We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New England Getaway”
Review of Casco Bay Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Casco Bay Inn
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Freeport
Certificate of Excellence
North Haledon
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“New England Getaway”
Reviewed October 15, 2010

What a pleasant experience! The room was large, clean and had wonderful towels. One of my peeves about reasonably-priced motels/hotels is the towel supply. Towels are most often thin and tiny. These were thick, large and fluffy!

We were first shown a room on the second floor, which was fine. We asked if anything was available on the first floor, since there's no elevator. The woman at the desk was very pleasant and gave us a first floor room near an entrance.

The w-fi worked. The continental breakfast was adequate - with great coffee. Great place to stay just outside of downtown Freeport. Only minor complaint was the less than cheerful breakfast attendant.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank duryea222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    134
    20
    5
    3
See reviews for
103
192
13
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2010

My wife and I headed to Freeport for another LL Bean (and surrounding area) visit. For the third time, we chose the Casco Bay Inn. The room rates are great, and the rooms are super-clean, up-to-date, and quiet. Both of us are retirees, and we appreciate having a quiet place to return to after a day of shopping and exploring the Freeport area.

We've had too many unpleasant experiences with hotels and motels that offer pools, game rooms, on-site dining, etc. as they tend to draw a younger crowd, which often translates into commotion in the corridors, loud voices, doors slamming all night long, etc. (Even the door closers at the Casco Bay Inn are adjusted to avoid the usual heavy "thud", which is nice)

The Casco Bay Inn offers a nice continental breakfast, wireless internet and everything travelers like us need. The staff is courteous and friendly, and the building itself is located back away from the road and blends into the surrounding tree-lined area nicely.

Seldom am I motivated to write a review, but this place deserves high praise as far as we are concerned. The only improvement would be having a small refrigerator in each room.

We will definitely return on our next visit to the Freeport area. I really wish there were more places like the Casco Bay Inn to choose from when we travel.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NeverPayFullPrice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyckoff, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2010

We were heading home to New Jersey from Canada and decided to stay over one night in Maine rather than drive all the way home. Pulled out my AAA guide book and found a listing for the Casco Bay Inn. Called ahead and they had availability and a reasonable price. Casco Bay Inn is located right on Rt. 1 and very easy to find - about 10 minutes from the center of Freeport; where LL Bean and many other outlets are located. We were very pleased with our accommodations. Room was large and comfortably appointed; internet access; and a flat screen TV. Our room was very clean. King bed was super comfortable and bath towels were nice and large. It was actually much nicer than I expected and would recommend this hotel to anyone traveling in the area.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RKNewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freeport, Maine
1 review
Reviewed August 28, 2010

Everything we'd read about this Inn was true. The rooms were immaculate, the staff friendly and really helpful. My husband was allowed to put in a washload a few minutes before closing and staff were patient. Everything we needed was available, an iron, a nice flat screen tv, and wi-fi, thankfully. The dual sinks were great and the housekeeping staff were like invisible angels,cleaning and gone, returning everything to pristine shape. The location was very good in terms of it's location to a major highway, and of course to shopping in Freeport. I, for one am thankful for the "no pet" policy, as I'm dreadfully allergic. My allergies were fine here, too.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jalynda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2010

Stayed there 1 night, got a voucher from a free newspaper (15$ off the price if I remember). Nice spacious room, flat tv, HBO, comfortable bed, clean bathroom - what's more to want for a one-nighter? Only drawback was breakfast - free, but only pancakes and toasts, no eggs, etc.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ISmackedTheLion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton, Canada
1 review
Reviewed June 13, 2010

Privately owned just outside of town, only a 5 minute drive to L L Bean and the outlet mall. Recently renovated with large rooms, great staff, continental breakfast and a very pleasent and knowledgeable owner.

Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank normthestickman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2010

Casco Bay Inn is a nice place with very friendly staff. That being said, when something is wrong, that same friendliness seems to overlook the need for prompt attention to correct the problem.

The refrigerator whined incessantly all night long. Difficult to sleep.

Overall, small problems that could easily be corrected.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luv2trvl96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Freeport hotels
1.8 mi away
Quality Suites
Quality Suites
#9 of 11 in Freeport
314 reviews
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport
3.7 mi away
Harraseeket Inn
Harraseeket Inn
#1 of 11 in Freeport
949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown
0.3 mi away
Best Western Freeport Inn
Best Western Freeport Inn
#8 of 11 in Freeport
435 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Freeport/Brunswick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casco Bay Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casco Bay Inn

Property: Casco Bay Inn
Address: 107 US Route 1, corner So. Freeport Rd, Freeport, ME 04032-7002
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Freeport
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Freeport
#3 Family Hotel in Freeport
#3 Romantic Hotel in Freeport
#4 Business Hotel in Freeport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Casco Bay Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Casco Bay Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casco Bay Hotel Freeport
Casco Bay Motel
Casco Bay Inn Freeport, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing