We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent choice”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Harraseeket Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Harraseeket Inn
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Freeport
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Saint John, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent choice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2012

I found Harraseeket Inn on Trip Advisor when looking for somewhere different to stay for few days whilst celebrating our 50th wedding anniversary. So glad I did.
Happy anniversary was the greeting from the front desk. When we got to the room a very nice fruit plate & card were waiting for us. We stayed 4 nights and thoroughly enjoyed it. The staff are excellent, whether it be the dining room, the pub, the desk or housekeeping.
Great atmosphere and clean to a fault. My wife was also delighted to spend time in the beautifully kept garden.

Room Tip: We had a 2 room suite on the 3rd floor. Not sure what the other rooms are like but ours was excellen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brian3802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Harraseeket Inn, responded to this review, June 23, 2012
We're so glad you enjoyed your stay! Spending half a century in love with one person is a wonderful statement about the gift of married life. Thank you for sharing your very special golden anniversary with us, and may you share many more wonderful years together. Congratulations!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

905 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    652
    164
    58
    18
    13
See reviews for
203
466
24
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Peabody, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2012

My husband and I discovered the Harraseekett Inn quite a few years ago and made a point to stay there every year for two or three nights. We stopped going several years ago when my husband who has MS became totally dependent on a wheelchair and was unable to transfer without a lift. We recently learned that the Inn had a handicapped accessible room with a roll-in shower. After numerous conversations with Penny we decided to give it a try once again. It was wonderful! There was plently of room to maneuver the lift and transfer my husband from his chair to bed and from his chair to a shower chair which we brought with us. The bathroom was well designed and shower was very easy to use. It was so good to be back again. We booked the Getaway Package whiich included three nights and two dinners. Their packages are a great value when you consider the quality of the rooms and the restaurants. Our dinner in the Main Dining Room was outstanding.The service is extraordinary. Everyone is so friendly and helpful. It's a great place and I hope we will be able to return.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank babster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nadianichols, Owner at Harraseeket Inn, responded to this review, June 20, 2012
We're so glad you decided to return and even happier that you enjoyed your stay. We appreciate your feedback. When my father fell off the roof and broke his neck, he was confined to a wheelchair and we did everything we could think of to make the Harraseeket Inn especially accessible to him, and to everyone else confined to a wheelchair. We had a lift installed in our indoor swimming pool so he could excercise there. We hope that the next time you visit us, you give the swimming pool a try, and please let us know if there's anything else we could be doing better. Thank you again and enjoy your summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
84 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2012

I was in Freeport for a family event and we had been advised to stay at the Harraseeket Inn. When I arrived, I learned from the Inn staff that I had booked a room in the Carriage House, while the rest of the family was in the main building. I was then asked if I wanted to move closer to everyone else. That was the first interaction, and I was so impressed that they (1) had noticed and (2) were willing to move me. It was pouring rain (with more storms forecast for the weekend), so I asked if they could find a room in the main Inn with a fireplace. They suggested room 214. You might want to write down that number.

Room 214 is the Thomas Moser Suite. It is filled with furniture from the Thos. Moser factory across the street and furnishing from other artisans in Maine. The online photos don't really do it justice. Each peice is beautiful, and taken as a whole, you will simply feel like youve landed in the lap of luxury. While a bit more modern than the Down East decor in the rest f the hotel, it is still incredibly warm and comfortable.

The suite features a very large room with four poster bed, desk, chairs, night tables, wardrobe and cabinet by Moser, as well as a wonderful seating area around the fireplace with beautiful white Barcelona love seats by Vita. Each evening, the family ended up gathering in the suite around the fire for drinks, appetizers or desserts, cheerfully and quickly delivered by room service.

The bathroom is large, gleemingly white, and features a large soaking tub with jets and shower, fluffy towels and robes, and towel warming rack. The heavy oak sliding doors to the bath and closet are hung with sum unique and artistic heavy iron rollers. Artwork and wool blankets and shawls just add to the experience, with lots of windows looking out at the front of the inn.

We ate in the dining room the first night and had one of the best Maine lobsters ever. The breakfast buffet (included) was extensive, with home baked items, cereals, warm entrees, yogurt and fruit. The lunch buffet at the tavern is also very good.

The gym was good enough for a hotel gym, and is next to the indoor pool. Wi-fi is fast and free.

Of course, what makes any inn great is the staff. Here, you will a caring, cheerful And attentive team. Kudos to the innkeeper!

While it was a wet, gloomy weekend, no amount of rain could dampen the great mood I was in from an over-the-top Harraseeket Inn experience.

Room Tip: It is worth it to upgrade to room 214.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JeffZee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Harraseeket Inn, responded to this review, June 23, 2012
We're glad you enjoyed your stay! Our Thos. Moser Suite is quite special and very popular with our guests. All his furniture is just lovely. Each piece is a unique work of art. As for our staff, we are so very fortunate to have the best crew in the business. More than a few have been with us for over twenty years and we regard them as family. Thank you for posting such a great review. Enjoy your summer and we hope that the next time you visit, the sun is shining!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Bell, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
76 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2012

My wife and I have been coming to the Inn for the part 10 years. The reasons why we keep coming back are quite simle: (1) consistently excellent service; (2) lovely accomodations; and (3) excellent dining. The Inn is the reason we go to Freeport, not the shopping.

This year we met Mrs. Grey (the owner) and her son who manages the Inn. They are wonderful people who care about the Inn's fine tradition as well as their staff. There is no questioning the loyalty between staff and management and vice-versa. That is the reason why there is so little turn over and we see the same people each year. They are gracious and warm. We look forward to seeing them each year.

The Inn is one of our favorite stops in Maine.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tesiman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Harraseeket Inn, responded to this review, June 23, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review! The relationships that develop between our staff and our guests over the years are really quite extraordinary. Guests who've been coming for years have met other guests who've been doing the same and many have coordinated their future trips, so the atmosphere here is like a continuous family reunion. It's wonderful to walk through the door knowing you're going to be seeing familiar, friendly faces. We're blessed with very special guests and a great staff. Thank you again for sharing your experience with us, and have a great summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
141 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2012

We went on the Cabin Fever package and it was a decent buy. The breakfast buffet was just ok but the dinner was excellent. The fan in our room was very loud and went on with the bathroom light. The staff were very good but they could use a new bartender

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jlundy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Harraseeket Inn, responded to this review, June 23, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. The Cabin Fever Package is one of our most popular off-season packages, but a noisy bathroom fan should NOT have been a part of it! We're very sorry about the noise and we'll check that problem out. As for the bartender, we have five on staff. We'd really like to hear more about your experience in that regard so that we can address the issue appropriately. If you could email us at harraseeke@aol.com, to the attention of Penny or Chip Gray, that would be most appreciated. Thank you again for taking the time to post a review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2012

The inn was quaint and right in the middle of the freeport shopping district. The room was clean and comfortable. There was a choice between the Maine Dining room or the Broad Arrow Tavern. We chose the tavern and had a wonderful meal. Very good seafood and hamburgers. I would highly recommend this hotel.

Mary Reineman Providence RI

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOUYISVILLE KY
Level Contributor
91 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2012

Well worth the stay. The Maine Dining Room offers wonderful presentations with local products. Fresh breads. Wonderful salads. Amazing starters. Great mains and deserts Tdf The service was outstanding. A definite must when in the area.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TEDSPARTY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Freeport
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown
16.2 mi away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#4 of 19 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,285 reviews
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#9 of 11 in Freeport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Freeport/Brunswick
16.4 mi away
The Westin Portland Harborview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harraseeket Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harraseeket Inn

Property: Harraseeket Inn
Address: 162 Main St, Freeport, ME 04032
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Freeport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Freeport
#1 Romantic Hotel in Freeport
#1 Family Hotel in Freeport
#3 Business Hotel in Freeport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Harraseeket Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inn in Freeport,Maine ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and getaroom.com so you can book your Harraseeket Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harraseeket Hotel Freeport
Harraseeket Inn Freeport, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing