We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming, old hotel in a great location...”
Review of Harraseeket Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Harraseeket Inn
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Freeport
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Dallas, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Charming, old hotel in a great location...”
Reviewed November 5, 2009

Oustanding staff and service. Breakfast buffet is very tasty. Well thought out selections.

Mostly middle aged guests.

Spacious room with medium size flat screen tv mounted on the wall. Large bathroom with robes provided. Wonderful, luxurious sheets. Comfortable pillows.

Plenty of safe parking in back of the building. Great, quiet location just north of the outlet stores on route 1. Easy 5 minute walk to LL Bean.

We would stay at the Harraseeket again.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CtYankee51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

935 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    674
    170
    58
    18
    15
See reviews for
210
482
24
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gadsden, Alabama
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2009

My husband and I loved this hotel. It was so nice and in a great location. The afternoon tea/cider with cheese and sweets was a plus. The breakfast was included, which included a buffet with a variety of food. We only stayed one night but wished we had planned a longer stay here!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AuburnAlumni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowville,NY
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 19, 2009

We just returned from Freeport, Maine and the Harraseeket Inn. This is still a very nice hotel but we noticed some things are no longer top notch. The room we stayed in had a king size bed and when I got out of the bed a hard spring hit me in the leg and scraped my leg. I informed the front desk people and later that day a man came to look at it but instead of replacing the mattress or at least flipping it he cut the spring and sewed it back together. This was just not acceptable for a hotel that is suppose to be a four star hotel. The Maine dining room was over crowded and our waiter Jason who was very cordial took 40 minutes for us to receive even our wine. He blamed the new hostess which we thought was very unprofessional as well. All in all I think we would stay at the Hilton the next time and be assured of better bedding as it is fairly new.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 5simser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviewed October 16, 2009

We traveled to Maine and New Hampshire for a fall foliage trip and stayed at the Harraseeket Inn. It was a wonderful stay. Great food, the afternoon tea is a meal in itself. Close to proximity to shops and fun. I would recommend this.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annabelle60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 8, 2009

We travel to Maine from Michigan for a few weeks each summer. We always stop in Freeport on our way to Boothbay Harbor and beyond. The Harraseekett Inn has always been a place we've wanted to stay but felt it might be too "stuffy" for the kids. We were wrong! It was PERFECT for all of us. They accomodated us with a cot so our teens could have their space. The breakfast buffet was beyond wonderful and there were plenty of options for our vegetarian family. The kids enjoyed the pool and fitness room as well as the convienience of walking to all the shops. It was a great stay and we can't wait to go back in Summer 2010.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jlhasullivan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, Delaware
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2009

My wife and I stayed here one night on our New England Tour. We had a very pleasant stay. The Harraseeket has that quaint, historical look that all good inns should have, but rather than being isolated out in the country, it's located on a quiet, beautiful lot on the upper end of Main St. within easy walking to downtown shops. The room was nicely decorated, bright, and attractive. Don't miss the afternoon tea.....a delicious spread and a well done affair. Dinner at the Broad Arrow Tavern was very good and the breakfast buffet was great! It would have been a shame to visit Freeport without staying here.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DERetired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2009

We have been guests at the Harraseeket Inn several times over the past 8 years and it never disappoints us. All staff from Richard at the front door, everyone at the reception desk to Chip Gray the innkeeper are so friendly and helpful in every way. We have stayed in single rooms, suites and a town house. They are all very comfortable and nicely furnished. The beds are so comfortable and luxurious with sateen sheets and nice soft pillows. Dinners in the Maine Dining Room are elegant with many choices prepared tableside and some flaming for drama. The Broad Arrow Tavern offers wonderful meals and some of the freshest lobster we ever had. We also enjoy the complimentary afternoon tea in the drawing room. A wonderful buffet breakfast is included and offers many choices. The location is close to shopping with L.L.Bean just
a five minute walk away and there are many more outlets and rstaurants to visit. Ben &
Jerry's for ice cream is a favorite.
Chip Gray was so kind and helpful when we had an auto problem that could have been a real disaster so far from home. Try this lovely inn and you will want to return each year.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luvtravel76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Freeport
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown
1.9 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#9 of 11 in Freeport
307 reviews
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.2 mi away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#4 of 19 in Portland
1,367 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Freeport/Brunswick
4.1 mi away
Best Western Freeport Inn
Best Western Freeport Inn
#8 of 11 in Freeport
421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harraseeket Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harraseeket Inn

Property: Harraseeket Inn
Address: 162 Main St, Freeport, ME 04032
Location: United States > Maine > Freeport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Freeport
#1 Romantic Hotel in Freeport
#1 Family Hotel in Freeport
#3 Business Hotel in Freeport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Harraseeket Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inn in Freeport,Maine ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Harraseeket Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harraseeket Hotel Freeport
Harraseeket Inn Freeport, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing