We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average”
Review of The Village Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Freeport
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Village Inn
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Freeport
Corydon, IN
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Average”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Stayed there last night. We travel a lot and found the Freeport Village Inn just average. Someone else posted it is like a Motel 6. That is close as far as decor is concerned, but it was way cleaner than any Motel 6. We found it quiet and close to the shopping areas of Freeport. Many reviewers raved about the made to order breakfast. I would not say that was the case. The full pot of self-serve coffee was completely cold and undrinkable. Finally a pot of hot coffee arrived. Lou approached our table and said "I'm listening." This is how our breakfast order was taken. To another diner he said "what do you want?" No warm greeting. No explanation of what was available. Perhaps Lou and Jackie were just having a bad day, because the experience we had and I suspect of the other guests today at breakfast was not as others have described. That being said, I asked for eggs over medium and got scrambled eggs instead. So much for the made to order breakfast. I was late in booking a room for this very busy fall "leaf peeper" weekend, and this was the last room available in the area. I would not intentionally choose the Village Inn again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Grammy47115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    33
    14
    3
    0
See reviews for
22
43
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hoboken, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

My first impression of the inn was that the hallways and rooms were quite dated, most notably probably is the brown and yellow linoleum bathroom floors. But that being said the rooms actually did seem to be very well cleaned. The location is great, less than 5 minute walk to downtown Freeport stores and restaurants. Staff was very friendly. Breakfast was very nice, prepared and served by a chef with a good sense of humor. I was disappointed with the town of Freeport itself, there is really no reason to go there unless you like to shop. Restaurant options are very limited, and nightlife is nonexistent.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank tdogr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

We had the pleasure of staying at the Village Inn as we were attending a family wedding Labor Day weekend. The room was cozy and incredibly clean and the morning breakfast was a treat! Jackie and Lou are great hosts and Lou makes great coffee - very important to me in the AM! Thanks so much.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Djksas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Maine
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here last week on a shopping trip to Freeport. We found our room to be very comfortable and quiet. It was in walking distance to shopping and restaurants. TV had Comcast cable which allowed us to watch the Red Sox. I got 4G service on my phone as well. Blueberry pancakes for breakfast were great served with bacon. Lou took time to chat with you and make you feel welcome. We stayed here last year and were glad we returned this year.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kgreene2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Punta Gorda, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

The Inn is convenient to walking downtown and has off street parking. We stayed in one of the "motel units". It was a basic room but clean and met our needs. The cooked to order breakfast was yummy! I would stay here again without hesitation.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beth999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamarac
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

We have been staying with Lou and Jackie for over 20 years and wouldn't stay anywhere else. They are located on the Main Street within walking distance to LL Bean and the other stores and restaurants. The rooms are basic and clean and Lou makes the best breakfast you could want every morning. My husband only eats blueberry pancakes when we are there. Over the years we have brought my mother, our daughter, son-in-law and four year old grandson to enjoy Maine with us.
This is truly a favorite place for us and we look forward to staying there while in Freeport.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

The other reviewers are spot on. Simple motel unit. You can hear the other guests from your room. Convenient to downtown Freeport. Lots of easy parking space. Made to order breakfast. Nice owners. Not fancy but very clean.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Secret T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Freeport hotels
2.1 mi away
Quality Suites
Quality Suites
#9 of 11 in Freeport
314 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown
0.1 mi away
Harraseeket Inn
Harraseeket Inn
#1 of 11 in Freeport
949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Freeport/Brunswick
4.2 mi away
Best Western Freeport Inn
Best Western Freeport Inn
#8 of 11 in Freeport
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Village Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Village Inn

Property: The Village Inn
Address: 186 Main St, Freeport, ME 04032-1407
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Freeport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Freeport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel-style lodging accommodations with a full breakfast served. We are conveniently located within walking distance of downtown Freeport, the many fine restaurants, shops, and L.L. Bean store. Within a very short drive, of the Village Inn, you'll be able to enjoy the beauty of Casco Bay, climb Bradbury Mountain, play golf, tour the Desert of Maine and much more. Non-smoking rooms and on-site parking. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Village Inn Freeport, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing