We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Perfect B & B” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Brewster House Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Brewster House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 7 Freeport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Palm Desert, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The Perfect B & B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

We stopped through Freeport on a cold, rainy Saturday, enroute to Portland for our flight home. As we warmed up at the LL Bean coffee shop, I perused available places to stay. Short story - I left my wife shopping at Bean, and I walked up the street with my umbrella. It's just a few minutes walk from the quaint downtown of Freeport and lots of trendy restaurants. I met Scott, the proprietor, and later, Mary, the real boss - and a great cook!! Accommodations were warm and wonderful. Breakfast the next morning was fabulous! This couple do a terrific job and the place is perfectly located. Highly recommended!!

Room Tip: We had the smallest room, at the top of the stairs. It had a kingsize bed and large bath. Perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank greeklee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrewsterHouseBB, Owner at Brewster House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you Bill, and what a pleasure it was that we got to host and meet you and Mary! We're so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and only regret it wasn't longer. And how intuitive that you knew who was REALLY in charge! Hey, every B & B needs a pretty face too!

Come back when it's quieter, and we can share some wine!

Your,
Scott Gile
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    405
    25
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
74
279
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

An excellent B&B in the heart of Freeport, within easy walking distance of all the shops. The property is Immaculately looked after and spotless and the hosts are attentive and helpful and provide a gourmet breakfast. The wifi works well, the beds are very comfortable and all in all this is a great B&B and would put many luxury hotels to shame.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pablo E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrewsterHouseBB, Owner at Brewster House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Pablo, we very much enjoyed your family and only wish we could've spent a little more time with you. Hope you had a blast at Moosehead Lake though! Although we offer properly sized accommodations for up to 4 en-suite , 5 is challenging. We do hope your Wife got relief from her cough for the rest of your vacation.

We hope we see you both again, and in a more relaxing opportunity for you! Thanks for your kind words!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

This is a wonderful place to stay. The rooms are roomy and beautifully decorated. The meals are delicious. Scott and Mary are a delight. When we go back to Maine we will be staying at the Brewster House.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Darlis D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrewsterHouseBB, Owner at Brewster House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Darliss, we loved having you & Ken as guests, as much as you enjoyed your time here! Keep an eye out this winter for our new website and pictures of the improvements we have planned!

Yours,
Scott & Mary Gile
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lunenburg, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

This B&B was an excellent experience for location, hospitality, accommodations and most of all the breakfasts. The bed was so very comfortable and relaxing. The other "excellent" reviews do cover all the details so it would be hard to expand on all those relevant comments. We wanted to comment on Mary and Scott as we knew them before they purchased the B&B. We were not at all surprised by the attention to detail which stands out immediately upon entering the room. Mary was always a fantastic cook who has taken those skills to another level in sharing her gift with all who visit. Scott compliments Mary in ways that enhance the entire experience. Anyone looking for a truly wonderful adventure in a beautiful part of Maine should make this one of their destinations - without a doubt!
Jack and Louise

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrewsterHouseBB, Owner at Brewster House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Jack & Louise, thanks so much for your company and we're grateful that you enjoyed your time at Brewster House! We miss our Autumn Road neighbors and look forward to a weekend with all of you guys here this winter!

Yours,
Scott & Mary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

We stayed here last week for 4 nights and nothing could compare to the hospitality, comfort, cleanliness and location of the Brewster House.

This Inn is immaculate and well looked after. The attention to detail in the restoration of the house is quite evident for those who appreciate such things. There is a nice porch for relaxing and the spacious dining area provides individual tables for guests.

I stayed in the Marshall Point Room and my friend was in the Pemaquid Point Room, both on the 2nd floor. The rooms are fairly represented on the web site. We were impressed by how clean and comfortable the rooms were and, even though I slept with the windows open, it was incredibly quiet. The only thing that may be a problem for some visitors is the fact that, unless you have a room on the 1st floor, you will need to go up and down stairs. This is to be expected at most B&Bs and it was not a problem for me, but I thought I’d point it out for those who may need to take that into consideration.

The hot breakfasts were spectacular and so large that I didn’t even want lunch most days. Mary also bakes homemade goodies for the afternoon and leaves them on the entry area table in case you get the munchies.

The location is perfect!! It's just a short walk to the outlet mall, restaurants & LL Bean (0.3 miles); but far enough away from the crowds to be quiet and relaxing. The area is very safe and I did not feel uncomfortable at all on my solo morning runs.

Scott & Mary are very pleasant and attentive hosts. It's the details that make you feel welcomed and taken care of and they pay attention to those details. Everything about the inn was inviting and made us feel at home, I just wish we could have spent more time there.

I highly recommend staying here and hope I’ll have a chance to return...I’ll be talking to my sisters about planning a “girls only” trip here next summer.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaureenDR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrewsterHouseBB, Owner at Brewster House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Maureen, WOW! It was our pleasure to lighten your work week here! Can't wait to meet your sisters, hmmm, sounds like an opportunity to take advantage of our new wine menu!!

Thanks so much for your kind review!

Scott & Mary Gile
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

This was my first stay in Maine [and my first in a bed and breakfast], and I was so pleasantly surprised. I knew that the room would be beautiful from the pictures online, but it was even more tasteful and attractive in real life. The real asset of this place, though, is the staff -- Mary and Scott are so friendly, kind, and warm [and Mary is an AMAZING cook]. The breakfasts were better than restaurant quality, and Mary even put out fresh-baked cookies in the afternoon. The inn is centrally located, walkable to 'downtown' Freeport and the outlets/restaurants and drivable to Wolfe's Neck State Park, Portland, Pemaquid Light, Ogunquit, Kennebunkport, and other Maine locales. I can't recommend this place highly enough, and I'll certainly be back next year!

Robert M

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrewsterHouseBB, Owner at Brewster House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thanks Robert! I love that room too, the light is fantastic in the Pemaquid! We look forward to hosting you and Martin next year, when maybe you can take more time to explore Maine!

Scott & Mary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

We had a really nice stay at the Brewster House on our one week tour of Maine. The Inn is a wonderful place; a beautiful building, the rooms are impeccable and decorated with a lot of style situated very close to all restaurants and shops in Freeport. Scott and Mary took exceptional care of us in order that we should feel at home. Mary is a great cooker and we would like to especially mention the afternoon cookies; delicious!! but also the breakfast was very good. We would love to come back at another occasion.

Carmen and Lars

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lars D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrewsterHouseBB, Owner at Brewster House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Lars, you and Carmen were a hoot and we really wish you had more time to spend with us. Maybe next time! Mary loves the compliments, and really does go over the top to please, both for breakfasts and baking for the afternoon "tea." You guys are why inn-keepers enjoy what they do!

Scott & Mary Gile
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Freeport hotels
0.1 mi away
Harraseeket Inn
Harraseeket Inn
#1 of 11 in Freeport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 871 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#10 of 11 in Freeport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Freeport/Brunswick
0.5 mi away
James Place Inn Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brewster House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brewster House Bed & Breakfast

Property: Brewster House Bed & Breakfast
Address: 180 Main Street, Freeport, ME 04032
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Freeport
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Freeport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Brewster House Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax, unwind and enjoy a romantic Victorian Bed and Breakfast along the Maine Coast. Make the kind of memories that will last a lifetime, touring the coast's dramatic lighthouses, a lobster dinner in little-known coastal getaway, or shopping at over 160 stores and restaurants in Freepot, home of L.L. Bean.Indulge your romantic dreams at Brewster House. Savor a full, hot breakfast each morning, made with the freshest available ingredients, fresh ground coffee or a large selection of teas, and home-baked scones, muffins or breads, and enjoy afternoon refreshments or your choice of wine from our excellent selections. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Brewster House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brewster House Bed & Breakfast Freeport, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing