We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another fantastic stay...”
Review of Harraseeket Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Harraseeket Inn
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Freeport
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Level 6 Contributor
328 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
“Another fantastic stay...”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

This was our 3rd time at the Harraseeket Inn and we were not disappointed. We took our 4 children with us this time and the hotel were very accommodating with the room. We had originally booked a double double room and one child is a boy the hotel put an extra bed in the room for us. Very friendly staff - couldn't do enough to help you. The breakfast was very good.
Only a short walk to LL Bean open 24 hours a day 365 days a year!!! There are loads of other outlet shops along the main street.
All in all a fantastic stay and we will be going back ;)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wishinguwerehere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penny G, Owner at Harraseeket Inn, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Thank you! We're glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again!
Best regards,
Penny Gray
The Gray family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

949 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    687
    171
    58
    18
    15
See reviews for
217
487
25
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brick, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Stopped by on way to visit family. Very nice staff, great firepit out side and fireplace inside. The food is simply....phenomenal. All in walking distance to shops. The staff is most helpful and accommodating.

Room Tip: After dinner enjoy the outdoor firepit. Then continue with another fire in room...it's all set...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penny G, Owner at Harraseeket Inn, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Thank you for your review! We're very fortunate to have wonderful chefs and great local farmers and fishermen who work together to provide our guests with such phenomenal food. Our fire pit is very popular, a fun place to gather to share stories and make new friends. We hope to see you again soon!
Best regards,
Penny Gray
The Gray family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013

My husband and I were in Maine for a wedding and needed a place to stay in the Freeport area. Booking last minute limited our affordable options, so the >$200 price tag was not unexpected. I was very pleased with the friendliness of the staff and the cleanliness of the Inn. It is located within walking distance to the shops in Freeport, which contributed to its sense of charm. The lobby and Maine (!) Dining Room were quaint, as expected. The included breakfast buffet had great food and plenty of options, although the staff seemed unnecessarily rushed on Sunday morning. The room was clean and quiet, but probably not what I would've expected considering the price. Its main selling point was a jacuzzi for 2, which was nice, but basically placed in an otherwise generic hotel room.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LthePoet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penny G, Owner at Harraseeket Inn, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Thank you for your review! We apologize for your Sunday morning experience in our Maine Dining Room. The turnover time on Sundays is sometimes difficult due to our Lobster Sunday Brunch, which kicks off directly after breakfast at 11:45. We try hard not to appear rushed but at times we obviously fail, and Sundays, of all days, should be leisurely! We are renovating more guest rooms this winter and hope that the next time you stay, you'll notice the special touches!
Best regards,
Penny Gray
The Gray family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
441 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Stayed at the Harraseeket Inn on September 12th. A great location right next to the Freeport shopping area. The room was extra large with a wood burning fireplace and very large bathroom. The only down side was the facility is slightly dated and old fashion. We ate in the tavern in the hotel, the Broad Arrow Tavern, and the food was wonderful. My wife had the NY strip steak special and I had the duck. Delicious. The room rate included a breakfast buffet which was very good.

Room Tip: We used the last minute web special and were very pleased.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JEM02882
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penny G, Owner at Harraseeket Inn, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Thank you for posting your review. Your guest room was located in the wing built in the 1800's, and that room does have an old fashioned feel with its antique furnishings. We have guests who love those rooms but others are more comfortable in the newer and more contemporary rooms in the main building or South Wing. Not all of our rooms have wood burning fireplaces but there are enough different room types that we hope we can find you the perfect room the next time you stay with us. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon!
Best regards,
Penny Gray
The Gray family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

The facility was good. Room was comfortable and clean. Breakfast was boring and basic and the staff never offered us juice and we felt like it was a big deal for them to even get us coffee and sugar free syrup. For the money not sure it was worth it. The worst was my brother in law came by at 6:30 am on the morning we were due to leave (9/7) with a disc that he wanted us to get. The woman at the desk indicated that we had prepaid and she didn't know if we would stop at the desk on our way out. My brother in law asked of she could slip it under our door...she rudely said they don't do anything like ..like it was a big deal for her to have someone go up one flight of stairs to deliver. Very disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penny G, Owner at Harraseeket Inn, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. Your comments will definitely be discussed with both the dining room wait staff and our front desk. Our employees are known for going the extra mile to be sure each and every guest experience is the very best it can be. Obviously we failed you on two counts, and for that we apologize profusely. We hope you'll give us another try in the future and that your next stay will be flawless!
Best regards,
Penny Gray
The Gray family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

We spent one night and were very much were impressed with: Fabulous location near all the shopping you can imagine, wonderful afternoon Tea complete with fabulous scones and finger sandwiches and a huge urn of perfectly brewed Tea (other than the old Ritz in Boston, I don't believe Tea has been brewed this well since prior to the revolution), The breakfast buffet was excellent, though crowded, and our dinner was very special. We stayed in room 211. It is along a long corridor and there is traffic (people) along this hallway. I can tell you we could hear details of conversations as people walked by. My husband stated that he wouldn't want to have his honeymoon here because he thought privacy would be an issue. The bathroom was very nice, particularly the shower and large tub. The room was decently decorated. Now, our sleep was disturbed at 5:30 by the kitchen staff pushing heavy items around. Despite appearances this Inn was built in the 1980's and that is problematic. Ceilings are often very unattractive acoustic "tiles" like one would expect in an office- not in an inn bedroom. For the price we paid, and this was a prepaid room with costs considerably NORTH of $200, this bedroom was inadequate. There was a wedding going on this weekend and I suspect the better rooms went to the wedding guests so that even though we paid near top dollar, we were shoved into a room that is probably a third tier room. This was meant to be a romantic weekend- given my husbands concern about privacy.... Well, you can read between the lines ( or sheets). Speaking of sheets, the beds were excellent. Will we return? probably not. New England has plenty of competition for this Inn. The one area that this inn may be a good bet: small business conference or professional conference - they have the rooms and the food service is very good.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ShelleyinBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penny G, Owner at Harraseeket Inn, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us. Our inn was built in stages, beginning with our Carriage House in the 1700's. The Broad Arrow Tavern as well as several guest rooms are housed in a wing built in the 1800's. The main building was built in the 1980's, the South Wing in the '90's, but it's difficult to avoid the dropped ceilings, given the myriad of plumbing and wiring and heat pump units that must be sandwiched between the floors. We're currently in the process of upgrading to architectural tiles, which look very handsome in our Maine Harvest Dining Room, and hope to include the guest rooms as well as all our public areas in these renovations. We have many different room types and room locations, and try our best to honor guest requests for certain rooms in order to enhance their stay. We apologize for any noise issues you may have encountered and appreciate your feedback. We take all guest comments very seriously and try very hard to remediate the problems if we possibly can.
Best regards,
Penny Gray
The Gray family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nova Scotia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

My husband and I recently took a little getaway from our home in Nova Scotia to Maine. We made a reservation for one night at the Harraseeket Inn and the other night elsewhere in Maine. We booked solely from the reviews on Tripadvisor.
We are seasoned travelers having taken many trips across Canada, the U.S. and Europe. Often people rave about a place but don't have anything to compare it with. This is not the case with us.
From the moment we arrived at the Inn until we checked out, we would describe our experience as exceptional! Before dinner that evening, we knew we wanted to spend our second night there as well and so we did.
- Building: Delightful! It has a large welcoming foyer with a grand sitting room.
- Tea:The afternoon tea was quite surprising with a large array of sweets, fruit and cheese. Amazing scones!
- Room: Our room was spotless. The bed was super comfortable and the linens were of top quality.
- Staff: Unfortunately, I became ill due to a migraine and ended up spending most of an evening until mid afternoon the next day in bed. I didn't go to breakfast with my husband and a staff member asked if I would be joining him since she had seen us together when we checked in. She couldn't have been more considerate in asking how she could help. She even offered to make up a tray of food for me and a front desk clerk said, "We will do whatever we can to make your wife comfortable." We experienced all staff members to be friendly and helpful.
- Food: We had lunch in the pub and the service was excellent; prompt and courteous. They make their own breads, pastries, granola, yogurt and ice cream. Impressive! As for the buffet breakfast, we would return for that alone. The variety of food both hot and cold was abundant. it was the best breakfast we've ever had at any Inn, B&B or Hotel. The food rates 5 stars at this Inn!
- Overall experience: We would compare it to a winter's day where you would curl up with a comfy blanket and a good book in front of the fireplace. The Inn has that same sense of coziness and comfort.
We have always loved Maine and after discovering the Harraseeket Inn, we decided we will make it a yearly get away. Thank you to everyone at the Inn for making our stay so memorable!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MargoandDonald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penny G, Owner at Harraseeket Inn, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Wow! Thank you for posting such a wonderful review. Our wonderful staff is all smiles! We're so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again soon!
Best regards,
Penny Gray
The Gray family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Freeport
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown
1.9 mi away
Quality Suites
Quality Suites
#9 of 11 in Freeport
314 reviews
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.1 mi away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#4 of 20 in Portland
1,394 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Freeport/Brunswick
4.1 mi away
Best Western Freeport Inn
Best Western Freeport Inn
#8 of 11 in Freeport
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harraseeket Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harraseeket Inn

Property: Harraseeket Inn
Address: 162 Main St, Freeport, ME 04032
Location: United States > Maine > Freeport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Freeport
#1 Romantic Hotel in Freeport
#1 Family Hotel in Freeport
#3 Business Hotel in Freeport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Harraseeket Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inn in Freeport,Maine ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your Harraseeket Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harraseeket Hotel Freeport
Harraseeket Inn Freeport, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing