We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“skip it” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Freeport Chowder House

Freeport Chowder House
Ranked #44 of 59 Restaurants in Freeport
Cuisines: American, Soups, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“skip it”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

Though they have trip advisor signs hanging in the window; don't waset you time. Over priced. My chower was cold, lucky to find a clam let alone a potato. It was like a cup of nothing.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank gorillahit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas B, Manager at Freeport Chowder House, responded to this review, September 15, 2012
Thank you for the review of the Freeport Chowder House your feedback will help me improve. Thanks for your help Thomas Brown Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    32
    22
    22
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Skip it”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

In our trip up the Maine coast, we stopped for chowdah and lobster rolls wherever we could. Since we were stopping in Freeport to shop anyway, we thought we would add another stop to our lobster roll tour.

Like I said, skip it. While this little hole in the wall is reasonably clean and kind of cute, the lobster roll was a disappointment - and we had a lot to compare it to. The amount of meat was skimpy and mostly claw parts. I had their overpriced chowder (I opted out of the bread bowl) and it was watery and sweet and hardly had any lobster in it.

The kids seemed to enjoy their kid meals - but they love Velveeta - so do what you want with that.

The girls working there were awfully nice - but the prices were too high and the quality too mediocre. I should mention there is not a lot of seating - and they are all high top bar tables with stools. If you need a solid seat, this might be a problem. There are a few picnic tables outside that were taken when we were there since they are not solely for the restaurant. Bathroom is public, outside, around the corner and down a hallway.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sarah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
“Don't Bother”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012

This was one of the dirtiest restaurants I have been to in a long time. We almost walked out but had already paid before we realized the state of the place. We should have demanded our money back but were too polite. The fried food was way overcooked and the chowder we ordered looked like it had been sitting around for days. We ate very little of our food and chalked it up to experience. There are much better places to eat in town.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Christina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Impossible to believe anyone rated this pace higher than terrible!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2012

The seafood chowder was poor, unless you like it with mostly potatoes. The fried clams were the worst I have ever had but the fries were at least fair. The young lady who threw everything in he fryer could not have been more unfriendly. The best part of the meal was the can of diet coke and the second best was leving.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jssclu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
340 reviews
148 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 245 helpful votes
“Tasty food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

Have eaten here a few times and every time the food has been very tasty and the service has been very good. Can recommend the chowders - all are excellent. Definitely the best place to eat in Freeport.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 4states
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Freeport Chowder House also viewed

 

Been to Freeport Chowder House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing