We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant stay at a friendly inn” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Harraseeket Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Harraseeket Inn
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Freeport
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
262 reviews
194 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Pleasant stay at a friendly inn”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2011

We stayed for a long weekend. Dinner in the restaurant and tavern were excellent. Breakfast buffet is not great - crowded setup and something about it was not appealing at all. Rooms are large and clean but the hotel is a little musty in some areas. I gave the hotel 4 stars because the staff is very friendly and we had a nice stay.

Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Happytravelinfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nadianichols, Owner at Harraseeket Inn, responded to this review, July 6, 2011
Thank you for feedback. We'd like to get your critiques of breakfast. Check out our Facebook Page and let us know the specifics, we happen to be in the middle of a breakfast survey! Thank you again for taking the time to post your review and we hope the next time you stay with us, your breakfast will be stellar!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

870 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    622
    159
    58
    18
    13
See reviews for
190
453
21
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Blackwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2011

We stayed here for two nights and what a wonderful place it was.The room was very clean and had all amenities we required. The staff were very helpful and friendly and the afternoon tea was a deight after a hard day sighseeing and souvenir hunting.We only wished we could have stayed longer and would recommend it to anyone if they are staying in freeport,We would definitely book it again....a must do.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank westmon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nadianichols, Owner at Harraseeket Inn, responded to this review, June 30, 2011
We're so glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and your comment about our afternoon tea was high praise coming from a resident of the United Kingdom. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Inn for a week-long business trip that I had scheduled in the area. I read the reviews initially, which prompted my stay. Overall the experience was fine, the room was basic- we stayed in the suite with the large garden tub. It had a king sized bed that was very comfortable, an old TV that had a number of channels but poor color/graphics, a desk, and the bathroom. The cleaning staff kept the room clean in a timely manner and the turn down service was fine, too. The view was of the parking lot, which created the situation where we just had to keep our curtains closed- to avoid people seeing into the room. The tavern had pretty good food but was extremely pricey. The exercise room was very basic, too, with a bike and an old treadmill. The pool was pretty but was always crowded. Overall I have no complaints but felt that the three hundred dollar/night cost was too expensive for the basic room and no extra amenities. If you do not mind spending a lot of money on the room itself and want to be pretty close for a walk to the shopping district, then this works well for you. We ended up being delayed in Portland for our last night and I was much more impressed with the Mariott, as far as it being half the price and offering many more hotel amenities (nice exercise room, big pool and hot tub, etc).

Room Tip: No need to upgrade to suite-too basic, too pricey
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JMA_46278
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nadianichols, Owner at Harraseeket Inn, responded to this review, June 30, 2011
Thank you for your feedback. We value your comments and are sorry that your stay didn't live up to your expectations. We don't have any fireplace suites that overlook our parking lot and the only room approaching the room price you quoted is our Thos. Moser room. We hope you will call the inn at 1-800-342-6423 to clarify your room type and rate in case some sort of error was made. As for the old televisions, you are quite correct that they need to be replaced and we are currently half way through the process of switching to flat screen wall mounted panels. Thank you again for taking the time to share your thoughts. Listening to our guests' feedback is the only way we can continue to improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2011

My husband, son and I stayed two nights while visiting Bowdoin and Bates. We stayed midweek in mid June, so the rates were low and the hotel not completely full. It was such a pleasure being there rather than staying in the same boring hotel chains. Since we had been here before, I asked for a second floor garden view room with two double beds. The room wasn't huge but it was very comfortable and had everything we needed, except perhaps a minifridge. One of the two windows opened so we could enjoy the cool night air. The afternoon tea and breakfast buffet are terrific (especially when compared to the awful chain hotel buffets!). The staff was enormously friendly and helpful. I hope our son goes to college in Maine so we have more excuses to return.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank leavingtomorrowsms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nadianichols, Owner at Harraseeket Inn, responded to this review, June 25, 2011
We're so glad you enjoyed your stay. As we replace the TV sets in the wardrobes with flat screen wall mounted units, we're installing mini-fridges in the top cabinets. Eventually all our rooms will have one, which will be a nice convenience. In the mean time, we are happy to place mini-fridges in rooms that don't have them yet, per guest request. Bowdoin and Bates are both great colleges and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
92 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2011

Just a few minutes walk from the Main Street shopping this is a perfect place to stay in Freeport.

Breakfast included in the rate plus American Afternoon Tea. Indulge yourself to a bite afterv a whole day of shopping. Free wifi.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CJAlmeby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dracut, MA
Level Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2011

We were very pleased with our stay at the inn. We were really treated like family. It was our first visit and the first thing we noticed was that it seemed that every one knew each other. We just initially thought it was some group, but it turned out that they were all past guest that come back every year just for the inn. It didn't take long to realize why they come back. The food was fantastic! Service, really the best i have ever had, and any issues we had were fixed quickly and fairly. They certainly know how to treat their guests well! The only negative, and has nothing to do with the inn is freeport itself, not much to do except shop. But for a weekend at xmas time to shop, this is a great place. Only suggestion, for handicap guest the inn should give out a sheet explaining any handicap accomodations the inn offers ie. Pool/ramps etc. Oh lastly, the tv should be replaced in the rooms, really old and not very useful.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RobinWyman75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nadianichols, Manager at Harraseeket Inn, responded to this review, June 19, 2011
Thank you for your excellent suggestion about an informational brochure describing our handicap accessibility, including the hydraulic lift in our heated lap pool. As well, there are several wonderful places for those with physical limitations to experience the great Maine outdoors including a wide, smooth, free wheeling coastal trail at nearby Wolf Neck Woods State Park and another at Portland Head Light and the Portland Promenade. We're glad you enjoyed your stay. We're blessed with wonderful guests and a wonderful staff here at the Harraseeket. We're in the process of changing all our TV's to flat screens, and the next time you come we'd be glad to provide you with a list of great things to see and do in the Freeport area. The Maine coast is hard to beat! Thank you again for your helpful suggestions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
67 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2011

The inn is lovely and the service is fine. Our room was clean and cozy. The grounds were pretty.
However, the Tavern was disappointing. It is priced to offer very fine food but that was not the case. What we tried was bland in taste and the cocktails were not impressive. A specific example of a shortfall with regard to fos service was the lack of genuine maple syrup on the breakfast buffet. This should be a given in a fine New England inn.
Of note, th Inn is committed to being environmentally friendly. That I commendable.
We would stay at the Inn again but would seek other dining options. It is a shame for if this Inn devoted as much attention to its menu a it does other aspects, it would truly be world class.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Plmjmp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nadianichols, Owner at Harraseeket Inn, responded to this review, June 6, 2011
Thank you for your feedback. We value your comments and will address them promptly with the proper staff. We apologize for your dining experience in our Broad Arrow Tavern. We'd appreciate you calling us at 1-800-342-6423 so we could discuss the specifics of your meal. We want all of our guests to enjoy their dining experience and leave happy and we hope you'll give our tavern another try!
Thank you again.
Chip Gray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Freeport
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown
16.1 mi away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#3 of 19 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,267 reviews
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#10 of 11 in Freeport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Freeport/Brunswick
16.4 mi away
The Westin Portland Harborview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harraseeket Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harraseeket Inn

Property: Harraseeket Inn
Address: 162 Main St, Freeport, ME 04032
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Freeport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Freeport
#1 Romantic Hotel in Freeport
#1 Family Hotel in Freeport
#3 Business Hotel in Freeport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Harraseeket Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inn in Freeport,Maine ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Harraseeket Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harraseeket Hotel Freeport
Harraseeket Inn Freeport, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing