We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another pleasant stay at the Village Inn”
Review of The Village Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Freeport
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Village Inn
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Freeport
York, Maine
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Another pleasant stay at the Village Inn”
Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here last week on a shopping trip to Freeport. We found our room to be very comfortable and quiet. It was in walking distance to shopping and restaurants. TV had Comcast cable which allowed us to watch the Red Sox. I got 4G service on my phone as well. Blueberry pancakes for breakfast were great served with bacon. Lou took time to chat with you and make you feel welcome. We stayed here last year and were glad we returned this year.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kgreene2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    33
    14
    3
    0
See reviews for
22
43
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Punta Gorda, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

The Inn is convenient to walking downtown and has off street parking. We stayed in one of the "motel units". It was a basic room but clean and met our needs. The cooked to order breakfast was yummy! I would stay here again without hesitation.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beth999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamarac
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

We have been staying with Lou and Jackie for over 20 years and wouldn't stay anywhere else. They are located on the Main Street within walking distance to LL Bean and the other stores and restaurants. The rooms are basic and clean and Lou makes the best breakfast you could want every morning. My husband only eats blueberry pancakes when we are there. Over the years we have brought my mother, our daughter, son-in-law and four year old grandson to enjoy Maine with us.
This is truly a favorite place for us and we look forward to staying there while in Freeport.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

The other reviewers are spot on. Simple motel unit. You can hear the other guests from your room. Convenient to downtown Freeport. Lots of easy parking space. Made to order breakfast. Nice owners. Not fancy but very clean.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Secret T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Stop over night on vacation with my husband and teen daughter. We shared a SMALL room with a double and a twin bed. If we were staying longer than a night, it would have been very cramped. But daughter and I walked to LL Bean at 10:30 at night, leaving husband to watch TV on own...so we had the personal space we needed. Breakfast IS good. Great eggs. Good pancakes. SMALL glass of juice, but the eggs were great. Nothing fancy about this place, but has a nice, hearty, made to order breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BHL2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weatogue, Connecticut
1 review
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We have been staying at The Village Inn for the past 8 years now and would never stay anywhere else. The rooms are clean & comfy and as long as you have 2 good feet, you can walk to all the shops in the area. Once we arrive, we park our car & we don't get back into our car until we are ready to leave. LLBean is only a couple blocks away along with the other stores, restaurants, & shops.

It is family friendly and also great for teenagers. If they want to shop by themselves, there is no worry. A very friendly & safe area even in the evening & night.

Lewis makes a wonderful breakfast. He serves so much food that you won't be hungry for hours. He always has great stories to tell or information about the area. Jackie always greets us with a friendly smile & knows us by name.

We can't wait to come back here next year to celebrate our 20th anniversary!

Room Tip: We always like the rooms facing the parking lot which seems a bit brighter at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LynnR06089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Very nice staff. The bed was fairly uncomfortable. The hot water ran out halfway through the shower .....unfortunately I have been accustomed to little bottles of shampoo and hair dryers but alas, there were none. This is certainly the no frills approach. But clean

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mdcdr60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Freeport hotels
2.0 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#9 of 11 in Freeport
309 reviews
0.1 mi away
Harraseeket Inn
Harraseeket Inn
#1 of 11 in Freeport
935 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport
4.2 mi away
Best Western Freeport Inn
Best Western Freeport Inn
#7 of 11 in Freeport
422 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Freeport/Brunswick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Village Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Village Inn

Property: The Village Inn
Address: 186 Main St, Freeport, ME 04032-1407
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Freeport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Freeport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel-style lodging accommodations with a full breakfast served. We are conveniently located within walking distance of downtown Freeport, the many fine restaurants, shops, and L.L. Bean store. Within a very short drive, of the Village Inn, you'll be able to enjoy the beauty of Casco Bay, climb Bradbury Mountain, play golf, tour the Desert of Maine and much more. Non-smoking rooms and on-site parking. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Village Inn Freeport, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing