We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value”
Review of Casco Bay Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Casco Bay Inn
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Freeport
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 26, 2012

We stayed for one night on a recent trip to Maine. Comfortable, good value, quiet accomodations. The breakfast is a little disappointing and cold use some work, otherwise highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arfur64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (394)
There are newer reviews for Casco Bay Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

327 - 333 of 394 reviews

Reviewed June 25, 2012

This place had a 1970 decor and the musty smell to go with it. This hotel was the worst I have ever stayed in. The female owner was extremely rude and does " room checks". Talk about no privacy! The " continental breakfast is a joke,do not waste your time or money.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BARBIECOP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 29, 2012

We do check rooms when the chambermaid says smoking has occurred. (no smoking at INN since built new in 2001) In this case a note was left requesting a stop to activity or a charge would be assessed. (forgiveness on first case) The next day on complaints from other customers and smoke coming from room the manager/owner told the cigarette in hand customer a $100.charge would be levied. Upon checkout, customer was not too happy and as Innkeepers we were not surprised with an emotional, inaccurate poor review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2012

My husband and I booked based on previous reviews, and we were pleasantly surprised by the quality of the inn for the price. The location was easy to find, easily accessible from 295 and Route 1, and just a few minute car ride from downtown Freeport. The rooms were big, wi-fi worked well, had a flat screen TV, and a Keurig coffee maker, with an assortment of coffees. Free continental breakfast was provded as well. Really great value for Freeport, I will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmybytheSea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2012

Based on the reviews of this Inn, we booked a room using the pop-up window offering a special if we called direct. Got a great price for a Friday. It's very easy to find off of the first exit for Freeport.
Rooms are good sized and everything is very clean. In-room Keurig coffee maker and good WiFi connection. Wide corridors, comfy beds and nicely decorated. The staff was friendly and rooms have a refrigerator and microwave.
LL Bean and the other outlets are about 4 miles up the Hwy 1 frontage road - takes but a few minutes. Starbucks is there as well and the post office.
I'd give this a higher ranking, but it does lack a pool and a recycle basket in the room.
The breakfast is very nice and includes hard boiled eggs, yogurt, fruit cups and fresh fruit - available in a very pleasant and large room. They also have a reading room (used to be a lounge) and a deck that would be very nice... but it was raining the day of our visit.
You can't go wrong with this place!

Room Tip: We liked a second floor room overlooking the highway - very quiet and a nice view.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2012

Our stay was Friday May 25, 2012 for 1 night.

Friendly front desk staff. Check in was easy. You need your room card to get into the side/back door entrances so you will feel safe. Hallways modern looking and in really good shape. This is a Bestwestern/days inn quality hotel.
The room was very clean and comfortable. There is a coffee maker and a refrigerator in the room. Kim who cleans the rooms was very nice and funny.
Continental breakfast is served in the morning. (Toast/juice/muffins/fruit cup/coffee/tea etc..) . This hotel is not in walking distance to the Freeport outlets but it is only a couple minutes down the road.
My only complaint is that the hotel is NOT pet friendly and usually we travel with our 2 (well behaved) dogs. Next to the hotel is a local “in crowd” restaurant called the Conundrom wine bistro that has really good food and a huge wine list!(see my trip advisor review) This hotel is a great place to stay for the price !

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank drdavid5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2012 via mobile

This hotel had clean, nice, comfortable rooms, conveniant location, continental breakfast and friendly staff. After searching through multiple hotels in the area this was definately a great deal for all it's amenities!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JennySimeone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2012

So glad to see Casco Bay was open again, last time we were up it was closed for Winter. We enjoy our visit to the Inn, it's convenient, comfortable and good value. It is our first choice when we are in the Freeport area. The breakfast is okay, nothing to write home about, the dining area is pleasant. It's right down the road (or up the road depending upon which way you are going) from Delorme Maps and that's and interesting place to visit. Of course your can't go to Freeport without visiting LL and the Haraseeket Lobster pound (but they were closed this time the pound, LL Bean never closes).

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zulinka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Freeport hotels
1.8 mi away
Quality Suites
Quality Suites
#9 of 11 in Freeport
323 reviews
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport
3.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Harraseeket Inn
Harraseeket Inn
#1 of 11 in Freeport
967 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Freeport/Brunswick
0.3 mi away
Best Western Freeport Inn
Best Western Freeport Inn
#8 of 11 in Freeport
452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casco Bay Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casco Bay Inn

Address: 107 US Route 1, corner So. Freeport Rd, Freeport, ME 04032-7002
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Freeport
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Freeport
#3 Romantic Hotel in Freeport
#3 Family Hotel in Freeport
#4 Business Hotel in Freeport
Price Range: $105 - $163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Casco Bay Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Casco Bay Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casco Bay Hotel Freeport
Casco Bay Motel
Casco Bay Inn Freeport, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing