We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific B & B”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Kendall Tavern Inn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 8 Freeport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 8, 2013

We stayed at the Kendall for three nights Aug 2013 and cannot wait to return. We had the largest room - #7 and even though it is at the front and we sleep with windows open, it was incredibly quiet. That room has a king bed and a single. Great decor.

Tim is a first class host and makes up a hearty breakfast every morning. Always different and fresh.

The Inn is immaculate and well looked after. It is located a little further out than some of the B & B's but is still only a 10 minute stroll to LL Beans and the other shops.

It is on Route 1 and within 3 or 4 minutes of the Interstate so access is easy.

If you are looking for a B & B in the Freeport area dont miss this.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jakemister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (285)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

233 - 239 of 285 reviews

Reviewed August 2, 2013

The Kendall Tavern is a nice, large house just far enough away from the town center to be quiet, yet close enough to be convenient to LL Bean, the restaurants, and other stores. There is a nice porch for relaxing and the common areas are quite large. The dining area, in particular, provides individual tables for guests and is spacious. Tim is a very pleasant and attentive host. Most of the bedrooms are a bit on the small side, but perfectly adequate for their function. We stayed in Room #2 and the bed was comfortable and gave us a good night's sleep. In addition to LL Bean, the Kendall Tavern is convenient to the historic town of Bath and lovely Popham Beach State Park. Tim provided us with a very substantial breakfast that was delicious. Overall we found the Kendall Tavern to be clean, comfortable and lovingly maintained.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank natchaug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

The Kendall Tavern was perfect for our weekend away from home. We explored downtown Freeport, a short walk away and easily traveled to Yarmouth and Booth Bay. The Wolfe's Neck farm is a moderate bike ride away, but our trip did not provide time to include that adventure. Tim provided us with a delicious breakfast each morning with the assistance of his housekeeper Pauline.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 1 and enjoyed the air conditioning but also that we had windows we could open. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ffxvttraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

The Kendall Tavern owner, Tim Rudolph, is a welcoming inn owner, who is happy to share information on Freeport and what to see and do there. The inn has seven cozy bedrooms, with private baths, and it is immaculately clean! The inclusive Breakfast is served in the cheerful dining room, or one can take it outside onto one of the porches. The inn is located a short distance from all Freeport has to offer, but it is just off that grid of activity and bustle, so it's a quiet and restful place to stay. The bed was very comfortable and we were pleased with everything.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KarinG720
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

I stayed in Freeport on my way up to Bar Harbor. I wanted a quiet spot and an alternative to the chain accommodations, both of which were found at Kendall Tavern. Checking in was easy, and the Innkeepers, Tim & Loree Rudolph were friendly and helpful. A short, easy walk and you're in downtown Freeport. The breakfast was excellent. All-in-all, a very pleasant stay and one I would visit again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maine4man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

I can't imagine giving a rating less than absolutely perfect! Tim is an amazing host and He and his wife's Inn is just beautiful. There were 7 of us in our party so we booked 3 rooms. It felt like we had the entire inn to ourselves! We brought our own cheese, crackers, muchies and wine and sat on the porch talking for hours. It is a very easy walk to down-town Freeport (10 mins) but the Inn is wonderfully removed from the hustle and bustle.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ImHomeNow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

My mom and I took a trip to New England, and never having been there, I wasn't sure of where to stay, what to do, etc. I'm so glad we chose Kendall Tavern (thanks, AAA book!) for our first night of lodging. Beautiful, well cared for inn and grounds, picture perfect. We had the room with twin beds, and, while a little small, it was so charming and comfortable, the size was inconsequential. We loved that it was not near the shopping/restaurant hub of Freeport, as it was so quiet. Every room is so pretty, and the sitting rooms so inviting and comfortable. Tim was the perfect host, willing to share info about the inn and the area, but not overbearing. He is also a great cook! Breakfast of french toast and large asso

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank parkerJacksonvilleFl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Freeport hotels
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown
0.4 mi away
Harraseeket Inn
Harraseeket Inn
#1 of 11 in Freeport
978 reviews
2.3 mi away
Quality Suites
Quality Suites
#9 of 11 in Freeport
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Freeport/Brunswick
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport
0.8 mi away
James Place Inn Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kendall Tavern Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kendall Tavern Inn Bed and Breakfast

Address: 213 Main St, Freeport, ME 04032-1411
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Freeport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Freeport
Price Range: $161 - $184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kendall Tavern Inn Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kendall Tavern Inn is receiving rave reviews under new ownership. Built in the early 1800's The Kendall Tavern Inn has been welcoming travelers on and off for almost 200 years. Located on Main Street in a quiet historic residential area The Kendall Tavern Inn Bed & Breakfast is just a short walk to busy Freeport Village the home of L.L. Bean and over 100 other shops and restaurants. Kendall Tavern is just 15 miles North of Portland Maine and the Jetport that provides service to and from most major hubs. Brunswick Maine-home of prestigious Bowdoin College is just 10 minutes away. Maine's beautiful mountains and coastline are all an easy drive from Freeport. Our New England Farmer's Porch complete with Adirondack chairs is a great place to relax or sit in our library or living room and stay warm in front of the fireplaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Kendall Tavern Inn Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kendall Tavern Inn Bed And Breakfast Freeport, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing