We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and very reasonably priced”
Review of Casco Bay Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Casco Bay Inn
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Freeport
Certificate of Excellence
shabbona
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice and very reasonably priced”
Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

I was pleasantly surprised at Casco Bay Inn. Their special rate was so low, compared to everything else on the Maine coast, that I wondered what it would be like. It was very nice, the best deal of our vacation, clean, spacious, comfortable.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank msjude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    213
    132
    20
    5
    3
See reviews for
99
184
13
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
winnipeg
Level Contributor
69 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Casco Bay Inn in July 2013 for one night while passing through Freeport. Staff was very friendly and helpful, and check-in was a breeze. Compared to the price of other hotels in town, Casco Bay is a great deal, and while some parts of the hotel are a little dated (like the hallway), it's a clean, quiet hotel. Our room was in the corner on the rear side of the building and we didn't hear any traffic or other guests. The room was a nice size, had a flatscreen tv, small fridge, and Keurig coffee maker. Complimentary continental breakfast was provided. If we ever pass through the cute town of Freeport again, I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mfishie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

When traveling, I usually stick to the national/international hotel chains. However, after reading the Trip Advisor reviews for the Casco Bay Inn, I decided to give it a try. It was considerably cheaper than the chain hotels in the area and (very important to me) family run. I was not disappointed. The room was very clean and the continental breakfast more than adequate. I ended up returning the same week with my wife and daughter due to a family emergency. They also enjoyed their stay and the double sinks in the room came in handy. This hotel will be our #1 choice when visiting the Freeport area in the future.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrillG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duncanville, Texas
Level Contributor
49 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013

I was looking for a place to stay in Freeport after visiting the LL Bean stores, and started reading reviews in Trip Advisor, comparing that to a coupon book I had gotten from the state visitors center. The Casco Bay Inn had good reviews, and for only $89, thought it was worth a try.

The room was large, clean, had 2 sinks, loads of plugs for charging, and a Keurig coffee maker. The beds were extra comfy and the towels fluffy. Great shower/tub, with non-skid surface. The front desk was very accommodating and friendly.

The breakfast was good and the serving area spotless.

I wish I were staying long than 1 night here.

Room Tip: Had quiet room on back side of property near the end of the hall. Was 3 doors from the parking lot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed July 29, 2013

The Casco Bay Inn was a very pleasant surprise. Nothing fancy, but a clean, new, quiet, well kept facility with modern double sink bathrooms and roomy rooms, plenty of parking, with a decent breakfast included. Very convenient to both Freeport shopping (10 minutes) and Portland (only about 20 minutes or so), route 295 and route 95. Not a destination in itself but a good stopover during a longer trip or as a base for shopping in the area. Very reasonable rates, too.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fred K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massapequa, New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

I had originally wanted to stay in Portland but after some research on Trip Advisor,I realized we'd be better off partway between Portland and Freeport. The Casco Bay Inn was a great choice. An easy ride of only 15-20 minutes to Portland and 8 to the LL Bean store, outlets and restaurants. The location was very convenient. The staff was friendly and helpful. The rooms - our family had one king room and one with two doubles) were roomy with free wifi (worked well). each room had plenty of lamps, a Keurig coffee maker, two sinks (1 in and one outside the bathroom), hairdryer, a a mini-fridge, desk and chair, a cushiony second chair, 3/4 length mirror and lots of outlets for charging phones, laptops,etc. the bathroom was very clean and looked updated. Beds comfortable. The room itself looked updated. Did not hear noise from the halls or other rooms despite what other reviewers wrote and the hotel had no vacancies so it wasn't like the place was empty. Decent breakfast- cereal, packaged muffins and pastries, fruit, yogurt, hard boiled eggs, orange juice, milk, coffee etc. No pancakes or waffles or hot food, but it was ok. I would most definitely stay here again - good value.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhoebeV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Indiana
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

The staff were very nice over the phone and in person, the rooms were basic and clean, and there's a Keurig in every room along with a flat screen TV. The breakfast was great with the normal selection of breads and cereals, but they also had fresh fruit, yogurt, hard boiled eggs, and Green Mountain coffee.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank currylaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Freeport hotels
3.7 mi away
Harraseeket Inn
Harraseeket Inn
#1 of 11 in Freeport
924 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown
1.9 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#9 of 11 in Freeport
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport
0.3 mi away
Best Western Freeport Inn
Best Western Freeport Inn
#7 of 11 in Freeport
411 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Freeport/Brunswick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casco Bay Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casco Bay Inn

Property: Casco Bay Inn
Address: 107 US Route 1, corner So. Freeport Rd, Freeport, ME 04032-7002
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Freeport
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Freeport
#3 Romantic Hotel in Freeport
#4 Business Hotel in Freeport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Casco Bay Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity and HRS so you can book your Casco Bay Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casco Bay Hotel Freeport
Casco Bay Motel
Casco Bay Inn Freeport, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing