We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm Maine Welcome!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
White Cedar Inn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 7 Freeport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
greenville, sc
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Warm Maine Welcome!”
Reviewed July 23, 2008

Two friends and I recently stayed at the White Cedar Inn, and what a treat! My first morning in Maine, I was thrilled to enjoy blueberry pancakes, hot coffee, and great conversation in Monica and Rock's sunny dining room. Monica and Rock were so helpful, and kind....When we left Freeport, I felt as if I was leaving behind long lost relatives that I had finally found! Each morning, we were treated to wonderful, hot breakfasts cooked by our hosts...In the evenings, delicious chocolate chip cookies awaited us after a long day of shopping and sightseeing.

We enjoyed staying in rooms that had a history...and we were able to read about the history of the house, the rooms, and the area through information that Monica had left for the guests who stay here. We were sad to say our goodbyes to Monica and Rock as we packed up our car to continue our Maine journey.

If you are looking for a true New England Bed and Breakfast experience, complete with warm hosts, cozy accomodations, and delicious breakfasts...then look no further!

  • Liked — the wonderful hosts!
  • Disliked — a bed and breakfast doesn't always have all of the ammenities of a chain hotel...but what you give up for ammenities/space...you gain in personal connection!
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank greenvillegirl71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    27
    3
    0
    3
See reviews for
41
122
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 22, 2008

We make at least one trip to Freeport each year and some years we are there several times during different seasons. Ever since we happened upon the White Cedar Inn more than fifteen years ago, we have stayed there. It is open year around, is always comfortable and is very conveniently located for the Freeport shops and excursions to the surrounding area. Rock and Monica have added several delightful touches and make us feel like returning family whenever we arrive. Breakfast is delicious and the atmosphere is welcoming and friendly. We are already looking forward to our next stay. Fred & Lorna, Vermont and Sarasota, FL

  • Stayed July 2008
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Frelorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomfield, NJ
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2008

My boyfriend and I went to Maine for a slightly-budgeted vacation, but we definitely wanted to splurge and stay at a B&B during the last stop of our trip, Freeport. After staying at so-so hotels in Bar Harbor and Boothbay, we were looking forward to being pampered a bit.

We were definitely not let down! Monica, one of the owners, greeted us warmly and showed us to our room (the parlor room...if you decide to book a reservation there). From the moment we got there, we felt welcome and at home.

It was everything you'd expect from a New England B&B...rocking chairs on the front porch, immaculately clean and cozy bedrooms with country decor, and good old-fashioned peace and quiet. But it was the little things that made our visit special. We'd come back from shopping at the outlets (only minutes walk away) and find a covered dish of yummy treats sitting on the kitchen counter (the first day was chocolate cupcakes, the next was sliced banana bread). There were Hershey's kisses in a dish in the hallway. There were games on the table in the sitting room. And the breakfast! Blueberry pancakes on the first day, spinach quiche the second...and hot steaming coffee. :) The whiteboard in the kitchen featured a small list of things to do in Freeport (as well as the menu for the next morning), and both Monica and Rock were helpful and gracious hosts.

Can you tell we liked it?

Definitely make the White Cedar Inn a must-stay during your trip to Freeport!

  • Liked — The welcoming atmosphere
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank qtvet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estero Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 12, 2008

We just completed our second stay at the White Cedar Inn and it continues to be one of the high points of our trips to Maine. It is warm, cozy, and elegant on a very personal scale. Monica and Rock add a personal warmth that is very special when traveling and serve as as wonderful hosts. The food is excellent and the convenience of the Inn to the rest of Freeport and local sites. Amy and I highly recommend staying at the Inn when you are in the area. I don't believe you will be disappointed.

  • Liked — convenience, scale of the Inn, owner hosts
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank cascomike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 7, 2008

Two road weary motorcyclists were treated to a most enjoyable stay. The hosts are very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was excellent. The room and beds provided us with a very pleasant nights rest.
We enjoyed being in town. After riding for hours on end , it is very nice to be able to walk out for dinner and some shopping at LL bean.

Stayed July 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank Coyote-NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 27, 2008

The White Cedar Inn is a beautiful B&B that is walking distance from the LL Bean Factory Stores as well as the plethora of other factory stores. The owners are a delightful couple who made us feel very welcome, prepared great breakfasts, and had answers and excellent advice whenever we were in need.

The Inn is immaculately kept and beautifully decorated. Everything worked perfectly. I can't recommend this Inn highly enough!

  • Liked — The owners
  • Disliked — Nothing thatn would not be nit-picking
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank tmfletch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhode Island
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 19, 2008

We always have a great stay here and have returned so often that we have earned "frequent sleeper" status! There are always treats when we arrive, plenty of reading materials and lots of coffee and breakfast in the morning. Thanks for the hospitality.

  • Liked — Hosts
  • Disliked — NA
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank wanderlu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Freeport hotels
0.1 mi away
Harraseeket Inn
Harraseeket Inn
#1 of 11 in Freeport
935 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown
1.9 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#9 of 11 in Freeport
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Freeport/Brunswick
0.1 mi away
Candlebay Inn
Candlebay Inn
#4 of 7 in Freeport
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Cedar Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Cedar Inn Bed and Breakfast

Property: White Cedar Inn Bed and Breakfast
Address: 178 Main St, Freeport, ME 04032-1407
Location: United States > Maine > Freeport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Freeport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come home to White Cedar Inn! Centrally located in Mid Coast Maine, this charming B&B is close to LL Bean, the Freeport Village Station, Freeport's best restaurants and 3 state parks.A full, scrumptious breakfast is served each morning in the sunroom overlooking the gardens. After breakfast, walk into town for a day of shopping or relax on the one acre grounds.A/C, fireplaces, private baths, non-smoking inn. Free parking and WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your White Cedar Inn Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Cedar Inn Bed And Breakfast Freeport, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing