We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Harraseeket Inn
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
$75
$64
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$139
GardenInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hampton Inn Freeport/Brunswick(Freeport)(Great Value!)
$120
$109
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$136
$127
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$62
$59
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Suites(Freeport)(Great Value!)
$76
QualityInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$60
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casco Bay Inn(Freeport)(Great Value!)
$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Reviews (1,009)
Filter reviews
1,009 results
Traveler rating
729
182
64
19
15
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
729
182
64
19
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsafternoon teabroad arrow tavernmaine dining roomthe main dining roomturn down servicecarriage housedrawing roombreakfast buffetll beanprime ribfire pitlobsternew englandjacuzzi tubthe entire staffindoor pooloatmeal
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
648 - 653 of 1,009 reviews
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Stopped by on way to visit family. Very nice staff, great firepit out side and fireplace inside. The food is simply....phenomenal. All in walking distance to shops. The staff is most helpful and accommodating.

Room Tip: After dinner enjoy the outdoor firepit. Then continue with another fire in room...it's all set to go...all you need to do is light the match.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penny G, Owner at Harraseeket Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2013

Thank you for your review! We're very fortunate to have wonderful chefs and great local farmers and fishermen who work together to provide our guests with such phenomenal food. Our fire pit is very popular, a fun place to gather to share stories and make new friends. We hope to see you again soon!
Best regards,
Penny Gray
The Gray family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

My husband and I were in Maine for a wedding and needed a place to stay in the Freeport area. Booking last minute limited our affordable options, so the >$200 price tag was not unexpected. I was very pleased with the friendliness of the staff and the cleanliness of the Inn. It is located within walking distance to the shops in Freeport, which contributed to its sense of charm. The lobby and Maine (!) Dining Room were quaint, as expected. The included breakfast buffet had great food and plenty of options, although the staff seemed unnecessarily rushed on Sunday morning. The room was clean and quiet, but probably not what I would've expected considering the price. Its main selling point was a jacuzzi for 2, which was nice, but basically placed in an otherwise generic hotel room.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LthePoet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penny G, Owner at Harraseeket Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2013

Thank you for your review! We apologize for your Sunday morning experience in our Maine Dining Room. The turnover time on Sundays is sometimes difficult due to our Lobster Sunday Brunch, which kicks off directly after breakfast at 11:45. We try hard not to appear rushed but at times we obviously fail, and Sundays, of all days, should be leisurely! We are renovating more guest rooms this winter and hope that the next time you stay, you'll notice the special touches!
Best regards,
Penny Gray
The Gray family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Stayed at the Harraseeket Inn on September 12th. A great location right next to the Freeport shopping area. The room was extra large with a wood burning fireplace and very large bathroom. The only down side was the facility is slightly dated and old fashion. We ate in the tavern in the hotel, the Broad Arrow Tavern, and the food was wonderful. My wife had the NY strip steak special and I had the duck. Delicious. The room rate included a breakfast buffet which was very good.

Room Tip: We used the last minute web special and were very pleased.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JEM02882
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penny G, Owner at Harraseeket Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2013

Thank you for posting your review. Your guest room was located in the wing built in the 1800's, and that room does have an old fashioned feel with its antique furnishings. We have guests who love those rooms but others are more comfortable in the newer and more contemporary rooms in the main building or South Wing. Not all of our rooms have wood burning fireplaces but there are enough different room types that we hope we can find you the perfect room the next time you stay with us. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon!
Best regards,
Penny Gray
The Gray family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

The facility was good. Room was comfortable and clean. Breakfast was boring and basic and the staff never offered us juice and we felt like it was a big deal for them to even get us coffee and sugar free syrup. For the money not sure it was worth it. The worst was my brother in law came by at 6:30 am on the morning we were due to leave (9/7) with a disc that he wanted us to get. The woman at the desk indicated that we had prepaid and she didn't know if we would stop at the desk on our way out. My brother in law asked of she could slip it under our door...she rudely said they don't do anything like ..like it was a big deal for her to have someone go up one flight of stairs to deliver. Very disappointed.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cathy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penny G, Owner at Harraseeket Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. Your comments will definitely be discussed with both the dining room wait staff and our front desk. Our employees are known for going the extra mile to be sure each and every guest experience is the very best it can be. Obviously we failed you on two counts, and for that we apologize profusely. We hope you'll give us another try in the future and that your next stay will be flawless!
Best regards,
Penny Gray
The Gray family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We spent one night and were very much were impressed with: Fabulous location near all the shopping you can imagine, wonderful afternoon Tea complete with fabulous scones and finger sandwiches and a huge urn of perfectly brewed Tea (other than the old Ritz in Boston, I don't believe Tea has been brewed this well since prior to the revolution), The breakfast buffet was excellent, though crowded, and our dinner was very special. We stayed in room 211. It is along a long corridor and there is traffic (people) along this hallway. I can tell you we could hear details of conversations as people walked by. My husband stated that he wouldn't want to have his honeymoon here because he thought privacy would be an issue. The bathroom was very nice, particularly the shower and large tub. The room was decently decorated. Now, our sleep was disturbed at 5:30 by the kitchen staff pushing heavy items around. Despite appearances this Inn was built in the 1980's and that is problematic. Ceilings are often very unattractive acoustic "tiles" like one would expect in an office- not in an inn bedroom. For the price we paid, and this was a prepaid room with costs considerably NORTH of $200, this bedroom was inadequate. There was a wedding going on this weekend and I suspect the better rooms went to the wedding guests so that even though we paid near top dollar, we were shoved into a room that is probably a third tier room. This was meant to be a romantic weekend- given my husbands concern about privacy.... Well, you can read between the lines ( or sheets). Speaking of sheets, the beds were excellent. Will we return? probably not. New England has plenty of competition for this Inn. The one area that this inn may be a good bet: small business conference or professional conference - they have the rooms and the food service is very good.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank ShelleyinBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penny G, Owner at Harraseeket Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2013

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us. Our inn was built in stages, beginning with our Carriage House in the 1700's. The Broad Arrow Tavern as well as several guest rooms are housed in a wing built in the 1800's. The main building was built in the 1980's, the South Wing in the '90's, but it's difficult to avoid the dropped ceilings, given the myriad of plumbing and wiring and heat pump units that must be sandwiched between the floors. We're currently in the process of upgrading to architectural tiles, which look very handsome in our Maine Harvest Dining Room, and hope to include the guest rooms as well as all our public areas in these renovations. We have many different room types and room locations, and try our best to honor guest requests for certain rooms in order to enhance their stay. We apologize for any noise issues you may have encountered and appreciate your feedback. We take all guest comments very seriously and try very hard to remediate the problems if we possibly can.
Best regards,
Penny Gray
The Gray family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews