We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay near the center of Freeport.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Brewster House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 7 Freeport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
1 review
“Great place to stay near the center of Freeport.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

The inn was well maintained and beautifully decorated. Both Scott & Mary took exceptional care of us. No detail was left out. The breakfast was wonderful and started us off right for our day of shopping in the outlets.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CTMeigs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrewsterHouseBB, Owner at Brewster House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Nina, we're happy that you and Emily enjoyed your stay with us, & thanks for your compliments! On behalf of the folks that followed you here, thanks for leaving some merchandise in the outlets for them to buy!

Seriously, we'd love to host you again and there's plenty of great golf and other "guy stuff" to entertain your husband and son in the area as well.

Yours,
Scott & Mary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    405
    25
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
74
279
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Louisburg, Kansas
Level Contributor
54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

We spent three nights in Freeport while in Maine and were very pleased to return each evening to our cozy B&B, Brewster House. Mary and Scott do an excellent job making guests welcome without going overboard and Mary's breakfasts were incredibly good. The coffee is their own blend - presented in a French press to each table - a delightful extra. Rooms are beautifully decorated and each has a bathroom. The neighborhood is an easy walking distance from the quaint downtown which, by the way, is the home of "L.L.Bean". Freeport is a shopping mecca in Maine but this does not take away from the small town feeling.

Room Tip: We had the only room on the ground floor and were happy not to have to carry our bags upstairs. It...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PrintmakerPainter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrewsterHouseBB, Owner at Brewster House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Julie, we're very pleased to have gotten to know you and Randy a little, and that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thanks so much for your kind words! It is nice to be on the quiet side of the road that leads to the highway, yet still be only 3 blocks from all the fine shopping and cuisine that Freeport has to offer.

Please come back and further explore our beautiful State!

Yours,
Scott & Mary Gile
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, New Hampshire
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

The hosts Mary and Scott have thought of every detail to make the stay perfect. The room was spacious and beautifully decorated, and had all the little extras to make it extra special. It is walking distance to all the downtown shopping, and near some great hiking, kayaking areas (even though our kayak trip got rained out) The breakfast was amazing! Mary is a wonderful cook! Oh, her afternoon cookies she put out were also delicious! We will definitely stay at the Brewster House again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janer560-13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrewsterHouseBB, Owner at Brewster House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Thank you Jane for you generous comments! The odds are getting spectacularly good that you'll have good kayaking weather next time! By the way, the Maine Maritime Museum in Bath is offering some terrific guided kayak trips of Merrymeeting Bay on the Kennebec later this summer and fall. I hope I have the time to join in my kayak next time!

Yours,
Scott Gile
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminster, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

We headed out on our 3 hour trip for a 4 day mini break away. We were very happy to be greeted like we were family. What a pretty place and so close to downtown where all the great shopping was. Our room was very comfortable and roomy. I loved making my tea and relaxing before going down for a great breakfast seved by the owners. The only negative was Mary doesn't cook dinner. I can't wait to go back with some girlfriends.

Room Tip: The hole house is quiet and I did't hear any traffic noise..they have two rooms that would be gr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrewsterHouseBB, Owner at Brewster House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Carol, it was great to see you and Andy, just wish we could've spent more time with you both on the town! We'll see you again in the off season! There's another car/ airplane show at the Owl's Head Museum again this weekend! As a note, Mary doesn't have much left to give at dinner, as at that point she's working on tomorrow's breakfast!! Bring the '56' up next time!

PS - Your sandals are in the mail.

Yours,
Scott & Mary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Starkville,MS
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

We had planned to stay in Portland, but not finding many options, we chose Freeport. It turned out so pleasant; a happy surprise. And truly, the B&B is conveniently located off the interstate to downtown Portland; you can be there is less than 30 min. It doesn't feel like a hassle in the least. Consider it as an alternative to paying for an overpriced downtown Portland hotel if your travel plans allow. For less money you'll get much more personal service.

The B&B is just a few blocks from the major attraction in Freeport - the outlet mall. You can park your car and just stroll down to shop or dine. The B&B itself is wonderful. Our room was one of the larger rooms we've stayed in at a B&B. It was very comfortable and we seldom heard any noise from the street or the other rooms despite being at the front of the house and next to the staircase. Breakfast is delicious and about 3 times the size I normally eat. This can be a big plus if you are going out all day and want to skip lunch or if (like us) your flights won't allow time for lunch later in the day. The new innkeepers try very hard to make your trip special. Cookies in the afternoon and french-pressed coffee with breakfast are just a few of the little perks.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Marshall Point room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank JCzarnecki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrewsterHouseBB, Owner at Brewster House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Joby, sorry it took so long to get back to you, we've been crazy busy! We couldn't have been happier that you chose Freeport, and we got to spend some time getting to know you and Thierry. We are only 15 minutes north of Portland,, even though it's o quiet, it doesn't seem like we could be so close to so many fun things.

We hope you come back to visit and thank you for your warm offer to our son!

Yours,
Scott & Mary Gile
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

The Brewster House is perfectly located in a lovely neighborhood for easy walks to restaurants and shopping. It is a short drive to a grocery store, the interstate and to a gas station. Mary and Scott are wonderful hosts who are friendly and helpful, but not intrusive.
The house is very attractive inside and outside. It is extremely clean! Breakfasts are divine! They are a hearty and filling combination of sweet and savory, and Mary is pleased to share her recipes if you ask. We happily recommend this B&B and would not stay anywhere else if ever in the Freeport/Portland area again.

Room Tip: The Marshall Point room is large, light pretty and comfortable. It has a nice sitting area in the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaroBru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrewsterHouseBB, Owner at Brewster House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Dear Carolyn & Bruce;

Many thanks for your compliments, we are most grateful! Also, your feedback on your adventures here was invaluable and will appear in parts in upcoming newsletters & blogs. We can't wait to go play in Portland when we have time!

It was a pleasure knowing you and enhancing your Maine vacation! We very much hope to meet you again.

Scott & Mary Gile
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Arbor, MI
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

Sister trip to celebrate a big birthday turned into a delightful stay at the Brewster House in Freeport, Maine. Everything was delightful. The rooms we had were top notch and the breakfasts were so yummy! The hosts were helpful in directing us to good eating establishments and had suggestions for "must-dos" in the area.

Room Tip: Stairs could be a problem for those on the higher floors. It was fine for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paimaxkid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrewsterHouseBB, Owner at Brewster House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Thank you Ladies, hope we were worthy of Scott and Ruth's legacy! Scott Thomas said he was sorry he missed you.

We encourage potential guests to call if they have any special circumstances, and the Cape Elizabeth Room (room 1) on the first floor is always our go to recommendation for folks with limited physical abilities, both for it's first floor location and for the low threshold shower with seat in that room.

Please come again on your next visit to Maine!

Scott & Mary Gile
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Freeport hotels
0.1 mi away
Harraseeket Inn
Harraseeket Inn
#1 of 11 in Freeport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 905 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown
2.0 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#9 of 11 in Freeport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Freeport/Brunswick
0.5 mi away
James Place Inn Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brewster House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brewster House Bed & Breakfast

Property: Brewster House Bed & Breakfast
Address: 180 Main Street, Freeport, ME 04032
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Freeport
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Freeport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Brewster House Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax, unwind and enjoy a romantic Victorian Bed and Breakfast along the Maine Coast. Make the kind of memories that will last a lifetime, touring the coast's dramatic lighthouses, a lobster dinner in little-known coastal getaway, or shopping at over 160 stores and restaurants in Freepot, home of L.L. Bean.Indulge your romantic dreams at Brewster House. Savor a full, hot breakfast each morning, made with the freshest available ingredients, fresh ground coffee or a large selection of teas, and home-baked scones, muffins or breads, and enjoy afternoon refreshments or your choice of wine from our excellent selections. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Brewster House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brewster House Bed & Breakfast Freeport, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing