We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good service on a busy, rainy night”

Gritty McDuff's - Lower Main Street
Ranked #9 of 59 Restaurants in Freeport
Price range: $15 - $25
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Description: Gritty McDuff's, Maine's Original Brew Pub specializes in hand-crafted English style ales and traditional and creative pub fare, in a friendly and fun atmosphere. Both Gritty's fine ales and the pubs have won countless "best of" awards through our twenty-six years of operation. Our standard brews are session beers, Gritty's Pub-Style Pale Ale, McDuff's Best Bitter, Black Fly Stout, allowing one to have multiple beers within a reasonable time period without overwhelming the senses. Our seasonal and varietal ale offerings are more adventurous, some with a higher ABV, and some with higher IBU. We brew a beer for all craft brew palates. For the diner, we offer traditional pub fare alongside not so traditional specialty items. Our pub-style long tables with benches easily accommodate parties of all sizes and add to the camaraderie.
Stafford Springs
Level Contributor
110 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Good service on a busy, rainy night”
Reviewed July 6, 2014

Met some friends from the area here on a rainy July 4th and they were understandably very busy. But even for a group of 6 of us, we didn't wait longer than 20 minutes for a table. They seated us very quickly and got our orders taken right away. We split some nachos that were good, but anything extra on the nachos cost extra too. I had the fried fish tacos and they were delicious - the pickled onions on them made them extra delicious. The rice with the tacos was pretty bland so I didn't eat it, but there were plenty of tacos (3 of them!) so the rice was unnecessary. Everyone else seemed to enjoy their food. Not a bad choice in the Freeport area.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Laura L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

487 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    137
    206
    99
    32
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Down home cooking”
Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I ate there for the first time while visiting in Portland. What a fun time. The staff was very congenial. The food although not fancy, was delicious. There was laid back, no need to hurry, atmosphere. A real example of down home Maine hospitality

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mark-sensei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotia, New York
Level Contributor
104 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Bar Service Better than Table Service”
Reviewed July 4, 2014

Visited on a rainy July 4th and the restaurant was very busy. The bar service was good; got our beers, chips and salsa right away. Our table was ready sooner than we anticipated and we placed our orders fairly soon after sitting down. Unfortunately, it took 55 minutes to get our simple lunches - chowder, house made chips, salads with grilled chicken, fish and chips and a house salad. The house salad didn't arrive with the rest of our food and we had to ask for it twice. The waitress was not happy with us when we asked why it took an hour to get a house salad; her reply was that it hadn't been an hour, okay, 55 minutes is not an hour. She did have the cost of the house salad taken off the bill. Even as the crowd thinned, it still took a very long time to get a beer.
The frustration of waiting so long for our food was not made better by the food itself. The salads were supposed to have crumbled blue cheese and apple, both were there, but not much of it and the grilled chicken was dry. The fish and chips were nothing special as was the chowder.
It wasn't worth the wait and it shouldn't take an hour and a half to have a quick lunch before going shopping in Freeport.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Claudia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, New Hampshire
2 reviews
“Great dinner ”
Reviewed July 4, 2014 via mobile

Went to Grittys for the first time with my husband and in laws after a day of shopping in Freeport. Our food was DELICIOUS, the atmosphere was fun (loud, but to be expected), and the wait staff was very helpful. Personally, I have celiac disease and our waitresses was very knowledgeable about it and they had more than I could ask for to eat! I highly recommend Grittys for anyone in the area, good prices, great food! Happy eating!

Helpful?
Thank khallx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houlton, Maine
Level Contributor
94 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“A fun brew pub”
Reviewed July 1, 2014

My wife and I ate at the Freeport Gritty's last week. She ordered the fried clam gyro and said it was so good that she was going to try to make it at home. I had the club sandwich, which was made with real turkey, not deli turkey. The bread was homemade or at least tasted like it came from a local bakery. We ate outside, which is a must on a nice day. The choice of Gritty's draft beer is a plus. We've eaten at Gritty's before when we've been in Freeport and always enjoyed our meals.

There's a enclosed play area outside for kids too where they can burn off some energy while the adults continue to eat.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wayne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gritty McDuff's - Lower Main Street also viewed

 

Been to Gritty McDuff's - Lower Main Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing