We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice B&B, a little claustrophobic though!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Brewster House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 7 Freeport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
272 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Nice B&B, a little claustrophobic though!”
Reviewed September 21, 2012

The rooms are lovely. breakfast is an elaborate cooked affair - very very tasty but extremely heavy and no choice. You don't get anything yourself, (juice, granola whatever) it is all brought on request. This involves several chatty interactions with the man of the house, too many for my liking. It sounds like they freshly ground the beans for coffee which is great, but they make it weak, even when strong is requested.

I found our room a little bit stuffy but there is aircon. The free water and coffee in the room are plentiful and much appreciated.

There is an elaborate digital tv system which is stupidly complicated. it took me half an hour to get NBC.

Its a very nice place, but you know that feeling in some B&B's like you're in somebody's house and have to watch your step? - well, its super-sized in this place.

One more thing - Freeport kind of sucks. The stores are all chaotic. portland ont he other hand is a fun, eccentric and beautiful town. The lighthouse is an excellent trip.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank QQuietroomfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrewsterHouseBB, Owner at Brewster House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, September 23, 2012
Thank you for taking time to provide your thoughts on your visit to Freeport.

Because we've been to quite a number of B&B's in the UK, and since your location is given as London, and your reviews reflect experience primarily with non-US B&B's, we can understand why you might have expected a different style of breakfast than the "Chef's choice" and the "full, hot, gourmet breakfast" we describe on our website. We certainly apologize if having table service, rather than self-service, was uncomfortable for you.

As for the TV, we subscribe to DirecTV's satellite service, so to use it, there is one remote control, provided by them, which controls the TV and the satellite box. We're sorry you found it difficult to use.

Most of all, we're sorry you seem not to have enjoyed visiting Freeport. As you can see from the reviews by our other guests, regardless of their country of residence, nearly all of them find Freeport to be one of their favorite destinations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    408
    25
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
75
280
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Brewster House has a great location for walking everywhere in Freeport. The Innkeepers Scott & Ruth were very welcoming and helpful with planning our days in the area. Their attention to detail was evident, from the gourmet breakfasts to the goodies left out in the afternoon for our enjoyment. The rooms were well appointed and there were so many small touches, like the large fluffy robes & slippers, chocolates & water in our room to make this a lovely place to stay!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank schelirob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton Parish, Bermuda
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2012

Brewster House is a great place to stay when going to Freeport for shopping. Its only a couple of minutes away from LL Bean and the other stores on Main Street. We received a very friendly welcome from Ruth on arrival and our room was very comfortable. Breakfast, served by Scott, was good also.

Room Tip: As situated on the busy Main Street likely best to choose a room not at the front of house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Party5681
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericton, Canada
1 review
Reviewed September 12, 2012

We have been to Freeport many times before with our children but because this was our anniversary we decided to stay at a B and B. We most certainly were not disappointed, the house was beautiful as was our room, so clean and comfortable with all the extras one would want. Scott and Ruth were both so nice and helpful with whatever you needed and the breakfasts...delicious is an understatement!! The homemade cookies later in the day were an added treat also. We had such a lovely time it was hard to come home but we will do one thing, we will return, hopefully soon!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kireba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trumansburg, New York
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

The Brewster House is a true Maine Treasure. The old home has been lovingly restored and updated, the decor is crisp and clean and not overdone. The innkeepers, Ruth and Scott are consumate hosts who take great pride in talking about all of the things that coastal Maine has to offer; some of their packages look to be very interesting and worth pursuing. Fresh homemade cookies and brownies, coffee and tea (hot and iced) welcome a guest entering the foyer and it only gets better from there. The common rooms are welcomig and the guest bedrooms are bright and airy and exceptionally clean; the bathrooms are much larger than the usual for an older home and Scott and Ruth have seen to all the small details that make this B&B so comfortable. A great night's sleep is met the following morning with a different and delicious breakfast (baked ham, cheese and egg souffle, fresh fruit ina light lime sauce, warm ginger/lime scones, country sausage, French Press coffee and , as appropriate for Maine, blueberry/cranberry juice). It is no wonder that the Brewster House is a Select Registry Inn as it serves as a perfect example of why B&Bs are a better way to stay.

Room Tip: All of the rooms look to be very inviting, the two third floor suites seem very large and great for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
1 review
Reviewed August 27, 2012

My husband and I celebrated a belated honeymoon at Brewster House and couldn't have been happier. The owners (Scott and Ruth) were very welcoming, professional, personable, and made our stay amazing! The room we stayed in was magnificent and relaxing! Scott and Ruth also helped us to plan some of our activities including a sailing trip in Portland. The location was also amazing. We rented a car but didn't use it very much as we were able to walk to most of places we had planned to go. The breakfast was beyond wonderful. We will definitely visit Brewster again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapman, AL
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2012

This is what a B&B should be. From our arrival to departure, Scott & Ruth were the prefect hosts, friendly and informative. The breakfast was great; our room and bath were exceptionally clean, as well as the entire house, a must for us! We will most certainly choose Brewster House when in the Freeport area!! Great job Scott & Ruth.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sylvia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Freeport hotels
0.1 mi away
Harraseeket Inn
Harraseeket Inn
#1 of 11 in Freeport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 918 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown
1.9 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#9 of 11 in Freeport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Freeport/Brunswick
0.5 mi away
James Place Inn Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brewster House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brewster House Bed & Breakfast

Property: Brewster House Bed & Breakfast
Address: 180 Main St, Freeport, ME 04032-1407
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Freeport
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Freeport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Brewster House Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax, unwind and enjoy a romantic Victorian Bed and Breakfast along the Maine Coast. Make the kind of memories that will last a lifetime, touring the coast's dramatic lighthouses, a lobster dinner in little-known coastal getaway, or shopping at over 160 stores and restaurants in Freepot, home of L.L. Bean.Indulge your romantic dreams at Brewster House. Savor a full, hot breakfast each morning, made with the freshest available ingredients, fresh ground coffee or a large selection of teas, and home-baked scones, muffins or breads, and enjoy afternoon refreshments or your choice of wine from our excellent selections. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Brewster House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brewster House Bed & Breakfast Freeport, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing