We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply The Best”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Brewster House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 7 Freeport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Alexander, Maine, United States
2 reviews
“Simply The Best”
Reviewed June 5, 2012

This was our second stay at Brewster House. The first time was superb and the second time was, if this is possible, even more so! I will say that Brewster House is, without reservation, simply the best bed & breakfast we have stayed at anywhere in the world.

Filled with genuine antiques, the rooms are spotlessly clean and spacious. The little things that add up to make a special place even more special are present; the block of delicately hand milled herbal soap in the bathroom, the bottles of drinking water, the chocolate truffles and the Starbucks coffee sachets - all indicative of the care hosts Ruth & Scott extend to all their guests.

... and then we come to the breakfast! Ruth is very passionate about her cooking and it shows in the superb three course breakfast presented in the elegant but friendly dining room. From the oatmeal raspberry scones with lemon curd to a brilliant vegetarian frittata to the fresh fruit and pavlova with Grand Marnier infused whipped cream ... it's all simply stunning. Breakfast has been completely different on each occcasion we have stayed at Brewster House which is indicative of how much care, thought and passion Ruth puts into her food offerings.

When booking our first stay Ruth asked if we had any dietary requirements. We did; my husband is a vegetarian so Ruth served him a vegetarian breakfast. This was very much appreciated. Without asking, on our second visit, my husband was again offered a vegetarian breakfast.
Details like this make staying with Ruth & Scott an absolute pleasure.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dingo19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrewsterHouseBB, Owner at Brewster House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, June 6, 2012
What wonderful comments you've made! We're so happy that everything was to your liking again, as it is always such a terrific compliment when guests not only return, but share information about the things they enjoyed through their reviews!

We're looking forward to your next visit!

Ruth & Scott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    411
    25
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
75
283
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Peabody, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2012

My husband and I spent a perfect weekend at Brewster House. Scott is the perfect host and very knowledgeable about the area and things to do. He cooked an amazing breakfast each morning and recommended wonderful restaurants for dinner. The house is impecably kept inside and out, the rooms cozy and welcoming. I would and will absolutely stay again. We hope to meet Ruth next time, she was out of town welcoming her new grandchild into the world.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cheryl a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrewsterHouseBB, Owner at Brewster House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, May 12, 2012
Thanks so much for the kind remarks and the wonderful review!

It really was a pleasure to have you two here (and Ruth was very sorry she missed you!).

We're looking forward to your next visit!

Scott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stow
1 review
Reviewed April 24, 2012

After a brief two-night stay, I felt as though I had been on vacation for a week! I credit this feeling to the attention and care shown by Ruth and Scott during our stay and also to the quality of my sleep while there. No detail escapes Ruth and Scott, and this shows in everything from the bed linens to the amenities to the food. And the food is memorable. From previous visits, I know I will find myself daydreaming about the fine cookies and bars set out with homemade ice tea or lemonade every afternoon.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melvin Village, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2012

An excellent breakfast to end a terrific stay in Freeport. Ruth and Scott were very hospitable, and recommended a great restaurant for us. Room was bright and airy. Would stay again when thinking of overnighting in Freeport.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snmetz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne, New Jersey, United States
1 review
Reviewed April 9, 2012

Our stay at the Brewster House was wonderful! Our Innkeeper Ruth greeted us upon our arrival with warmth and hospitality. The room was cozy and clean with a beautiful fireplace that we used every night. Breakfast was gourmet, and you can tell that love was put into every meal. Both Scott and Ruth were helpful with tips on places to see and good restaurant recommendations at night. My boyfriend and I were especially pleased to come back to freshly baked treats everyday! We would definitely consider staying here again and would recommend this bed and breakfast to everyone we know!

Room Tip: We stayed on the second floor and we were pleased with the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fair Lawn, NJ
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2012

We had high expectations for our stay at The Brewster House (from reading other Tripadvisor reviews) and we were not disappointed! Our room was very well appointed, very comfortable and immaculately clean. Our hosts, Ruth and Scott, were very welcoming and we very much enjoyed our conversation with them each morning before we headed out for the nearby shopping and our tour of local lighthouses. Breakfasts were incredibly tasty with coffee always piping hot. No need to stay at a hotel in Freeport when this Bed and Breakfast is available... it's the only way to go!
Joe & Mary Lou M.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joseph M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Maine
1 review
Reviewed April 2, 2012

We were pleased with our welcoming hosts and enjoyed the comfort of a cozy and clean guest room with plenty of natural light. The fireplace provided a romantic atmosphere. The breakfasts were a hearty and delicious way to begin our day of hiking, sightseeing and shopping. We would definitely recommend the Brewster House as a place to stay for anyone traveling to the Freeport area!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nadine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Freeport hotels
0.1 mi away
Harraseeket Inn
Harraseeket Inn
#1 of 11 in Freeport
925 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Freeport/Brunswick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport
1.9 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#9 of 11 in Freeport
300 reviews
0.5 mi away
James Place Inn Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brewster House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brewster House Bed & Breakfast

Property: Brewster House Bed & Breakfast
Address: 180 Main St, Freeport, ME 04032-1407
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Freeport
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Freeport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Brewster House Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax, unwind and enjoy a romantic Victorian Bed and Breakfast along the Maine Coast. Make the kind of memories that will last a lifetime, touring the coast's dramatic lighthouses, a lobster dinner in little-known coastal getaway, or shopping at over 160 stores and restaurants in Freepot, home of L.L. Bean.Indulge your romantic dreams at Brewster House. Savor a full, hot breakfast each morning, made with the freshest available ingredients, fresh ground coffee or a large selection of teas, and home-baked scones, muffins or breads, and enjoy afternoon refreshments or your choice of wine from our excellent selections. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Brewster House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brewster House Bed & Breakfast Freeport, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing