We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Village Inn
Nearby Hotels
$139
GardenInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$62
$59
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hampton Inn Freeport/Brunswick(Freeport)(Great Value!)
$120
$109
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$60
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$75
$64
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$136
$119
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Suites(Freeport)(Great Value!)
$76
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casco Bay Inn(Freeport)(Great Value!)
$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Harraseeket Inn(Freeport)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (95)
Filter reviews
95 results
Traveler rating
45
33
14
3
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
45
33
14
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsshort walkpark your cardowntown freeporttwo nightsproximity
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
48 - 53 of 95 reviews
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Beautiful exterior, ok interior, comfortable beds, extremely clean, very genuine tenants, engaging, helpful and home welcoming. Breakfast was very good, the hot chocolate is apparently (from my roommate's word) delicious. Coffee's good!! Excellent location, got a 2 bed room (double & simple) on first floor.

Only thing, it's a magnificent old building, and we hear anything going on... We were lucky, neighbors were noisy but early-going-to-bed type! The air conditioning of the above room made this awful noise though... That was not cool, had to put earplugs.

Still enjoyed the stay!

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
1  Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

We stayed here three nights. For 3 of us they offered the "rear room". In addition to two beds it also had two recliners and lots of room for us. It was very comfortable. The hosts are a congenial couple and readily available if there's any need. There is a choice of five items for breakfast; the pancakes are excellent, and they make the best home fries that I've had in a long time.

On top of it all, the rate is excellent. If we ever come to this area again, we would stay here.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank theoax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

The room is 70's decor but clean and comfortable. The price was what attracted us and we enjoyed a nice home cooked, tasty breakfast. If you want a newer place, more modern, just pay more. A clean bed at a low price this does the trick. No wi-fi but McDonalds is 1 minute walk away and they have it.
Nice to walk to shopping and also supper so you can have a few drinks and not worry about driving.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greeker1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2012

As stated in other reviews of The Village Inn, it is a basic motel, but it is clean, and the beds are quite comfortable. The property has a large parking lot and it was easily able to accommodate my brother's trailer w/o a problem. The rate includes a made to order breakfast with choices being scrambled eggs, cheese omelet, french toast, blueberry pancakes or buttermilk pancakes. All dishes are served with bacon, orange juice, coffee, tea or hot chocolate, and the egg dishes are served with toast and choice of jam. Breakfast was very good. It was a nice and convenient way to start the day before heading out on our last leg of the journey home. We enjoyed the easy walk into town to check out LL Bean and enjoyed a late night dinner on the night we arrived at Linda Bean's Tavern right across the street from LL Bean. Jackie handed us a walking map when we arrived and this was invaluable. Lewis was engaging at breakfast. It was good value for the money, and I would certainly consider staying there again in the future for an overnight.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ChristineCarla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

The room we stayed in was very utilitarian with few amenities (a tv) and no decor to speak of, not even a picture on the wall, but it was clean and serviceable for our purposes. The hosts were indeed friendly and the breakfast was hearty.
However, I found the sheets to be so over-scented that I got a headache just sitting on the bed. It was so strong you could taste it. I couldn't have slept on these sheets. Fortunately we were camping and we were able to get our own bedding from the car. A bit less of the scented fabric softeners would be better. If you are even slightly sensitive to scents, then this is not the place for you.
This is not a fancy place but if you want somewhere clean and quiet to sleep for a reasonable price, and you're not sensitive to scents, this is it. Very convenient for shopping and visiting the area.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews