We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Blackened fish wrap=boring”

Gritty McDuff's - Lower Main Street
Ranked #10 of 59 Restaurants in Freeport
Price range: $15 - $25
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Description: Gritty McDuff's, Maine's Original Brew Pub specializes in hand-crafted English style ales and traditional and creative pub fare, in a friendly and fun atmosphere. Both Gritty's fine ales and the pubs have won countless "best of" awards through our twenty-six years of operation. Our standard brews are session beers, Gritty's Pub-Style Pale Ale, McDuff's Best Bitter, Black Fly Stout, allowing one to have multiple beers within a reasonable time period without overwhelming the senses. Our seasonal and varietal ale offerings are more adventurous, some with a higher ABV, and some with higher IBU. We brew a beer for all craft brew palates. For the diner, we offer traditional pub fare alongside not so traditional specialty items. Our pub-style long tables with benches easily accommodate parties of all sizes and add to the camaraderie.
Pepperell, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Blackened fish wrap=boring”
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Beer choices were great, ambiance was good albeit noisy, but the fish was dry,tasted old with no flavor wrapped in doughy flour tortillas. Ugh. Disappointing for being on the ocean! However the calamari was great-which shows they have the potential. I'll check back another time and see if they've improved.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank katieteacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    138
    209
    102
    33
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Maine
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“NOISY!!!”
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Can't hear yourself think, not my cup of tea, tried it, won't repeat. Food good, beers good, service good, noise level way too much.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank boarstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“No banger for your buck”
Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

I visit Gritty's about twice a year but mostly for the beer. The last time I was there my wife and I sat in the back room over looking the brewery/holding tank. It was Saturday night and it was busy so the service was a bit slow as to be expected when it is busy as it was. However, I ordered the Bangers and Mash which arrived cold. My wife has a gluten allergy and ordered the Ruben on Udi's bread and seemed satisfied. This was the worst visit I have has at Gritty McDuffs and it wasn't that bad. The waitress took 50% off my meal and apologized. We stayed for a few beers afterward.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PhantomFatGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Nice place for beer and sandwiches”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Nice ambiance, great food selection and friendly staff. The beer selection was varied and as it was St. Patrick's day it was a fun place to get a bite to eat and a nice cold local beer!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank DIKTHAI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Best lamb burger in Maine”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Great place to go for a truly filling meal and great selection of their own in house brews. The menu does not change much, but why bother when everything on it is already great. Without doubt, they make the best lamb burger in Maine and many other items on menu are tips as well. Great staff and atmosphere.
Go for dinner, start the rest of the night for great brews and company.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank amacwow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gritty McDuff's - Lower Main Street also viewed

 

Been to Gritty McDuff's - Lower Main Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing