, crab meat and fresh native seafood. We also offer burgers and sandwiches. Our award winning chowders are made fresh daily.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
127 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Consistently Good Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

We ate three times during our stay, and enjoyed every meal. The cost was reasonable, the service excellent, and the quality of food was also very good. No complains at all. What we enjoyed the most were the steamed clams, which were super fresh and tasty. Definitely worth going for a meal.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Moichee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    68
    19
    12
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Casual delicious seafood”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

What a surprise gem this place is. On the main strip of shops in Freeport. We randomly went in and every part of our experience was amazing. The server was great. The value was great. The lobster bisque, Maine blueberry cobbler, lobster roll, and veggie burger (I know that's a surprise) were all AMAZING!!!!! We would definitely go back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Amandamaui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Shore, New York
Level Contributor
104 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Pricey and Below Average.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

We started off with the Lobster Bisque. There were large pieces of lobster in it, but at the bottom of the paper cup it comes in, were large chunks of what I believe was flour. The soup was never heated up enough to thoroughly thicken the bisque. I had a fried shrimp dinner that was totally forgettable. They were covered in a very thin and tasteless coating. They were small sized shrimp, and completely unappealing. My wife's lobster was well prepared and tasty. We made a big mistake and ordered dessert. It was blueberry cobbler. It was stale and overcooked and incredibly dry. The blueberries at the bottom were completely burned and dry. The only good part about this place was the waitress. She was alone and managed to get everyone their food in a very timely manner. She gets an A+, while the Restaurant gets a C-.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Gart W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Maine
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Enjoy the bisque”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

Dustin, taking over for his father in law, has tastefully rehabbed the dining area, and converted from counter ordering to servers. The bisque and chowder are exceptional, the mussels very good, and the fish and chips above par. The service has been pleasant and casually paced. The menu may be somewhat limited, and leans to fried foods, but I would urge caution in trying to do too many things.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank sonoftwig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brunswick, Maine
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Not just lobster and not just for tourists”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

The lobster Cooker is in the heart of Freeports outlet shopping. They offer good food at fair prices. If you want lobster or other Maine seafood this could be for you. Better than I thought, not the tourist trap I thought it might be.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tom G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lobster Cooker also viewed

 

Been to Lobster Cooker? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing