We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Skip it”

Freeport Chowder House
Ranked #45 of 59 Restaurants in Freeport
Cuisines: Seafood
Restaurant details
Richmond, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Skip it”
Reviewed September 6, 2012

In our trip up the Maine coast, we stopped for chowdah and lobster rolls wherever we could. Since we were stopping in Freeport to shop anyway, we thought we would add another stop to our lobster roll tour.

Like I said, skip it. While this little hole in the wall is reasonably clean and kind of cute, the lobster roll was a disappointment - and we had a lot to compare it to. The amount of meat was skimpy and mostly claw parts. I had their overpriced chowder (I opted out of the bread bowl) and it was watery and sweet and hardly had any lobster in it.

The kids seemed to enjoy their kid meals - but they love Velveeta - so do what you want with that.

The girls working there were awfully nice - but the prices were too high and the quality too mediocre. I should mention there is not a lot of seating - and they are all high top bar tables with stools. If you need a solid seat, this might be a problem. There are a few picnic tables outside that were taken when we were there since they are not solely for the restaurant. Bathroom is public, outside, around the corner and down a hallway.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sarah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    36
    23
    22
    40
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
“Don't Bother”
Reviewed August 10, 2012

This was one of the dirtiest restaurants I have been to in a long time. We almost walked out but had already paid before we realized the state of the place. We should have demanded our money back but were too polite. The fried food was way overcooked and the chowder we ordered looked like it had been sitting around for days. We ate very little of our food and chalked it up to experience. There are much better places to eat in town.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Christina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Impossible to believe anyone rated this pace higher than terrible!”
Reviewed June 28, 2012

The seafood chowder was poor, unless you like it with mostly potatoes. The fried clams were the worst I have ever had but the fries were at least fair. The young lady who threw everything in he fryer could not have been more unfriendly. The best part of the meal was the can of diet coke and the second best was leving.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jssclu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
349 reviews
158 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 248 helpful votes
“Tasty food”
Reviewed May 28, 2012

Have eaten here a few times and every time the food has been very tasty and the service has been very good. Can recommend the chowders - all are excellent. Definitely the best place to eat in Freeport.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 4states
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Right food at the right time.”
Reviewed March 29, 2012

Delicious lobster roll with a cup of chowder, that's what I needed on this rainy day in Maine. And that's what I got, and more! A friendly proprietor and good companionship from some college girls from Oregon. Quite a nice spot to grab some quick, but delicious food. Don't worry; eat Lobster!

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mt_Max
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Freeport Chowder House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing