We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Brewster House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 8 Freeport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed October 24, 2013

This was our first B&B during our 12 day trip to Maine. The innkeepers/owners Scott & Mary are wonderful people & make you feel so at home. Scott offers suggestions about what sites to see while in the Freeport surrounding area & Mary's breakfasts are scrumptious. Their inn is very comfortable with cozy furnishings & their rooms are nicely decorated with some antique furniture. If you need a B&B in Freeport, I suggest the Brewster House because you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Pemaquid Point Room. It was very light and a nice size with a beautiful bathroom. A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrewsterHouseBB, Owner at Brewster House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2013

Dan the Man!! Boy did we enjoy you guys! Your pre-breakfast kitchen visits were always a hoot! Nice camera work too! Hey, you and Sharon could come back this winter and do photography for our new website!!

We will see you again!

Thanks!
Scott & Mary Gile

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (481)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

224 - 230 of 481 reviews

Reviewed October 22, 2013

This was our first stay at a Bed and Breakfast and the bar is set very high now! Scott and Mary were wonderful hosts explaining all fun things to do around the area. Our visit started with a tour of the place and we were very impressed! Our room was immaculate yet very inviting. The bath was spacious and the bed was comfortable. We had a fireplace and a wonderful little sitting area. The star of the show though was breakfast - elegantly prepared and oh so good. The first day we had a fruit and yogurt cup, a delicious herb egg bake, sausage and blueberry coffee cake. The second day we had Banana's Foster french toast. Everything was so good I asked Mary for the herb egg bake recipe and she gladly gave me a copy. We only stayed for 2 nights but we could have easily stayed another few days and been fully entertained!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catcalico222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrewsterHouseBB, Owner at Brewster House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2013

Gail & Mark;

We loved that we your first B & B!! Now you know how different and inviting we are vs. your traditional franchised "cookie-cutter" room, $4 bottle of water, cardboard waffle breakfast hotel!! SPREAD THE WORD!! We have a very personal stake in every one of our guest's experiences here!! Stick with Select Registry, you'll be glad you did!

Mary & Scott

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We recently got to re-visit The Brewster House and stay for TWO nights this time. Since our last visit, the property had changed hands. I must say that we were pleasantly surprised that The Brewster House has not changed.....and possibly has improved with a few more conveniences. We brought along three other couples this time and they loved it, too. It certainly is one of our favorite B and B's and we look forward to staying there again and again. Mary and Scott are super hosts and those breakfasts are amazing!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrewsterHouseBB, Owner at Brewster House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2013

Sandy, glad you enjoyed the direction we are taking Brewster House in! We are fortunate to have taken over this May, after a history of caring and intelligent owner/ caretakers, so we are most appreciative of the opportunity to build on their wonderful work! Come back again next year to see what we did over the Winter!

Yours,
Scott & Mary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Everything perfect. Great welcome,decor outstanding and the hotel was so clean.
Breakfast was delicious and just the right amount. We could not manage the muffins so they were packed up for us to take. We could not recommend Brewster House more highly and Mary and Scott were so helpful.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PennyP1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

The Brewster House is exactly what you see online. My wife and I recently stayed there and were very impressed with the attention to detail and the well maintained property. Scott and Mary were great hosts and our only complaint was that we didn't stay longer!

Room Tip: If you are in the Freeport ME area this is the place to stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ben D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrewsterHouseBB, Owner at Brewster House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2013

Wow, I thought you guys were Brits! Florida, huh?? Anyway, your reviews were most kind and gracious, and we are grateful! Our complaint is that you didn't stay longer too! There's always next time...........

The Gile's

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

My wife and I stayed one night recently. After traveling in Maine for nearly two weeks and staying in 4 other B&B's and inns, The Brewster House was a pleasant surprise. Scott welcomed us upon check-in with pastries and drinks prepared by his wife, Mary. A tour of the inn and local history was useful in helping us get oriented. Our room was spotless and very comfortable ... right down to the gas fireplace and flat screen TV. The hot breakfast was so good, we asked for the recipe. The location was a 5-7 minute walk to town with easy access to LL Bean and food, etc (we recommend the Jameson Tavern!). We'd definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: There is a suite on the 3rd floor for a family, but a little noisy if you are in the room below.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrewsterHouseBB, Owner at Brewster House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2013

Gary & Anne, thanks so much for your review.....our goal is certainly to be the best of Freeport!. I recall who was here on the third floor when you were here, and that was exceptional. Please accept our apologies for any disturbance they may have caused.

We look forward to your next visit!!

Yours,
Scott & Mary Gile

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

My husband and I stayed here with my parents for two nights and had a wonderful experience. This is a very cozy bed and breakfast with comfortable rooms. Breakfast was fresh, homemade and very filling (Absolutely delicious!). The owners were incredibly helpful and gave us great advice on attractions and places to eat. We had a wonderful time in Maine, and Freeport is a lovely little town to stay in. The location is perfect and it's walking distance from quite a few restaurants and the local L.L. Bean shopping area. It's also close enough to the freeway so you can get around to the sites of Maine easily. We highly recommend this B&B for families or couples!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrewsterHouseBB, Owner at Brewster House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2013

Thanks Karen! It was so neat to host your Dad for both his first train trip and first visit to the Northeast!! I know you'll be back.....it was just a tease. Thank you and Dan for your service too! Maybe our son Sean and Dan will meet up at some point!

Sincerely,
Scott & Mary Gile

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Freeport
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown
0.1 mi away
Harraseeket Inn
Harraseeket Inn
#1 of 11 in Freeport
978 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Freeport/Brunswick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
Inn At Diamond Cove
Inn At Diamond Cove
#8 of 21 in Portland
116 reviews
2.0 mi away
Quality Suites
Quality Suites
#9 of 11 in Freeport
332 reviews
0.5 mi away
James Place Inn Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brewster House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brewster House Bed & Breakfast

Address: 180 Main St, Freeport, ME 04032-1407
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Freeport
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Freeport
Price Range: $194 - $315 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Brewster House Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax, unwind and enjoy a romantic Victorian Bed and Breakfast along the Maine Coast. Make the kind of memories that will last a lifetime, touring the coast's dramatic lighthouses, a lobster dinner in little-known coastal getaway, or shopping at over 160 stores and restaurants in Freepot, home of L.L. Bean.Indulge your romantic dreams at Brewster House. Savor a full, hot breakfast each morning, made with the freshest available ingredients, fresh ground coffee or a large selection of teas, and home-baked scones, muffins or breads, and enjoy afternoon refreshments or your choice of wine from our excellent selections. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Brewster House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brewster House Bed & Breakfast Freeport, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing