We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Place to stay in Maine”
Review of Candlebay Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Candlebay Inn
Ranked #4 of 8 Freeport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 28, 2011

Always the best sleep, excellent location. The teens love it. I will never wait in line at a chain hotel breakfast again. Food is the best.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pink029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (109)
There are newer reviews for Candlebay Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

92 - 98 of 109 reviews

Reviewed November 17, 2011

Innkeeper Bev made me feel very welcome immediately. I was consulted on what I wanted for breakfast the next morning. My room was lovely and bright, and extremely quiet as it was off-season. Breakfast was lovely - everything tasted so good and homemade. Buttery baked pears, waffles, coffee available day and night. No TV in my room, but a big TV in the breakfast room for anyone to use. This inn was the perfect place to relax, read, and get a peaceful night's sleep. Bev suggested 2 restaurants in town, so I had excellent dinners on each night of my stay. The overall feeling was one of being cared for and cared about.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank solotraveler51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2011

My husband and I spent a weekend in Freeport, the middle of October. The B & B was one we had stayed in 7 years ago. There are new owners, Bev and Chuck, and they were wonderful hosts. The inn is very quaint. It is spotless, and service could not be better. The innkeepers were wonderful suggesting restaurants, points of interest , and general info about the area. We had a wonderful breakfast included in our stat, both mornings.
We highly recommend Capt. Briggs ,as a destination in Freeport. You are only 20 minutes drive from Portland, which is wonderful city for a day trip.

Room Tip: We had one of the 1st floor rooms, located directedly under the stairwell. Extremely spacious!
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank linda h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2011

We brought two small dogs and one medium puppy to stay for two days at Captain Briggs House. We ALL were treated really well, and the room was clean and very nice. It was very quiet on the street and in the B and B the two nights we were there. The food was terrific and Bev was a generous hostess. It is an easy walk to downtown Freeport and L.L. Bean. I would highly recommend this as a place to stay.

Room Tip: You will want one of the bigger rooms if you are traveling with your dog.
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelswithdogs2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2011

My husband and I stayed two nights at the Captain Briggs B&B at the end of September 2011. We had stayed there a couple of years ago, along with my two sisters and the husband of one of them. Needless to say we were very happy with the accommodations the first time and so came back. The Captain Briggs B&B is just a few minutes walk from the shops yet it is in a very quiet area - great for a good night's sleep. The room had everything needed and the bed was very comfortable. Breakfast was delicious and a hardy start to the day. We will be back.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fineligne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2011

We stayed here with our dog who was traveling for the first time. We were apprehensive about traveling with him but Bev made us fell right at home. They have a nice common area with tea, coffee and bottled water available all day. Our breakfast in the morning was delicious! The location is perfect - just a few blocks to many restaurants, taverns, and LL Bean downtown. Despite being close to the downtown, the inn is on a quiet street, so you'll be sure to get a good nights sleep. We would definitely stay there again next time we visit Freeport.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gldnsrule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2011

As many of you know, it is hard to find affordable accommodations for a family of 5. We stayed for 1 night in the Forget-Me-Not Suite. It was very spacious and clean, with 2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms. The hostess's ricotta lemon pancakes and cinnamon apples were delicious. AAA rates were given for additional savings. This b&b is located a very short walk from LL Bean and all the restaurants and shops of downtown Freeport.

Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
1  Thank southern_ladyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Freeport hotels
0.1 mi away
Harraseeket Inn
Harraseeket Inn
#1 of 11 in Freeport
966 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown
2.0 mi away
Quality Suites
Quality Suites
#9 of 11 in Freeport
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Freeport/Brunswick
0.3 mi away
Kendall Tavern Inn Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlebay Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlebay Inn

Address: 8 Maple Ave, Freeport, ME 04032-1315 (Formerly Captain Briggs House Bed and Breakfast)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Freeport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Freeport
Price Range: $139 - $173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Candlebay Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly the Captain Briggs B&B, the Candlebay Inn is located in the village of Freeport, Maine, and is a quaint, dog-friendly bed and breakfast within walking distance to outlets stores and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Candlebay Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlebay Inn Freeport, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing