We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Brewster House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 7 Freeport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Oakdale, New York
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Really enjoyed our 3 night stay at Brewster House. This is a beautiful bed and breakfast! The owners, Scott and Mary couldn't have been more gracious and helpful hosts. Scott gave us good suggestions for dinners and sightseeing locations. Mary's breakfasts(ricotta stuffed pancakes,caramelized onion,mushroom and goat cheese quiche, & Banana Foster French toast) were plentiful and delicious! We would definitely return to Brewster House!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zin827
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrewsterHouseBB, Owner at Brewster House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Man, you're making me hungry! Wish I got to eat Mary's breakfasts........she says I can't cause I'll look like a human basketball if I do! Time for those delicious english muffins with peanut butter for me!!

Believe me when I say Mary is grateful for your kindnesses!

Scott Gile
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    432
    25
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
79
299
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newfoundland
1 review
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Brewster House fitted my wife and I to a tee for our 2-night stay in Freeport. Our wants are very pragmatic: a comfortable bed, good lighting, a couple of in-room comfortable chairs, a serviceable ensuite bathroom, a good breakfast and a friendly but unobtrusive atmosphere. Mary and Scott seem to have thought of everything that we would need and more! They are a class act! We would definitely stay there again if we make it back to Freeport.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Androclesandme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrewsterHouseBB, Owner at Brewster House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Wow, all we can say is thank you! Our work is extra sweet and rewarding knowing that folks like you appreciate the time and effort we put in!! We hope that next time you're on the central Maine coast, you come back and we get to spend more time getting to know you and Roxanne!

Scott & Mary Gile
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South County RI
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Ours was a suite of two rooms with a shared bath on the third floor and aside from a lack of headroom in spots (if you're over 6") it was very nice. A big plus is extra outlets next to the beds. Most places you're lucky if you get one to plug in the cell phone. There were enough for the tablet too and a CPAP if you use one. I had a problem with it being on the third floor as I'm having health problems so if it matters to you ask first what floor the room is on. The location was great and the food wonderful. Don't expect an american size breakfast, think european. Quality not quantity. I wouldn't hesitate to stay there again but only as long I could get a ground floor room.

Room Tip: Air conditioners are window units on third floor, not sure about any other rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ELW_RI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrewsterHouseBB, Owner at Brewster House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Thanks Eric for your kind words, we enjoyed your and Linda's company, even though we never got to hear you play! We're sorry the 3rd floor was difficult for you. I think that at the point that you booked the room, the Bass Harbor Suite were the only remaining rooms. On our website and the phone, we try to be very clear about that suite being on the 3rd floor. The rest of the house has 9' ceilings, but it is true that at the margins, on the 3rd floor the dormers do restrict headroom somewhat, especially if you're well over 6' tall.

When you plan to come again, try to reserve earlier so that you can choose our 1st floor king bedroom.

Scott & Mary Gile
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Desert, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We stopped through Freeport on a cold, rainy Saturday, enroute to Portland for our flight home. As we warmed up at the LL Bean coffee shop, I perused available places to stay. Short story - I left my wife shopping at Bean, and I walked up the street with my umbrella. It's just a few minutes walk from the quaint downtown of Freeport and lots of trendy restaurants. I met Scott, the proprietor, and later, Mary, the real boss - and a great cook!! Accommodations were warm and wonderful. Breakfast the next morning was fabulous! This couple do a terrific job and the place is perfectly located. Highly recommended!!

Room Tip: We had the smallest room, at the top of the stairs. It had a kingsize bed and large bath. Perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greeklee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrewsterHouseBB, Owner at Brewster House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you Bill, and what a pleasure it was that we got to host and meet you and Mary! We're so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and only regret it wasn't longer. And how intuitive that you knew who was REALLY in charge! Hey, every B & B needs a pretty face too!

Come back when it's quieter, and we can share some wine!

Your,
Scott Gile
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

An excellent B&B in the heart of Freeport, within easy walking distance of all the shops. The property is Immaculately looked after and spotless and the hosts are attentive and helpful and provide a gourmet breakfast. The wifi works well, the beds are very comfortable and all in all this is a great B&B and would put many luxury hotels to shame.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pablo E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrewsterHouseBB, Owner at Brewster House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Pablo, we very much enjoyed your family and only wish we could've spent a little more time with you. Hope you had a blast at Moosehead Lake though! Although we offer properly sized accommodations for up to 4 en-suite , 5 is challenging. We do hope your Wife got relief from her cough for the rest of your vacation.

We hope we see you both again, and in a more relaxing opportunity for you! Thanks for your kind words!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, Tennessee, United States
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 3, 2013

This is a wonderful place to stay. The rooms are roomy and beautifully decorated. The meals are delicious. Scott and Mary are a delight. When we go back to Maine we will be staying at the Brewster House.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darlis D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrewsterHouseBB, Owner at Brewster House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Darliss, we loved having you & Ken as guests, as much as you enjoyed your time here! Keep an eye out this winter for our new website and pictures of the improvements we have planned!

Yours,
Scott & Mary Gile
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lunenburg, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 2, 2013

This B&B was an excellent experience for location, hospitality, accommodations and most of all the breakfasts. The bed was so very comfortable and relaxing. The other "excellent" reviews do cover all the details so it would be hard to expand on all those relevant comments. We wanted to comment on Mary and Scott as we knew them before they purchased the B&B. We were not at all surprised by the attention to detail which stands out immediately upon entering the room. Mary was always a fantastic cook who has taken those skills to another level in sharing her gift with all who visit. Scott compliments Mary in ways that enhance the entire experience. Anyone looking for a truly wonderful adventure in a beautiful part of Maine should make this one of their destinations - without a doubt!
Jack and Louise

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrewsterHouseBB, Owner at Brewster House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Jack & Louise, thanks so much for your company and we're grateful that you enjoyed your time at Brewster House! We miss our Autumn Road neighbors and look forward to a weekend with all of you guys here this winter!

Yours,
Scott & Mary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Freeport hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown
0.1 mi away
Harraseeket Inn
Harraseeket Inn
#1 of 11 in Freeport
949 reviews
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Quality Suites
Quality Suites
#9 of 11 in Freeport
314 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Freeport/Brunswick
0.5 mi away
James Place Inn Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brewster House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brewster House Bed & Breakfast

Property: Brewster House Bed & Breakfast
Address: 180 Main St, Freeport, ME 04032-1407
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Freeport
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Freeport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Brewster House Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax, unwind and enjoy a romantic Victorian Bed and Breakfast along the Maine Coast. Make the kind of memories that will last a lifetime, touring the coast's dramatic lighthouses, a lobster dinner in little-known coastal getaway, or shopping at over 160 stores and restaurants in Freepot, home of L.L. Bean.Indulge your romantic dreams at Brewster House. Savor a full, hot breakfast each morning, made with the freshest available ingredients, fresh ground coffee or a large selection of teas, and home-baked scones, muffins or breads, and enjoy afternoon refreshments or your choice of wine from our excellent selections. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Brewster House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brewster House Bed & Breakfast Freeport, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing