We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay in Freeport”
Review of Casco Bay Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Casco Bay Inn
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Freeport
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Nice place to stay in Freeport”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Nicely redone property run by nice folks. Close to town but close enough to the coast and rural enough to feel like Maine. Close to fine dining. Breakfast only adequate, but the outdoor seating very nice. Wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    130
    20
    5
    3
See reviews for
96
175
13
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
41 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013

This independent hotel provided a good stop on our way to Bar Harbor and was convenient for visiting LL Bean as well. The shops are a short drive, and it was a good value for the area. The room and furnishings were basic but clean. A Keurig coffee maker with several k cups in the room was a nice update. The included continental breakfast was basic but good, and the wi-fi worked well.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lburchard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orient
Level Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013

We stayed 2 nights at this family hotel on our way down the coast of Maine. Very clean, friendly hotel. Very quiet and away from the traffic, but 5 minutes from outlets. Very reasonably priced, especially when compared to other hotels in this area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissM5553
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coopersburg
Level Contributor
118 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We spent a night at this motel. The front desk was very friendly. The room was very clean and nicely furnished. The morning breakfast was very good and the seating area was very large. This is not right in town, but just a short drive from all the outlets and LL. Bean.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElaineB6509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Nothing fancy, but clean, large room and bathroom, friendly staff, good wifi, convenient location a short drive from LL Bean and other outlets, and reasonable price compared to other Freeport lodgings.

Room Tip: Back is quieter, away from road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Murdoch512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
48 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We stayed in this hotel one night as a mid-point stop between Manchester Airport and our eventual destination farther north. The room was very clean, bed was comfortable, WiFi was free. No complaints at all with service and comfort. Complimentary continental breakfast was basic and adequate. The hotel is conveniently located near the highway and provides an excellent launching point for an excursion into the center of Freeport with its L.L Bean stores and other shopping and eating attractions. So, for us, this hotel provided a good basic place to get some rest and start off the next day. One other thing -- We arrived hungry after 8:30 PM and asked the night manager for a dinner recommendation. She suggested a restaurant called “Muddy Rudder,” located just south of the hotel. We thought this restaurant was the best of our 8 days on the Maine coast.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank California86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottetown, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

This was a good, clean and basic hotel. I was a little disappointed that we were not entitled to their summer rate because it was a weekend, as it was a significantly higher price. My husband did not care for the continental breakfast, but I thought it was good, it had everything I would want for breakfast. There is an outdoor patio which was great if you care to use it. Helpful, friendly staff. An excellent restaurant next door, within walking distance.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank countrycc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Freeport hotels
2.6 mi away
Harraseeket Inn
Harraseeket Inn
#1 of 11 in Freeport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 917 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#10 of 11 in Freeport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
2.2 mi away
Best Western Freeport Inn
Best Western Freeport Inn
#8 of 11 in Freeport
3.5 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Freeport/Brunswick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casco Bay Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casco Bay Inn

Property: Casco Bay Inn
Address: 107 US Route 1, corner So. Freeport Rd, Freeport, ME 04032-7002
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Freeport
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Freeport
#3 Family Hotel in Freeport
#4 Business Hotel in Freeport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Casco Bay Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Casco Bay Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casco Bay Hotel Freeport
Casco Bay Motel
Casco Bay Inn Freeport, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing