We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NICE”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
White Cedar Inn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 8 Freeport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed October 4, 2005

Stayed 1 night in August 2005. Very clean grounds and rooms, pleasant hosts. Extremely well located for Freeport shopping/eating. (Walking distance to everything) Breakfast was satisfactory. We had no problems or complaints.

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Curveball2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (219)
There are newer reviews for White Cedar Inn Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

209 - 215 of 219 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Geneva New York
14
Reviewed January 6, 2004

After three consecutive annual stays at the White Cedar Inn I am convinced it doesn't get any better than this no matter where you go or how much you pay for lodging. Right from the moment you arrive you realize that Jim and Gwen are a couple of the most special and delightful people you'll ever meet in this lifetime.... and then the fun really starts...from the genuine smiles to the great humor and comforting attention to the smallest details of service. This is servicing the way it should be done. Some of the larger B&B's I've been to around the country (at more than twice the price) should be taking lessons (and notes) from Jim and Gwen. The rooms are spotless, the breakfast cuisine rivals that of the best restaurant around. Best of all, you feel like FAMILY (as contrasted with "customer" in most other places). Can you tell we kind of like the place :>)? Can't wait to go back.

4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2003

The White Cedar Inn doesn't really exist-- it can't possibly. Nothing can be this perfect. The innkeepers, Gwen and Jim, made a complete stranger feel so at home, I did not want to leave (I only stayed 2 nights, but next time, I WILL stay longer). Breakfast at White Cedar isn't just a meal, it's an event. While Gwen fusses over the guests, making sure we're all well fed, Jim cavorts outside with the real star of the house, Maggie (a black lab that's probably the smartest dog in Freeport). Houseguests are pretty much given the run of the entire house, with access to the refrigerator, living room television, the front porch with its swing and rocking chairs. Never have I felt so at home in a place that wasn't. Gwen and Jim, I will be back.

3  Thank FayeB57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Hollywood, Fl
12
Reviewed June 23, 2003

The innkeepers, Gwen and Jim, are what distinguishes White Cedar Inn from other excellent bed and breakfasts. From the moment that we arrived my wife and I felt totally at home and totally welcome. Every little touch, from the home baked cookies left out at night to the well stocked refrigerator for nightime snacks said "We're happy to have you here." The breakfasts are marvelous; home baked breads and surprising and delightful foods. They are dangerous though. I weigh four pounds more than I did when I left home. Gwen and Jim were also very helpful with suggesting excursions to nearby places of interest and local restaurants of quality. The Inn is within walking distance of Freeport's famous shopping center. I'd happily recommend it to anyone who intends to visit Freeport.

2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Upstate New York
12
Reviewed December 22, 2002

The White Cedar Inn is without doubt the finest B&B we've ever visited. We've decided to make it an annual (if not more frequent) event while we shop to our hearts content at LL Bean and the zillions of neat shops. The breakfasts are out of this world and the owners go out of their way to ensute people have a great time there. It doesn't get any better than this folks!!!!!

2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed February 16, 2002

In all my years of bed and breakfast hopping I have never found such a delightful, beautiful ambiance! The breakfast fare is out of this world. The host and hostess are full of humor, gracious, and a joy to interact with. It is just a hop and a skip to LL Bean and the 170 shops and restaurants downtown. Talk about convenient.... we left our car in the parking spot and walked to the shops and restaurants during our entire stay! I can't wait to go back there.

1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2015
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2014
Thank Martine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White_Cedar_Inn, Owner at White Cedar Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2015

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Freeport hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown
0.1 mi away
Harraseeket Inn
Harraseeket Inn
#1 of 11 in Freeport
966 reviews
2.0 mi away
Quality Suites
Quality Suites
#9 of 11 in Freeport
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Freeport/Brunswick
0.3 mi away
Kendall Tavern Inn Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Cedar Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Cedar Inn Bed and Breakfast

Address: 178 Main St, Freeport, ME 04032-1407
Location: United States > Maine > Freeport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Freeport
Price Range: $204 - $227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come home to White Cedar Inn! Centrally located in Mid Coast Maine, this charming B&B is close to LL Bean, the Freeport Village Station, Freeport's best restaurants and 3 state parks.A full, scrumptious breakfast is served each morning in the sunroom overlooking the gardens. After breakfast, walk into town for a day of shopping or relax on the one acre grounds.A/C, fireplaces, private baths, non-smoking inn. Free parking and WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your White Cedar Inn Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Cedar Inn Bed And Breakfast Freeport, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing