We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and Elegant”
Review of Harraseeket Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Harraseeket Inn
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Freeport
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Laconia, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
85 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Beautiful and Elegant”
Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

Lovely inn with very nice rooms...fireplace in room burns real wood. Comfortable bed, lovely bath. Quiet. The public rooms and restaurant were very nice also. Top shelf! Staff very attentive and friendly.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jocdocnh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penny G, Owner at Harraseeket Inn, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
We're so glad you enjoyed your stay with us! Thank you from all of at the Harraseeket Inn!
Best regards,
Penny Gray
The Gray family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

925 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    670
    166
    58
    18
    13
See reviews for
206
477
24
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

To Jean Marie...I want to take a moment to point out how excellent your entire staff was for the Mealey wedding yesterday! I have one person in particular that I would like to acknowledge that worked our table and that is Andre. What a wonderful personality and very professional young man he is! I also am in the hospitality business in the Cumberland County area and this is key to any service industry. Thank you for all you do!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Beverley V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penny G, Owner at Harraseeket Inn, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
On behalf of Jean Marie, Andre and our entire sales and banquet staff, thank you for your kind words! We're so very blessed to have such excellent and attentive employees who put their heart and soul into making every event a special one...especially weddings!
Best regards,
Penny Gray
The Gray family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Letchworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013

What a fabulous place to stay. Very friendly staff, nothing was too much bother. We were upgraded to a deluxe room on arrival . It was a super room , large and bright. With a spa bath.The bed was the most comfortable bed we have had in any hotel that we have stayed in (many, in many countries). The bed linen was high quality. Breakfast was great and efficient . Food was of high quality and plentiful. Very comfortable lounge where afternoon tea was served, home made cookies and sandwiches and hot tea ( very welcome) . Made very cosy with a fire glowing. All in all a very pleasing experience .

Room Tip: Have a deluxe room - spa bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Veronica W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penny G, Owner at Harraseeket Inn, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
We're so glad you enjoyed your stay with us! Thank you for a wonderful review and we hope to see you again soon!
Best regards,
Penny Gray
The Gray family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
328 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

This was our 3rd time at the Harraseeket Inn and we were not disappointed. We took our 4 children with us this time and the hotel were very accommodating with the room. We had originally booked a double double room and one child is a boy the hotel put an extra bed in the room for us. Very friendly staff - couldn't do enough to help you. The breakfast was very good.
Only a short walk to LL Bean open 24 hours a day 365 days a year!!! There are loads of other outlet shops along the main street.
All in all a fantastic stay and we will be going back ;)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wishinguwerehere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penny G, Owner at Harraseeket Inn, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Thank you! We're glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again!
Best regards,
Penny Gray
The Gray family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brick, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Stopped by on way to visit family. Very nice staff, great firepit out side and fireplace inside. The food is simply....phenomenal. All in walking distance to shops. The staff is most helpful and accommodating.

Room Tip: After dinner enjoy the outdoor firepit. Then continue with another fire in room...it's all set...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penny G, Owner at Harraseeket Inn, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Thank you for your review! We're very fortunate to have wonderful chefs and great local farmers and fishermen who work together to provide our guests with such phenomenal food. Our fire pit is very popular, a fun place to gather to share stories and make new friends. We hope to see you again soon!
Best regards,
Penny Gray
The Gray family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013

My husband and I were in Maine for a wedding and needed a place to stay in the Freeport area. Booking last minute limited our affordable options, so the >$200 price tag was not unexpected. I was very pleased with the friendliness of the staff and the cleanliness of the Inn. It is located within walking distance to the shops in Freeport, which contributed to its sense of charm. The lobby and Maine (!) Dining Room were quaint, as expected. The included breakfast buffet had great food and plenty of options, although the staff seemed unnecessarily rushed on Sunday morning. The room was clean and quiet, but probably not what I would've expected considering the price. Its main selling point was a jacuzzi for 2, which was nice, but basically placed in an otherwise generic hotel room.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LthePoet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penny G, Owner at Harraseeket Inn, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Thank you for your review! We apologize for your Sunday morning experience in our Maine Dining Room. The turnover time on Sundays is sometimes difficult due to our Lobster Sunday Brunch, which kicks off directly after breakfast at 11:45. We try hard not to appear rushed but at times we obviously fail, and Sundays, of all days, should be leisurely! We are renovating more guest rooms this winter and hope that the next time you stay, you'll notice the special touches!
Best regards,
Penny Gray
The Gray family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
436 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Stayed at the Harraseeket Inn on September 12th. A great location right next to the Freeport shopping area. The room was extra large with a wood burning fireplace and very large bathroom. The only down side was the facility is slightly dated and old fashion. We ate in the tavern in the hotel, the Broad Arrow Tavern, and the food was wonderful. My wife had the NY strip steak special and I had the duck. Delicious. The room rate included a breakfast buffet which was very good.

Room Tip: We used the last minute web special and were very pleased.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JEM02882
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penny G, Owner at Harraseeket Inn, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Thank you for posting your review. Your guest room was located in the wing built in the 1800's, and that room does have an old fashioned feel with its antique furnishings. We have guests who love those rooms but others are more comfortable in the newer and more contemporary rooms in the main building or South Wing. Not all of our rooms have wood burning fireplaces but there are enough different room types that we hope we can find you the perfect room the next time you stay with us. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon!
Best regards,
Penny Gray
The Gray family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Freeport
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown
1.9 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#9 of 11 in Freeport
300 reviews
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.2 mi away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#4 of 19 in Portland
1,336 reviews
4.1 mi away
Best Western Freeport Inn
Best Western Freeport Inn
#7 of 11 in Freeport
414 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Freeport/Brunswick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harraseeket Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harraseeket Inn

Property: Harraseeket Inn
Address: 162 Main St, Freeport, ME 04032
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Freeport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Freeport
#1 Family Hotel in Freeport
#1 Romantic Hotel in Freeport
#3 Business Hotel in Freeport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Harraseeket Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inn in Freeport,Maine ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Harraseeket Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harraseeket Hotel Freeport
Harraseeket Inn Freeport, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing