We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Breakfast, Great Location, Great Price”
Review of The Village Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Freeport
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Village Inn
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Freeport
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Stop over night on vacation with my husband and teen daughter. We shared a SMALL room with a double and a twin bed. If we were staying longer than a night, it would have been very cramped. But daughter and I walked to LL Bean at 10:30 at night, leaving husband to watch TV on own...so we had the personal space we needed. Breakfast IS good. Great eggs. Good pancakes. SMALL glass of juice, but the eggs were great. Nothing fancy about this place, but has a nice, hearty, made to order breakfast.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BHL2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (95)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 95 reviews

Reviewed August 17, 2013

We have been staying at The Village Inn for the past 8 years now and would never stay anywhere else. The rooms are clean & comfy and as long as you have 2 good feet, you can walk to all the shops in the area. Once we arrive, we park our car & we don't get back into our car until we are ready to leave. LLBean is only a couple blocks away along with the other stores, restaurants, & shops.

It is family friendly and also great for teenagers. If they want to shop by themselves, there is no worry. A very friendly & safe area even in the evening & night.

Lewis makes a wonderful breakfast. He serves so much food that you won't be hungry for hours. He always has great stories to tell or information about the area. Jackie always greets us with a friendly smile & knows us by name.

We can't wait to come back here next year to celebrate our 20th anniversary!

Room Tip: We always like the rooms facing the parking lot which seems a bit brighter at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LynnR06089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Very nice staff. The bed was fairly uncomfortable. The hot water ran out halfway through the shower .....unfortunately I have been accustomed to little bottles of shampoo and hair dryers but alas, there were none. This is certainly the no frills approach. But clean

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank mdcdr60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Basic accommodation with decor preserved from 1960's. Bed is very firm. Super clean. Not really cheap, but lowest price in area. Walking distance to LLBean and the other outlets. Train is noisy, so turn on fan to drown it out - all other accommodation on that road suffers from this. The icing on the cake is the made to order hot breakfasts (inc in price). Plenty of parking. Close to freeway.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vivadefiesta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

The Village Inn, Freeport Maine, is clean and comfortable. The room in the attached motel unit was no-frills, but the bed was good and there were plenty of towels and hot water, as well as cable TV. Breakfast was delicious! We sampled the blueberry and buttermilk pancakes, and they also offer eggs any style and french toast.
The Inn is a 5 minute stroll to the center of town and outlet shops.
Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deborah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Great! As advertised. Not fancy, but more than adequate. Very clean! Fun and gracious hosts. Great breakfast! 5 min walk to Bean. Lots of "character." Our Host and Hostess filled us in on local lore. Al and Cathy from New Jersey

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Alan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Clean, efficient, comfortable, no luxuries or extra amenities. Though the price isn't low, it is as advertised. Didn't find any lower priced alternatives in this area that seemed safe. Management is friendly and knowledgeable. True down East folk. Very enjoyable experience.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank PassingThruAmericas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Freeport hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown
0.1 mi away
Harraseeket Inn
Harraseeket Inn
#1 of 11 in Freeport
997 reviews
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Quality Suites
Quality Suites
#9 of 11 in Freeport
335 reviews
4.3 mi away
Best Western Freeport Inn
Best Western Freeport Inn
#8 of 11 in Freeport
475 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Freeport/Brunswick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Village Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Village Inn

Address: 186 Main St, Freeport, ME 04032-1407
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Freeport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Freeport
Price Range: $75 - $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel-style lodging accommodations with a full breakfast served. We are conveniently located within walking distance of downtown Freeport, the many fine restaurants, shops, and L.L. Bean store. Within a very short drive, of the Village Inn, you'll be able to enjoy the beauty of Casco Bay, climb Bradbury Mountain, play golf, tour the Desert of Maine and much more. Non-smoking rooms and on-site parking. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Village Inn Freeport, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing