We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tasty food, very expensive tap water”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of 1912 Cafe

1912 Cafe
Ranked #20 of 59 Restaurants in Freeport
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $14
Cuisines: American, Cafe, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
River Vale, NJ
Level Contributor
53 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Tasty food, very expensive tap water”
Reviewed March 1, 2014

The sandwiches we ordered were tasty, freshly made and reasonably priced. They were large enough to be quite filling. The menu is very clear as to cost of the food, but not the cost of drinks. We were quite surprised to be charged $1.00 each, plus tax, for 8 oz glasses of tap water. That is not reasonable, in my opinion.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank waltlayton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    36
    14
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Level Contributor
141 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Fresh, fast and delicious!”
Reviewed January 25, 2014

Two of us were shopping at the LL Bean store and got very hungry..... we decided to stop into the 1912 Cafe in the LL Bean store. I have never been there before and didn't know anything of their offerings. What a gem of a place! We each had the Ridge Runner ($8.99) - a delicious wrap with house garlic and lemon hummus, Pineland Farms Feta Cheese, Kalamata Olives, marinated sun dried tomatoes, english cucumbers, red onions and TONS of great spring mix (greens), accompanied with fresh bread and butter pickles! A vegans' delight! They offered several Captain Eli's Maine soda's on tap, deserts and other beverages as well. Delightful break from a day shopping at LL Bean!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dunn2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericton, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great place for a quick (and yummy) lunch”
Reviewed December 26, 2013

My husband and I stopped at Cafe 1912 during a recent shopping trip. We chose it based on the Tripadvisor reviews, and as usual the reviews were right on the bat.

Our only disappointment was that there was no lobster bisque being served that day, but I did have the haddock chowder and it was excellent. Very flavourful.

My husband had the "Black Watch" sandwich and it was great! I had a bite, and I ate the pickles on the side. :)

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BellatheFlashpacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
Level Contributor
84 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Fabulous sandwiches”
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Like many great restaurants, the food selection is not extensive but the sandwiches are fabulous, especially the ones on European ryebread. Really awesome!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank 12345Dc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarksville, Virginia
Level Contributor
93 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good Food Inside LL Beans”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

This is a quant little cafe with a nice menue. The food fresh and delicious the only draw back is if you are brining kids the drinks are small and expensive. 2.00 for a small cup of soda no refills. Bring your own water and enjoy the cafe.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank det683
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to 1912 Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing