We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Brewster House Bed & Breakfast
Nearby Hotels
Quality Suites(Freeport)(Great Value!)
$99
QualityInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hampton Inn Freeport/Brunswick(Freeport)(Great Value!)
$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$184
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$109
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$68
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Candlebay Inn(Freeport)
$149
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$165
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casco Bay Inn(Freeport)(Great Value!)
$115
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$189
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$179
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (485)
Filter reviews
485 results
Traveler rating
457
25
3
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
457
25
3
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfrench pressedthe french press coffeeafternoon cookiesportland headpemaquid pointhomemade cookiesshort walkwonderful hostsgas fireplacell beanpleasure of stayingthird floorfreeport arearooms are lovelywithin walking distancethe location is perfectliving room
Filter
Updating list...
467 - 472 of 485 reviews
Reviewed June 6, 2008

Beautifully maintained, exceptionally clean B&B close to everything in Freeport, ME (1 block walk to LL Bean and great dining - Azure Cafe and Jameson Tavern). Friendly service - Scott Thomas, Innkeeper, ready to accomidate any needs.
We will definitely stay again and recommend to friends and family.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank discerninguser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2008

Brewster House is a delight of comfort, elegance and welcome. Scott and Ruth are very friendly; they were happy to advise on things to do and see, and places to eat and went out of their way to make our stay a pleasure.

The House is decorated to a very high standard. Our room (number four) and bathroom were lovely, with welcoming chocolates and biscuits, a four poster bed and comfortable chairs in a bay window. There was a constant supply of tea and coffee, and a guest fridge with wine glasses and corkscrew on the floor upstairs (great idea, as fridges in bedrooms can be noisy).

The breakfasts were a real treat: fresh fruit juice, fruit cups, carrot and ginger scones, butterscotch scones, blueberry muffins, apple turnover with bacon, and a house special of “mile high” egg with sausage and fries. All absolutely delicious, and served with great conversation.

There was a comfortable, elegant sitting room with tv and books and magazines. Nothing was too much trouble. We would recommend Brewster House very highly and hope to return.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank SlothEnterprises
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2008

My fiancee and I stayed for a night at Brewster House after spending a day in Freeport snowshoeing and shopping and had an absolutely wonderful stay.

Convenient location: The B&B is a short 5 to 10 minute walk from the shopping district. After checking in, we were a little exhausted after
snowshoeing in the morning and some shopping in the early afternoon. The B&B was so close to everything that we were able to take a short mid-afternoon nap before continuing our shopping later that afternoon.
After we wrapped up our shopping, we were able to return to the B&B to
drop off our shopping bags before heading back out to have dinner. It was the perfect home base for experiencing the best that downtown Freeport has to offer!

Wonderful accomodations: We stayed in room 4, which has plenty of windows (including a bay window) that let in plenty of light. The walls were a soothing shade of green and the bed and pillows were very comfortable. The maplewood flooring of the bathroom was a nice touch. The entire B&B has wireless internet, which came in handy when planning the rest of our stay in Freeport (looking at the menus, reviews and addresses of restaurants, for instance). It would have been nice to have had a TV in the room, but since we were the only guests in the B&B that night, we simply moved to the living room (which has a TV that receives DirecTV). Before turning in, we spent an
hour enjoying the warmth of the fireplace in the living room.

Delicious breakfast: Ruth blew us away with her breakfast creations! She started us off with a freshly baked muffin, served with a fruit and nut compote. She followed this up with an egg dish (Mile High Eggs), which reminded us of an egg souffle, and a side of hash browns,
and a butterscotch scone. My fiancee and I do not eat meat, and Ruth and Scott were gladly accomodated our dietary requests. Last but not least, the cookie jar in the hallway was a pleasant discovery. We visited it at least twice during our stay!

Amazing innkeepers: Ruth and Scott are absolutely terrific! They had us covered, from dinner recommendations to tips on the latest sales downtown. They were so helpful and informative. We were surprised to find out that they had only been serving as innkeepers for less than two years. From their professionalism, we assumed they had been doing this for years (we hope they end up doing this for a long time to come!). The Brewster House website was also very informative, full of helpful links and photos. It was also a huge help to be able to check
availability and rates online.

We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank jllobrer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2007

My husband I recently returned from a fall foliage driving tour of New England. Our first stop consisted of two nights at the Brewster House Bed & Breakfast in Freeport, Maine. We could not have asked for a lovelier place. Ruth and Scott made us feel right at home from the moment we stepped in the door. Candies are placed in the foyer for “anytime” snacking. Coffee is available all day in the dining room, as well as an assortment of teas, hot chocolate, and cider. During our stay there was an assortment of home made cookies offered along with the beverages. All of these wonderful treats were complimentary. A shared guest refrigerator is available on the second floor, as well as wine glasses and a bottle opener.

We stayed in room four, which was beautifully adorned with a queen four-poster bed and antique furniture. The room was impeccably clean and the bed was very comfortable. Our bathroom was equally nice. We had lots of windows, which we left open to enjoy the mild fall weather. Although the Brewster House is on a main road, we were able to sleep pleasantly with the windows open.

The Brewster House is wonderfully located and it is only a short walk to the L.L. Bean stores and other fine shopping and restaurants. Plenty of spacious parking made it easy to leave the car and walk.

The breakfasts were delicious and very filling. Ruth and Scott offered lively conversation and wonderful advice for what to see and where to eat in the area.

All in all, we had a wonderful stay at the Brewster House Bed & Breakfast and would love to stay there again if we return to the area.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank EatRunTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2007

I have just returned from a vacation in Maine. We drove, and enjoyed many places in Maine throughout our trip, including several lighthouses, the changing colors, etc. We spent our last 3 nights at Brewster House Bed & Breakfast in Freeport, ME. We had heard about this B&B through a Freeport publication I received in the mail, with no other recommendation, and it worked out perfectly.
Our stay there was absolutely wonderful. Ruth and Scott have made it a beautiful and comfortable "home" for all of us travelers. We had certain requirements - a first floor room with 2 beds) and they were able to accommodate us, where most B&B's can't. The room was beautifully decorated. The beds were comfy and the bathroom was very large.
Brewster House is conveniently located within walking distance to many of the stores in Freeport - including L.L. Bean, where we spent one full day and evening!!
OK, now let's talk about the breakfast part of this Bed and Breakfast!! All three breakfasts we had there were absolutely yummy. They were so good that I I did everything but lick the plates....only because I thought that would be tacky!! Ruth is very creative with her menus, and she is a darn good cook. Even the coffee they make is good.
In the afternoons/evenings, there were always treats out waiting for us. On our first night, there were cookies. We took a couple each.....and after eating them, we were tempted to go back and just take the whole container....but we resisted.
Our stay at the Brewster House B&B went beyond my expectations. If I am ever in Maine again, I will definitely return to the Brewster House. AND, I will recommend this B&B to anyone and everyone who will be in or around the Freeport, ME area.
Mary Manis
San Dimas, CA

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank CruiseLadyMary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews