We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best venue for meaningful business meetings”
Review of Harraseeket Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Harraseeket Inn
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Freeport
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed March 3, 2013

I just returned from our third annual business training weekend in this location and I have nothing but good things to say. The staff is beyond helpful (and consistent, see the same faces every year). The meeting space is beautifully appointed, clean, private, light-filled. The accommodations lovely. But the food.... The FOOD! Locally sourced, organic, numerous options for every dietary consideration (gluten-free, non-dairy, vegan, non-sugar, you name it) and absolutely scrumptious. Despite Freeport's various restaurant options, there is no need to leave the inn, you don't wish to dine elsewhere!

The Haraseeket Inn practices conscious business, and it is a delight to conduct our business in such a cared-for environment.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MaddyV1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nadianichols, owner at Harraseeket Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2013

Thank you! We're glad your business meeting went well and you enjoyed your stay with us. Our gluten free and sugar free menu options are very popular with diners, and many business meeting planners take advantage of the LLBean Outdoor Discovery Schools to add team building as well as some fun outdoor activities, year round. We hope to see your group again, what a fun and lively gathering you had!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (994)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

697 - 703 of 994 reviews

Reviewed March 3, 2013

I spent the weekend at this hotel while attending a training. I was amazed by the quality of the food. It will blow you away! They use all local farmers and organic. They even make cake with stevia which taste amazing and low calorie! It doesn't get better then that. The rooms are classy and the staff are so friendly. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hayleejo19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nadianichols, owner at Harraseeket Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013

Thank you! The teamwork between our local farmers and fishermen, who provide us with the freshest and finest ingredients, and our talented chefs, who create such fabulous fare for our guests with the bounty of Maine, is really very special. We're so glad you enjoyed your stay, and your food!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

I have stayed numerous times at the Harraseeket Inn. I hadn't been back for a while and I just stayed there this past weekend. It is still the same place I love. The breakfast is excellent and the granola is to die for! The staff is very welcoming and always extremely helpful and friendly. I just love being there. It is very close to the outlets and the city of Portland. They have a small indoor pool and it is so nice to take a swim and look out at the snow falling outside. The restaurant there has a great selection and delicious food! I can't say enough about this wonderful escape in Maine!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MamaHannahStevie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nadianichols, Owner at Harraseeket Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2013

Wow. Thank you from all of us here at the Harraseeket Inn. You just made our day!
Best regards,
Penny Gray
The Gray family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

My GF and I stayed there as a late Valentines Day present to each other. We stayed there two years before and enjoyed ourselves, and the second time around didn’t disappoint. We came a little before you could check in, but our room was ready so they let us in.

Our room was small, near the end of the hallway and the farther we walked the less I was excited. When you check in there is plenty of art and awards on the walls not to mention the cozy fireplaces, as we walked down our hallway the art got less and less. Our walk to our room slowly stopped feeling like this amazing inn and felt more like a hotel; that was until I got into our room. Our room was small, and the king sized bed filled it. The desk was small but useable, the old tv with scratchy sound and picture lay hidden in a small closed entertainment center. The biggest perk was the fireplace. Most places I have stayed at have a gas or fake fireplace, it creates a mood that is pleasant but lacks the quality of the sounds and smells of a real fireplace. The Harraseeket’s fireplace came well stocked with wood, no longer did I have the cheapened experience. We had a roaring fire in about 30 seconds, as they prebuild the fireplace in anticipation of our arrival. I build another that night, and if we had stayed another night I would have needed more wood.

Later in the afternoon we went to tea, something that I think more places should offer. Tea at the Harraseeket was the icing on the cake of our stay. They serve hot tea, with fruit, cheese, and other pastries. Everything was fresh, the tea was hot and seemed like the moment the container might run out someone was already there with a new one, the fruit was wonderful and the pastries oh the pastries. I am a guy that loves his sweets, and the Harraseeket didn’t fall short of wonderful with their pastries. My girlfriend and I were able to sit by the fireplace and enjoy tea with another couple. Tea was more then a chance for refreshment, it was an oppturtunity to have that small bed and breakfast feel of chatting with new people. If you don’t want to chat with new people there were plenty of other places once could sit so that others wouldn’t not be able to join you. If you go to the Harraseeket do not miss out on tea.

The GF and I did go to the tavern for our supper, and the food was wonderful. We sat near the open kitchen area and was a little loud, but having eaten there before I do know that if you sit away from the open kitchen you can have a very quiet meal. The food there is well done, a smidge pricey, but the staff works hard for every penny. One could also eat in the Maine Dinning room, a bit more cash and dress code there. The food there is just as great in a more formal setting. Both are worth checking out if you stay there.
We both a wonderful nights sleep in the most comfortable set of sheets. The bed was great, our only complaint was that the pillows were a bit flat. If that was my only complaint about the bed then we are doing well.
The next morning our room came with breakfast in the Maine Dinning room. Most places if they offer a free breakfast, provide cereal, coffee, toast, and if your lucky a waffle. The Harraseeket did way more then that. They had fresh fruit, yogurt, granola, gluten free pancakes(they were amazing), eggs, toast, banana bread, bacon, hot organic oatmeal, potatoes, and a bit of homemade bread with in house made hash hollandaise sauce and en egg on top. A waiter brought coffee, juice and water to the table, while everything else was served in a buffet style. This meal was scrumptious.

Room Tip: Get the fireplace!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alex S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nadianichols, Owner at Harraseeket Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2013

Thank you so much for sharing your experiences on Trip Advisor. Without your feedback we wouldn't realize how barren our hallways are, but you can be sure we're going to be looking at them with a fresh eye, thanks to your observations. We'll work on making them more appealing. We'll also scrutinize our pillow situation. We try to put a variety of pillows in each room, both on the bed and in the closet, so that all of our guests can choose the pillow "plumpness" they prefer. We're so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again!
Best regards,
Penny Gray
The Gray family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

When we stay at a hotel or inn we have three basic requirements.

1) That the facility is clean and functional and facilitates a good night’s sleep.
2) That there are food and beverage options or in other words, a good restaurant and bar.
3) Attitude. Do the owners and staff welcome you and let you know that they appreciate your business? Do they encourage you to come back?

After a two night stay it is our conclusion that the Harraseeket Inn surpassed all three requirements and in a major way. What we found surprising is the Harraseeket fills the role of a charming New England inn but also as a fully functional hotel with all the amenities including an exercise room and inn door pool. We also found the place to be more elegant than what we had expected. It’s an interesting muti - level complex of both old and historical as well as new.
There are two restaurants. The Maine Dining Room and the Broad Arrow Tavern. We decided to have dinner in the Tavern on both nights. We plan to try the Main Dining Room on our next visit. The food and service we found to be excellent. It can be a bit pricey but to be fair we had several cocktails, two different appetizers and the main course. Given the quality of the food and service we thought the price was worth it.

A breakfast buffet is provided as part of the room fee. This is a very good value if you are staying at the inn. Many selections and very well prepared.

Our room was clean and comfortable. The beds have canopies and we had two large wing backed chairs that helped give the room that New England Inn charm.

In conclusion, we have stayed at many hotels and Inns over the last few years so we consider ourselves to be experienced travelers. In our opinion the people who own and run this place definitely know what they are doing.

All in all we had a great time and plan to go back.

Room Tip: Check to see if there is any weddings or parties planned during your stay. If so, ask that you don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RPeterMassachusetts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nadianichols, Owner at Harraseeket Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

Thank you! We try very hard to make every guest's visit very special, and we're fortunate to have the most wonderful staff in the world. They're like family to us, and you just made them, as well as ourselves, very happy with your great review. We hope to see you again!
Best regards,
Penny Gray
The Gray family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2013

This is a great property. Main building, carriage house and townhouses set on nice big are. Centrally located to everything in Freeport. Wonderful idea - guest with animals are accommodated in carriage house or townhouses. Pets are welcomed with welcome kit( bowls for food and water, bed, can of food and bag of treats). How lovely. The hotel is old but very well maintained. Everybody who work in this hotel is a extremely nice and try to help you in everything that you can imagine. The housekeepers are a very good. The room was always very clean( we travel with small dog). Breakfast is included in price of the room and worth every penny. Breakfast is good, everything is fresh, big selection and a lot. Brilliant idea, breakfast for early birds and afternoon tea in living room of lobby. Sunday brunch has passed all of our expectations. Unlimited lobster - amazing.Very nice indoor pool with lift for for disabled. Restaurant(Broad Arrow Tavern) in the hotel is OK to. The only downside to our stay was that the main dining room was under renovation.Nice outdoor Fire Pit. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: If you looking for quiet time the town house is nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KrysiaK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nadianichols, Owner at Harraseeket Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2013

Thank you for posting such a nice review, along with some wonderful pictures! We're glad you enjoyed your stay. We had to close the Maine Dining Room for two weeks for some BIG renovations that were long overdue, but we're up and running again and the dining room is beautiful. We hope you can enjoy it on a future stay!
Penny Gray
The Gray family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

We had a wonderful pre-Christmas Trip to the Inn. It was our second stay here and once the children say the Inn, they didn't want to leave. The room was perfect, clean, room service, catered well to the kids wants - ages 9, 12, 16 - can be demanding! Breakfast was great and the Lunch Buffet in the Broad Arrow Tavern has endless choices to eat. We ended by eating at the Broad Arrow for suppers as well. Of course the shops are all within walking distance so my husband or I and the children walked in many directions several times, day and night. We have already book an April stay and can't wait. Thank you for the memories!!!

Room Tip: The room with the two double beds and couch sleeps 5 comfortably. We chose an Inn Room which was gre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 550DianeB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nadianichols, Owner at Harraseeket Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2013

Thank you for a great review and we look forward to seeing you in April!
Penny Gray
The Gray family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Freeport
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Freeport/Brunswick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Quality Suites
Quality Suites
#9 of 11 in Freeport
333 reviews
4.2 mi away
Best Western Freeport Inn
Best Western Freeport Inn
#8 of 11 in Freeport
475 reviews
16.1 mi away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#5 of 20 in Portland
1,525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harraseeket Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harraseeket Inn

Address: 162 Main St, Freeport, ME 04032
Location: United States > Maine > Freeport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Freeport
#1 Family Hotel in Freeport
#1 Green Hotel in Freeport
#3 Business Hotel in Freeport
Price Range: $173 - $285 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Harraseeket Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inn in Freeport,Maine ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Harraseeket Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harraseeket Hotel Freeport
Harraseeket Inn Freeport, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing