We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Harraseeket Inn
Nearby Hotels
Quality Suites(Freeport)(Great Value!)
$99
QualityInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hampton Inn Freeport/Brunswick(Freeport)(Great Value!)
$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$184
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$75
$70
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$68
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$56
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$124
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casco Bay Inn(Freeport)(Great Value!)
$115
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Reviews (1,021)
Filter reviews
1,021 results
Traveler rating
740
183
64
19
15
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
740
183
64
19
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsafternoon teabroad arrow tavernmaine dining roomthe main dining roomturn down servicecarriage housedrawing roombreakfast buffetll beanprime ribfire pitlobsternew englandjacuzzi tubthe entire staffindoor pooloatmeal
Filter
Updating list...
764 - 769 of 1,021 reviews
Reviewed October 17, 2012

We've always been charmed by the Harraseeket Inn's appearance -- the white columns, gardens, huge pumpkins in Fall and flowers in Summer. We've walked through the lobby many times on our way to the Broad Arrow Tavern, taking a break from nearby outlet shopping, but we finally got to stay at the Inn on our latest trip to Maine. It was all that we expected.
We took one of the smaller rooms (with smaller prices) with an eaved ceiling & it was great - clean, comfortable, quiet. We had a large bath w/ nice shower and bathrobes. The staff was warm and friendly and people seemed to be enjoying themselves -- sitting on the patio around the fire pit, in the comfortable lounge, at the (very large) indoor pool. If you want an old inn, but also want modern plumbing, comfort and quiet this should do.
A generous breakfast is included in your stay as well as 'tea' - fruit, pastries, snacks, etc. in the afternoon. On this same trip we spent one night at the nearby Hilton Garden Inn and found the Harraseeket Inn to be a much better value and definitely a superior property. And the Harraseeket is just such a special part of Freeport.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MichiganCookies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nadianichols, Owner at Harraseeket Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2012

Wow. Thank you from all of us at the Harraseeket Inn! We're so glad you enjoyed your stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

I am a regular contributor to tripadvisor and rarely give the full five star support however on this occasion the hotel and its staff are truly exceptional and deserve the accolade. My wife and I just spent three days at the inn and thought the service was wonderful. The reception was helpful without being intrusive and the hotel restaurants were first class. The Sunday buffet is fresh and generous. Interestingly, we ate every evening at the hotel and sat with locals who keep returning to the areas best kitchen. I have no hesitation in offering my recommendation. Go and enjoy!

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank LondonPilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nadianichols, Owner at Harraseeket Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2012

Your recommendation made our day. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

My wife and I stayed here as part of a fly drive tour of New England. We were disappointed to have been placed in the annexe next to the building so did not feel part of the Inn experience. It had no lifts so cases had to be carried up - whilst not a long way it would be struggle for those not able to lift and carry a case. The hotel itself was good with a roaring fire in the main reception and the restuarant was busy and the good food was well served. Reception staff were very helpful and welcoming. On the second night we ate in the Tavern and it was (for us) much more comfortable and less formal. The room was modern, clean and the bed was comfortable. We would not stop over in Freeport again as it is really only a town with outlet shops which did not interest us.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve-Marilyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nadianichols, Owner at Harraseeket Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share your lodging and dining experience. We're very sorry the bellman didn't assist you with your bags and we will check into that situation. Guests staying in our Carriage House don't have the advantage of the elevators in the main building and a bellman should have been at your service to handle your luggage. The Carriage House is actually one of the oldest portions of the inn, built in the 1700's and originally used as a way station for the stage that ran between Portland and Brunswick. Deborah Rose Dillingham fed the passengers whlie her husband (the village blacksmith) tended the teams. While many come to Freeport for its unparalleled shopping, this town also offers a wonderful variety of recreational persuits, thanks to its scenic location on the Maine coast. Wolfe's Neck Woods State Park has the most beautiful hiking trails along the rugged shoreline overlooking Casco Bay, Wolfe's Neck Farm is right next door, offering many seasonal activities in a spectacular coastal setting. Bradbury State Park is just a short distance from the inn (an incredible place to "hawk watch") and the Pettingill Farm, owned by the Freeport Historical Society, is a little known gem of a salt water farm on the tidal Harraseeket River that transports the visitor back in time a century or more. Antiquing is also a fun way to spend the day, and LLBean offers their Outdoor Discovery Schools and Walk-On Adventures for those who want to try their hand at kyaking, archery, skeet shooting, fly fishing and of course the winter persuits including cross country skiing and snowshoeing. Lots to do and see in Freeport, even for those who don't like to shop! We hope you enjoyed your time in New England!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

First off let me start by saying the establishment is fantastic in every way. The food is remarkable and my room was extraordinary! that being said, i had been going out for the evening when i overheard an employee using foul language toward another employee. This totally put me off as i thought this was a respectable place and i feel as though this may deter me from returning in the future. I don't need to hear these things when i am on vacation. Other than this incident, my stay was great.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank don t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nadianichols, Owner at Harraseeket Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2012

You have our sincere apologies. We would really like to hear more about this incident so that we can get an idea of where this took place. At no time should any employee be using foul language on the property. Ever. Please email further details to harraseeke@aol.com, attention Chip or Penny Gray, and thank you very much for bringing this to our attention!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

We love the ambiance of this old but updated inn. The location is wonderful (walk to shops and LLBean!)! The modern bathrooms are impressive. We especially enjoyed eating at the Tavern! Continental Breakfast included.

Room Tip: The rooms in the main house are convenient during bad weather.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ShellBoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nadianichols, Owner at Harraseeket Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2012

Thank you for your feedback and we're so glad you enjoyed your stay with us! To clarify for review readers: our room rates include afternoon tea and a full buffet breakfast which is served in the Maine Dining Room. The continental set out in the Drawing Room is for early risers who might want to enjoy a cup of coffee and pastry before the dining room opens at seven or while waiting to join friends or family for breakfast.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews