We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely perfect!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Brewster House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 8 Freeport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed September 10, 2011

My husband, daughter and I stayed here for a week and would recommend it to anyone. Scott and Ruth are so hospitable and kind. The beautiful old house is perfectly maintained and spotless, the breakfasts cooked by Ruth are absolutely delicious, and the atmosphere is peaceful and beautiful. We will stay there again. Ruth and Scott went out of their way to help us and were extremely kind to our four year old daughter. We were sad to leave.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrewsterHouseBB, Owner at Brewster House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2011

What a delightful time we had with you and your family! Thank you very much for posting such a complimentary review! We look forward to seeing you all again before too long.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (467)
There are newer reviews for Brewster House Bed & Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

339 - 345 of 467 reviews

Reviewed September 7, 2011

We will be back (hopefully again and again) to experience this peaceful and hospitable B and B in the heart of Freeport. We both arrived and left with the kindness of Ruth and Scott, had a fabulous breakfast, a perfect room experience, and truly enjoyed this little jewel.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank meganhershey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2011

We loved this place back in 2009 and found out over Labor Day weekend that innkeepers Ruth and Scott have not rested on their laurels. It began with the phone call to make the reservation a few weeks back when Ruth remembered my wife and me from 2009 and it was like catching up with an old friend. Same with both Ruth and Scott when we checked in Friday afternoon.

Our room was immaculate and tastefully decorated. The coffee in the lobby was excellent. (I'll take my wife's word for it - she's the coffee drinker.) Homemade cookies and brownies in the foyer when we came back from a lobster dinner in Cape Elizabeth. The breakfast unbeliveable - beginning with a fruit shortcake appetizer, followed by breakfast strudel, sausage and potates parmesan. And hot French-pressed coffee even better than the earlier cup!

If the pleasant surroundings and top quality food aren't enough, mix in Scott and Ruth's knowledge of the area to go with their warmth and hospitality and you'll never want to stay anywhere else when you visit Portland, Brunswick or Freeport. (Polar Bear parents, remember the Brewster House is only about 15 mins., south of campus.)

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Medstrike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrewsterHouseBB, Owner at Brewster House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2011

Thank you so much for such a glowing review! We so enjoy having guests return, and it is a great compliment when you notice the little changes that have been made!

By the way, thank you, too, for referring the couple from the island to us - they stayed and couldn't say enough about you recommending Brewster House!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2011

Ruth and Scott were very pleasant hosts. The room, bath and furnishings were to a high standard, and recently done. Breakfast was elegant and delicious - much enjoyed for an indulgence such as this. Brewster House is within a 5-minute walk to the nicer restaurants of Freeport, L.L. Bean and the north end of Main Street shopping. It's a good base from which to cover coastal areas from Portland to Boothbay. Include visits to State Parks, such as Reid and Wolfe's Neck; and the Maine Maritime Museum in Bath. Our trip did coincide with some nearby night-time road construction that interrupted a good night's sleep, but that was unlucky timing that would not be expected at other times. I recommend the Brewster House, and would stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2011

Scott and Ruth were incredibly hospitable and always willing to give us directions to wonderful getaway spots, including Portland Head Lighthouse. Ruth is a phenomenal cook, especially her scones, and the breakfast is always worth waking up for. Scott is a gracious host and livens the mood in the dining room while serving you your breakfast. The rooms are spacious and the beds were the most comfortable we have slept in at any bed and breakfast. This is definitely a treat to come here and is well worth the trip. We look forward to coming back!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jen_and_JoeC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2011

Loved the inn and the room. Very clean. Breakfast was wonderful and highly satisfying. Our hosts were extremely helpful and informative in describing the area. Will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2011

Great place to stay. We were greeted with homemade cookies and lemonade when we arrived. It was close to dinner and Scott gave us all of the insider info on the restaurants. He also had menus from the places in town. We met Ruth during breakfast the next day and she called us by name. That speaks volumes to how much the owners pay attention to their guests. We chatted with her for a bit while we enjoyed one the best breakfasts we have ever had. The room and bathroom were clean. There was bottled water, Starbucks Via coffee, and chocolate candy in our room. It was also very quiet. We didn't hear the other guests.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Skidp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Freeport hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown
0.1 mi away
Harraseeket Inn
Harraseeket Inn
#1 of 11 in Freeport
965 reviews
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Quality Suites
Quality Suites
#9 of 11 in Freeport
322 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Freeport/Brunswick
0.5 mi away
James Place Inn Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brewster House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brewster House Bed & Breakfast

Address: 180 Main St, Freeport, ME 04032-1407
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Freeport
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Freeport
Price Range: $194 - $324 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Brewster House Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax, unwind and enjoy a romantic Victorian Bed and Breakfast along the Maine Coast. Make the kind of memories that will last a lifetime, touring the coast's dramatic lighthouses, a lobster dinner in little-known coastal getaway, or shopping at over 160 stores and restaurants in Freepot, home of L.L. Bean.Indulge your romantic dreams at Brewster House. Savor a full, hot breakfast each morning, made with the freshest available ingredients, fresh ground coffee or a large selection of teas, and home-baked scones, muffins or breads, and enjoy afternoon refreshments or your choice of wine from our excellent selections. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Brewster House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brewster House Bed & Breakfast Freeport, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing