We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel and they allow dogs”
Review of Harraseeket Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Harraseeket Inn
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Freeport
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed September 10, 2011

We stayed in one of the Carriage House rooms with 3 dogs. The spacious room was great with a fireplace, a jacuzzi tube and a nice sitting area. Breakfast and Tea are included. The staff is great and will do their best to meet your requests. The Carriage House rooms are close to Route 1so you get some traffic noise but it did not effect our ability to sleep.

The hotel is a short walk from LLBean and the other stores in Freeport. Freeport is a great location to reach other interesting areas in coastal Maine such as Camden, Wiscasset and Portland.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wlf_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (967)
There are newer reviews for Harraseeket Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

813 - 819 of 967 reviews

Reviewed September 9, 2011

This hotel does not look much from the reception and the outside but it's a real gem. We checked in and were given a king room with jacuzzi bath which was just the ticket as we were in the middle of a hurricane and it's nice not be squashed into a room with a shower only. The reception staff were excellent and had great knowledge of the area. I was really impressed with the recycling bins in the bathroom and the ethical amenities. This really makes the hotel stand out amongst others. I would have loved to have seen more of Maine but was unlucky with the weather. I tend not to eat in the hotels as I like to see as much of the towns as possible whilst travelling, but the tavern here was so good we ate there both nights.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arwen1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2011

Booked a last minute overnight at the Harraseeket Inn for one night over Labor Day weekend. ($280) Third floor room with a jacuzzi tub. Nice, clean, traditional New England Inn style room. Bathroom was nothing fancy but was spotless and the jacuzzi tub was big enough for two. My only complaint about the room was that we could hear our next door neighbor snoring. He was sawing wood. Thank God for the iPhone white noise app! I get frustrated when you can hear your neighbors, but considering the age of the Inn everything else was very comfortable and accommodating.
My husband and I have frequented the Broad Arrow Tavern on our annual trips to Freeport in the fall, and my girlfriends and I have also frequent the formal Dining Room during our annual "Freeport Sparkle Weekend" shopping trips. I love both restaurants, however this time the Broad Arrow Tavern was disappointing in both quality and flavor of the food. Ribs were smothered in too much sauce, and my hubbys sirloin steak was a bad, fatty cut. Service was great and we chalk up the food to bad luck, because we have always had fabulous meals here. The hot breakfast buffet was great. Tasty and a good variety.
Overall, if you are considering a stay in Freeport and you want the "New England" experience I would recommend the Harraseeket Inn if you don't mind $200++/night. I looked at it as a splurge. The location is great because they are two blocks from the outlets so it's convenient to spend the day shopping without having to find a parking space behind LL Bean.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luved_kauai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nadianichols, Owner at Harraseeket Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We're so sorry about your dining experience in the Broad Arrow Tavern. Our ribs and steaks are usually excellent, being both naturally raised and locally sourced. We will definitely research both menu items with Chef Eric. We hope you brought this to the attention of your server but if you didn't, please contact the inn so we can get more details and address the problem more completely, and to your satisfaction. Your meal should have been perfect. As to the snoring, holy cow. The walls between the guest rooms are sound proofed and all we can say is, the snorer's DbA's must have overwhelmed the sound proofing! We're very sorry. If anything along those lines happens in the future, at our inn or any other place you're staying, contact the front desk. Our staff is highly skilled at handling just about any situation and a good nights sleep is what ALL of our guests expect and deserve.
Thank you again for your review, and enjoy the rest of your summer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2011

Arrived just in time for Hurricane Irene! Spent the windy/rainy day at an excellent brunch in the dining room, swimming in the indoor pool and sampling sandwiches, pastries and tea at the afternoon tea. The front desk was moving at lightning speed as many reservations were being made/cancelled and rescheduled. After a problem with our original room, they promptly moved us to better accomodations. It was exceptional service at a difficult time for any hotel- especially with power going out in most of the town and part of the hotel. Even though the employees must have had worries of their own-homes with no power, etc. they were totally professional and focused. Can't say enough great things about the food or the service- many thanks to Karen at the front desk who saved the beginning of our vacation!!!

Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
Thank Bellagirl14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nadianichols, Owner at Harraseeket Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2011

Thank you for such a wonderful review! It's quite a balancing act for the Harraseeket Inn to stand with one foot firmly planted in the eighteenth century, embracing traditional Maine hospitality, and the other in the twenty first, striving to keep apace of techonology. We'd like to think Deborah Rose Dillingham, the original innkeeper who lived here back in the late 1700's (and served food to travelers on the stage line between Portland and Brunswick while her husband, a blacksmith, tended the horses), would still recognize the Carriage House, which was both the stage stop and her home. But to keep up with modern technology, we're upgrading all our old TV's to flat screens this year, a nod to both their dazzling picture quality and improved energy efficiency.

Our staff is second to none in the business and they are like family to us. More than a few have been with us for over twenty years, which makes the "kid thing" even more special. We've seen each other's kids grow up over the years, with guests and staff alike sharing some very special memories. We want everyone, young and old, to feel at home here.

Thank you again for taking the time to post your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2011

The Harraseeket must rank among one of the nicest, friendliest most cozy Inns I've ever stayed at. You can tell at lot of attention to detail and the management takes a lot of pride in the upkeep of the building and grounds. Let's not kid ourselves - this isn't meant to be a modern and chic hotel - with it's old-school televisions and cottage-decor but it's not meant to be. What it is good at - a warm, inviting perfect New England charming B&B -it is exceptionally good at with wood burning fireplaces and exposed brickwork everywhere.
The staff makes this inn amazing. Not only are there so many staff members - you can find one wherever you are at any given time - but each and every one of them would go out of their way to anticipate your needs and fulfill them as if you were the only guest in the inn. It's as if each staff member wants to personally make your stay as welcoming and comfortable as possible without hesitation.
Then, the accomodations - again, not high tech but the channel line up was good enough and the mattresses were adequate (serta firm but other types available upon request). The decor was all-about-Maine from the moose drawings to the state slogan but when in Rome...
The pool was small and clean (indoor) and it's worth mentioning that if you need elevators there were only 2 elevator banks that seemed to take a while (not a new york minute by any means) but never more than 2 or 3 minutes to arrive. If you don't have a stroller or a wheelchair, your best bet is to stay on the 1st or 2nd floors and walk the flight of stairs.
The food was delicious and although we only had a chance to eat the included hot buffet breakfast in the Maine Dining Room, it exceeded our expectations with fresh ingredients and supurb service. The food choices, although limited, left nothing to be desired from fresh jellies and pastries to vegatable fritatta and pancakes with fresh maine blueberries. The maple syrup might just have come straight out of a tree and the orange juice was freshly sqeezed. Again, the staff here was on top of everything without being overwhelming.
We didn't get back to the hotel to have the 'afternoon tea' but other guests raved about it.
The location is ideal for the Freeport shops and Outlets, being right at the beginning of the strip of shops on Maine street and only 1 block from the LLBean Retail Store. It's worth mentioning that this outlet strip is amazing, although small so you won't ever be too exhausted from walking (although exhausted from shopping is likely with these deals!)
Parking is free at the inn and for us, the buffet breakfast was included. Free wi-fi was also in all of the rooms.
Lastly, I must, must emphasize that even as quaint and cozy as this inn was - they are suprisingly very family friendly. They are also pet friendly. Everything I requested since we have a baby and a 5 year old was in my room prior to check in (pack and play, extra towels and refridgerator) and there were plenty of families with young children. The rooms were insulated so no noise from other rooms was disturbing and the room was very spacious. There are only a few ramps to get in and out of the hotel for those of us with strollers - so we found ourselves lifting our double stroller over one or two stairs at times but if we had walked to the side of the building we could have come in through the ramp - just a little out of the way from the main entrance.
All in all, the location is ideal, the food is awesome and it's a relaxing and enjoyable way to spend a weekend with or without your kids and/or pets. You can't go wrong here!

Room Tip: If you want a completely quiet room, request one away from the elevators so no beeps.
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank medha311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2011

Had a really nice stay here, just prior to 'Irene'. We arrived late in the evening but were greeted with smiles and refreshments. The room we had was lovely, The staff on the desk were very helpful, always happy to advise and print off directions for days out.
Ideal location for LL Bean and all of the outlet shops. A&F was #1 for my daughter.
Will use again if ever in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NJF1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2011

I will say - the place is clean. It's quaint in that it's old - but some of the things are just 'outdated' such as the carpeting in the halls and really need a refurbish. The staff is very nice - and accomodating. We had a room with a jacuzzi at a cost of $280.00 - the jacuzzi tub was in the bathroom - so you couldn't watch t.v. or even look out a window. We were on the 3rd floor. The room was clean - the room itself was nice size. They bring you ice and turn down the bed. There is only one elevator to get to the upper floors. The pool looked very inviting but we didn't have time to try it out. The $12.95 breakfast buffet was included, but if I had had a choice I wouldn't have bothered with it. Not much variety offered. What was there was tasty. Had lunch in the tavern - it was good, but again, bring your credit card and extra cash 'cause it's not cheap. It is a 4-diamond stay, so if you like hoity toity (not sure if that is spelled right) this is the place. I think we are just more down-to-earth Marriot people and although there wasn't anything unpleasant about the inn - I wouldn't stay there again as I know my money could have been spent much much better and we would have been much happier. Oh and the shower was a stand-up stall that is difficult to turn around in. For the price - the bathroom should have been first class...

Room Tip: Don't bother with the more expensive jacuzzi rooms.
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anselsgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nadianichols, Owner at Harraseeket Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We were concerned that you mentioned we had only one elevator. There are two. One is off the lobby and the second is by the pool. This is especially important for people to know, because physically challenged people need good elevator access. We do offer rooms that have the jacuzzi in the room itself for those who want to watch TV or, better yet, the fireplace. Very romantic! We also have rooms with sit down showers, but our jacuzzi rooms usually have the standard stand up showers. We hope you enjoyed our full buffet breakfast, and not just the continental which is set out in our drawing room for early risers. The full buffet offers fresh baked pastries, fresh fruit bowls with sliced melons, pineapple and grapes, locally sourced organic yogurt, an assortment of cereals along with our own popular house made granola, hot organic oatmeal with a variety of accompaniments in addition to milk including local honey, raisins and brown sugar, scrambled eggs and a vegetable and cheese frittata, (or eggs however you like them), plain, blueberry or banana pancakes, french toast, organic sausages and bacon, fresh fruit juices, home made toast, and organic coffee and teas. We also offer gluten free breads and muffins. Most folks like our breakfast and nobody leaves the table hungry! We hope you enjoy the rest of your summer, and thanks again for posting your review and allowing us to respond.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Freeport
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown
1.9 mi away
Quality Suites
Quality Suites
#9 of 11 in Freeport
322 reviews
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.1 mi away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#4 of 20 in Portland
1,423 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Freeport/Brunswick
3.7 mi away
Casco Bay Inn
Casco Bay Inn
#3 of 11 in Freeport
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harraseeket Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harraseeket Inn

Address: 162 Main St, Freeport, ME 04032
Location: United States > Maine > Freeport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Freeport
#1 Romantic Hotel in Freeport
#1 Green Hotel in Freeport
#3 Business Hotel in Freeport
Price Range: $172 - $292 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Harraseeket Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inn in Freeport,Maine ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Harraseeket Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harraseeket Hotel Freeport
Harraseeket Inn Freeport, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing