We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Harraseeket Inn
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
$75
$64
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$139
GardenInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hampton Inn Freeport/Brunswick(Freeport)(Great Value!)
$120
$109
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$136
$127
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$62
$59
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Suites(Freeport)(Great Value!)
$76
QualityInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$60
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casco Bay Inn(Freeport)(Great Value!)
$105
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Reviews (1,009)
Filter reviews
1,009 results
Traveler rating
729
182
64
19
15
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
729
182
64
19
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsafternoon teabroad arrow tavernmaine dining roomthe main dining roomturn down servicecarriage housedrawing roombreakfast buffetll beanprime ribfire pitlobsternew englandjacuzzi tubthe entire staffindoor pooloatmeal
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
763 - 768 of 1,009 reviews
Reviewed September 18, 2012

We are on our way to the airport after a 4 night stay at the Harraseeket (Sept 14-18) and cannot wait to come back! It's funny that someone who stayed at the same place at the same time had such an awful time they felt the need to write such a scathing review while we found everything to be wonderful. The location was perfect, not only for walking to the shops, but also for easy access to local highways for sightseeing. The staff were all so friendly and went out of their way to be helpful-like Debra and Penny who helped us plan out excursion to Mt Battie and also helped us separate our rental car keys :-) and Steve who kept track of us and asked how my sister was after her episode of seasickness! Several of the housekeeping staff offered suggestions on things to see and places to visit in addition to keeping our room immaculate. We especially enjoyed our evening spent around the firepit, and the willingness of the Broad Arrow staff to bring our drinks and pizza out to us. As far as a "fly infestation" goes-perhaps that person would be happiest in their own sanitary, no fly zone!! Thanks to Chip Gray for the friendly conversations and the great moose story! Again, we can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lynn1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Every time we visit, we talk about how much we love it here, and I had to respond after reading some recent reviews of this wonderful inn to help visitors to this site get a balanced perspective in order to make their decision. While I understand kenpj was not pleased, my 15 year history of staying at the Harraseeket Inn and my most recent stay from September 11-16, 2012 has been the polar opposite of what he describes. I started coming in 1998 and don't even consider staying anywhere else ... The Harraseeket Inn is our destination. We routinely see other people who return time and time again ... they love it here too! I'd hate for some of you to miss out on a great experience due to a "never again" review.
The inn and its grounds are lovely. No, the inn wasn't built in the last five years, nor is it a standard national hotel chain. There are a lot of those around, but only one Harraseeket Inn. The only other place that I have felt compelled to write a letter to the general manager or rave review about a glowingly positive experience with service and attention to detail is the JW Marriott in Chicago -- that is a hotel chain, but a top of the line site of a national hotel chain ... I have high standards and expectations and return to the Harraseeket year after year.
Each time I visit (now twice a year), I notice changes/touches ... some subtle, some big ... showing the Gray family and their fine staff are continuously improving this wonderful inn and paying attention to the details. One year it was an upgrade to the ever-so-comfy beds. Another year it was a bathroom make-over in the room my aunt and uncle always reserve. There was the installation of the thing that makes the inn's own biodiesel. More recently plasma tvs were added. Carpeting has been updated. A beautiful new bar was installed in the Maine Dining Room a few years ago. I've stayed in rooms on the second and third floors in both the original building and the newer wing and have never been disappointed. Rooms are always clean, the sheets soft, the bedspreads and towels white white, ice in the ice bucket just for me and not in a common ice machine, Wilburs of Maine chocolates with turndown service. My mother commented that you don't get that antiseptic cleaning solution smell when you enter rooms yet the rooms smell and feel "fresh and clean". Maybe that is because they use products that are safe and good for the environment -- and humans! (my highly allergic aunt appreciates that.) I get kind of grossed out with bedspreads at other hotels that often have busy designs to help hide stains .. ??? Not here at the Harraseeket ... I have no problem touching the snow white bedspreads here.
When talking value ... sure price is always a consideration. Here, I justify the price I pay quite easily. At the Harraseeket Inn, you get the convenient location; the comfortable rooms; the generous common areas where you can sit and chat, read a book, relax, people-watch; fresh local well-prepared food; a commitment to the environment; an indoor swimming pool; attention to detail; efficient staff; sumptuous breakfast; two elevators, fresh flowers; afternoon tea; FREE internet access; (I travel extensively for work and am always charged for internet access -- not here. If you don't have your computer, they have one you can use in the lobby), ample parking; handicap accessibility and attentiveness; pet-friendly accommodations, small exercise room; outdoor dining. Their staff is first class ... always attentive, helpful, and friendly -- and I'm not just talking about at the front desk. The breakfast included in the room rate is incredible and so far beyond any national hotel chain complimentary breakfast that you just can't compare. Tea includes tea and coffee, tea sandwiches, scones, cookies, fruit, cheese and crackers.
When I checked in last week, my room felt warm, and it didn't seem to cool off quickly when I lowered the thermostat. Things sometimes go wrong ... here or anywhere. I mentioned something to Clayton at the front desk, and when I returned to my room 1/2 hour later, it was refreshingly cool to my liking with no further issues -- prompt and effective service.
The other reviewer who stayed the same time I did commented about a fly infestation ... I think infestation is a gross over-statement. I pay close attention to everything when I stay at the inn, and I did see some flies during my week-long stay in Freeport at the inn (none in my room), at LL Bean, at DeRosiers, at the CVS. Unfortunately I find flies in my own home sometimes. All of the hot items on the breakfast buffet are constantly covered (with lids, not flies!). ... disease-ridden flies -- as the other reviewer dramatically described -- were not covering the food as I was enjoying my breakfast, lunch in the tavern, or dinner in either the tavern or Maine Dining Room. (Which, by the way, if you dine in the MDR -- try the small plate lobster timbale -- fabulous!) I, too, saw the electronic fly swatter ... it looked like a tiny tennis racket. When I asked for a demonstration, we waited in the drawing room until we saw two flies on which to test it out.
If there isn't enough room to sit in the drawing room when you get your tea and snacks -- which sometimes happens as tea time is very popular -- try the lobby, the comfortable green couches in the area outside the pool, or an adirondak chair by the fire pit.
My opinion of this place is higly positive.

Room Tip: Share your expectations and wishes with the front desk when calling to make your reservation. They will help you select a room to meet your needs. The website also has good descriptions of each room. We usually have three rooms when we visit, and we each have our favorites.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KTM990-28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nadianichols, Owner at Harraseeket Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2012

Wow. What an incredible review. Thank you from the bottom of 160 "Team Harraseeket Inn" hearts. You just made our day. Our summer. Our year. Thank you!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We had 2 nights on the third floor. Our room was clean and did not smell. Yes the hotel is old, but we knew that before booking and liked the character of it. Our bed was soooo comfortable and the sheets were like silk. There was no street noise.
The buffet breakfast was fine, and the hotel buys all local produce to support the local economy. We had one dinner at the hotel's casual eatery Broad Arrow Tavern. You had to put your name on a wait list to get a table which speaks for itself in my opinion.
The outlet shopping was an easy stroll away (too easy some husbands might think!).
And not one fly in sight :)

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank manda6062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nadianichols, Owner at Harraseeket Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us...and for helping to cheer our staff after two very disheartening reviews. We're so thankful you enjoyed your stay with us. The Harraseeket Inn wasn't built yesterday, she's been around for a long time and it's a constant effort to keep her renovated and fresh. We do our best to keep her beautiful for our guests but the bar can always be raised, and we take our reviews very seriously. Our staff is the greatest, they always go above and beyond and are like family to us. One of our favorites on the front desk fell in love with an Australian several years ago and now she lives in Australia! We miss her. Again, thank you for your kind review and we hope you enjoyed your visit to the grand state of Maine.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Usually Trip Advisor steers us in the right direction but not this time. The property is very old and you smell it and feel it when you arrive. Our room was on the third floor and felt musty. There was a fly in the room that took us twenty minutes to track down and eliminate. There was enough dust on the lamp stand beside the bed you could write your name in it. Both bulb of one of the bedside lamps were burnt out and were replaced when I brougt it to their attention but by then we knew we had made a great error. Afternoon tea in the sitting room had enough chairs for maybe twenty people in a hotel that holds several hundred guests..go figure. Again flies were all over the food and again you could write your name on the piano beside our chairs. The bathroom door was very heavy and creaked so badly that it woke my partner during the evening when I went to the bathroom. The buffet breakfast was included but was again spoiled by the numerous flies all over the various food dishes on the table. When we left after one day of a planned two day stay, one of the hotel employees in the lobby told another guest jokingly when asked, that he was carrying an electronic fly swatter. It looked like some kind of paddle.
This hotel definitely has a fly infestation problem and disease carrying flies all over food being served is alone reason enough for me to leave. Dirty, noisy and fly infested..sorry but do not know why anyone would want to stay here.

Room Tip: do not stay here
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kenpj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nadianichols, Owner at Harraseeket Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2012

Wow. It seems like we failed on all fronts during your stay and we're truly sorry. You may have heard the entire staff groan when I read your comments aloud. We recently had a briefing on the annual fall fly invasion and the importance of keeping all the doors closed. However, in a busy inn like ours the entry doors are always opening and closing, sometimes being propped open for luggage carts, and this time of year it's a real challenge to keep flies from coming inside. (They love the smell of all that food!) As for the dust problem, we have an excellent housekeeping staff and I'll take this up with my head housekeeper. There shouldn't have been a speck of dust anywhere. Our afternoon tea is served in the drawing room and our guests are seated both there and in the Maine Dining Room. We'll make sure our staff is directing all our guests to these seating areas. Thank you for bringing these matters to our attention, and thank you for your feedback. We hope you enjoy the rest of your summer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

Everybody raves about this hotel. I find it overpriced, run down and old. The beds and furniture are from the 80's and the amenities are out of date. The television is outdated, the gym is almost non existent and the decor looks old! The only redeeming factors are the service which is good and the location. I think it is definitely overpriced for what it is. Even though we had a nice experience, I would not stay here again. They need to update or lower the price!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Swede40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nadianichols, Owner at Harraseeket Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We appreciate your feedback. We're glad you had a good experience but we're very sorry the Harraseeket Inn didn't measure up to your expectations. Your comments will be shared with our staff and we hope they will have a positive impact on our future operations. We want every guest to have a great experience and to leave here happy and wanting to return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews