We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Setting But Expensive”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Freeport
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Recompence Shore Campground at Wolfe's Neck Farm
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 1, 2010

This beautiful campground is only 30 mins from my house in the city but it feels like a distant place miles away in the country. The oceanfront sites are beautiful with great views of the bay. The farm is fun to explore with kids and the employees are always very friendly and accommodating.

On my last couple of camping trips, however, I've been kind of disappointed by the condition of some of the sites and general maintenance of the grounds. For $40 a night, I would expect the sites to be in better condition. Also, both of my last two trips have been ruined by rowdy campers drinking all night not obeying the quiet time of 10-7 which is a real turn-off when camping with young kids. I wish the staff would do more to enforce the quiet time hours.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shankwheat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (147)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

143 - 147 of 147 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2009

Personally, I am not a fan of "car camping," but this is an exception! We had site 96, and it was amazing! Any closer to the water and we would have been swimming. The sounds of the lake were mesmerizing, lulling us to sleep and prodding us to wake up. Perfect location for sunset and sunrise. It was quiet (mind you, it was mid-May) peaceful, beautiful, and convenient. Reasonably priced as well, for the view we were getting. I will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank meghangw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2007

We stayed at the Bayview cabin and were told that there were gas lights, a stove, bbq grill, pots, pans and utensils. Luckily we had plenty of lanterns and candles because the gas ones provided were extremely dim. There was a pot and a pan but they were too small and the only utensils were a few forks and plastic butter knives. So bring your own spatula, grill utensils, steak knives and cookie sheets. Lastly, the bbq grill provided was a tiny charcoal grill that was missing the racks, we would have brought our gas grill from home had we known. The sites are close together and most of the tent sites are right next to the road. Nice bay views but tough to swim unless you have a gradually sloping site.

Stayed: August 2007
1  Thank Raspucia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2007

This is my favorite campground on the coast of Maine. I'm originally from Maine but have been living in Boston for almost 10 years. This campground is close enough to everything but far enough away as well.

It's clean, comfy, there are showers and bathrooms with flushing toilets, laundry facilities, outhouses and faucets around the campground. The office even has food and other goods you might need. It's a simple but perfect campground. The location couldn't be better and when the tide is up you can swim. Being able to bring the dog was a huge plus.

We love the shore campsites as that is our preference. The campground has a website.

We also camped here in July 2005. We have reservations already for July 2007 and can't wait!

Stayed: July 2006
3  Thank NewtonTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2004

This is one of the most beautiful and affordable campgrounds in Maine. The view of the bays are gorgeous. It is very quiet and peaceful here. Pets are allowed which makes it nice for folks travelling with their dogs. The sites range from primitive to comfy. The most sites are surrounded by trees which give great shade on even the hottest days.
The weekend I was there the Canadian Geese were migrating and used the cove as an overnight stop. It was a fantastic to hear them communicate and know they were passing through just like I was.
The fees for the campground go to support Wolf's Neck Farm and it's Organic Beef raising and other positive nature programs.

11  Thank Melissa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Freeport
2.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport
2.6 mi away
Quality Suites
Quality Suites
#9 of 11 in Freeport
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Harraseeket Inn
Harraseeket Inn
#1 of 11 in Freeport
972 reviews
4.0 mi away
Best Western Freeport Inn
Best Western Freeport Inn
#8 of 11 in Freeport
456 reviews
11.7 mi away
Inn At Diamond Cove
Inn At Diamond Cove
#10 of 20 in Portland
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Recompence Shore Campground at Wolfe's Neck Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Recompence Shore Campground at Wolfe's Neck Farm

Address: 134 Burnett Rd, Freeport, ME 04032-6322
Location: United States > Maine > Freeport
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Freeport
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For over 50 years, our family-friendly Recompence Shore Campground has given families the opportunity to stay at a working saltwater farm just 4.5 miles from downtown Freeport and L.L. Bean. Set on our 626 acres of farmland and forest with over 4 miles of Casco Bay ocean frontage, our campground is the perfect place to enjoy your Maine vacation in the country. Open May-October (winter camping by appointment) 3 oceanfront cottages & 130 oceanfront, inland and wooded campsites Tents-only area (Middle Bay) 20 RV sites (inland) with water & 30 amp electric service (35' max) Limited oceanfront sites that accomodate motorhomes and trailers (dry camping) Adjacent to Wolfe's Neck Woods State Park Pet-friendly (max: 2 well-behaved, leashed pets per site) Summer kayak and bicyle rentals, farm tours, lobster bakes, Snack Shack and haywagon rides, history tours and family programs ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Recompence Shore Campground Hotel Freeport
Recompence Shore Campground At Wolfe's Neck Farm Freeport, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing