We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxurious Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Brewster House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 8 Freeport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed August 27, 2012

My husband and I celebrated a belated honeymoon at Brewster House and couldn't have been happier. The owners (Scott and Ruth) were very welcoming, professional, personable, and made our stay amazing! The room we stayed in was magnificent and relaxing! Scott and Ruth also helped us to plan some of our activities including a sailing trip in Portland. The location was also amazing. We rented a car but didn't use it very much as we were able to walk to most of places we had planned to go. The breakfast was beyond wonderful. We will definitely visit Brewster again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (481)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

300 - 306 of 481 reviews

Reviewed August 25, 2012

This is what a B&B should be. From our arrival to departure, Scott & Ruth were the prefect hosts, friendly and informative. The breakfast was great; our room and bath were exceptionally clean, as well as the entire house, a must for us! We will most certainly choose Brewster House when in the Freeport area!! Great job Scott & Ruth.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sylvia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Freeport, Maine was a perfect place to stop on my summer road trip and the Brewster House was a perfect place to escape to. I am not sure what I enjoyed most, the awesome breakfast that Ruth and Scott served each day or my room, that made me feel like royalty. I throughly enjoyed both the quiet nature of the neighborhood, the short walk to ALL the shops, and warm welcome of Ruth and Scott and the other guest.

It took me a minute to adjust to the lack of diversity in Freeport, but the charm of Brewster House made me most comfortable. Next time I will stay longer as it made me a little sad to leave. Of special note is that I was traveling by myself and I encourage anyone who wants to be incognito that they will find both Brewster House and Freeport, a great place one ' a party of one.'

If you are looking for a welcoming Bed and Breakfast, where you don't have to worry about how clean it is, if the people are welcoming or if you will feel pampered, in a great get away city, with shopping, good food (did I say great food) and easy access to other points of interest, than Brewster House, in Freeport Maine is the place to be!

Room Tip: If you have never been to Maine give it a try!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dianne p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Three of us spent a great weekend here. Friendly hosts, great food, and comfy, clean rooms. Spacious and very relaxing. We would definitely go back! We especially loved all the small complimentary extras like the Keurig machine in the room (!) and amazing cookies in the afternoon.

Room Tip: We liked the Harbor Suite since we could fit 3 people in 2 connecting rooms and share the bathroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

The Brewster House offered a perfect blend of classic and quaint comforts, from the warm welcome given by Scott & Ruth to the tastefully decorated rooms. Fresh baked cookies and tea are ready as we arrived. Luxuries such as warm fuzzy bathrobes and an in-room fire place made us feel like royalty. Their breakfast was superb and elegant. I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank D M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

We loved our stay at Brewster House! The Innkeepers, Scott & Ruth were lovely and very hospitable. The accommodations were very clean and quiet and the breakfast was the best we have had anywhere!! 5 star accommodations at a very reasonable rate. We will definately add this one to our favorites and plan to go back one day in the near future. I would definately recommend Brewster House to anyone!! As a hospitality manager myself, I will never stay in a hotel again as long as I can find a comparible B&B like Brewster House!! Location was perfect and lots to see and do in Freeport!

Room Tip: go for a two room suite, we loved having a separate TV area!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

I stop at Brewster House every year on my way to and from northern Maine. It's my oasis after a long drive (1100) miles up and my recharging stop before I start back down. Ruth and Scott are very welcoming and are always ready ideas for local meals and entertainment.
The rooms are comfortable and serene, nicely decorated without being overdone. Ruth's breakfasts are fabulous and she keeps track from year to year of any special food issues.

Add dinner and a blueberry margarita from the Azure Cafe and you have the perfect 24 hour respite.

Room Tip: If you really need a first floor room book early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amber S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrewsterHouseBB, Owner at Brewster House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2012

Thanks for sharing your impressions!

It is such a wonderful compliment to have guests return, time after time, and you are the perfect example of it! We're so glad we'll get to see you again this year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Freeport
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown
0.1 mi away
Harraseeket Inn
Harraseeket Inn
#1 of 11 in Freeport
978 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Freeport/Brunswick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
Inn At Diamond Cove
Inn At Diamond Cove
#8 of 21 in Portland
116 reviews
2.0 mi away
Quality Suites
Quality Suites
#9 of 11 in Freeport
332 reviews
0.5 mi away
James Place Inn Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brewster House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brewster House Bed & Breakfast

Address: 180 Main St, Freeport, ME 04032-1407
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Freeport
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Freeport
Price Range: $194 - $315 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Brewster House Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax, unwind and enjoy a romantic Victorian Bed and Breakfast along the Maine Coast. Make the kind of memories that will last a lifetime, touring the coast's dramatic lighthouses, a lobster dinner in little-known coastal getaway, or shopping at over 160 stores and restaurants in Freepot, home of L.L. Bean.Indulge your romantic dreams at Brewster House. Savor a full, hot breakfast each morning, made with the freshest available ingredients, fresh ground coffee or a large selection of teas, and home-baked scones, muffins or breads, and enjoy afternoon refreshments or your choice of wine from our excellent selections. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Brewster House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brewster House Bed & Breakfast Freeport, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing