We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just in town”

Linda Bean s Perfect Maine Lobster Roll
Ranked #33 of 61 Restaurants in Freeport
Cuisines: Seafood
Restaurant details
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Just in town”
Reviewed July 7, 2014 via mobile

Wanted Lobster and beer and decided on this place as we had been before. Friendly at door but once on upstairs deck things got decidedly worse. Our server was very young and seemed very into pushing us through.
Apps were ok, steamed clams, seafood cake and clam Chowder (a little salty.) Our beers were fine but with a little attention on the servers part, he wouldn't have to run up to the bar in three trips. Dinner was miserable for my companions. They both got lobster rolls which they felt were completely void of taste. I had a Lobster Cesar salad which other than the abundance of croutons was fine. My lobster tail which sat on top of the salad was just a tad dry but it did not lack in flavor. Server wanted to drop check and be done. No thought to asking if we'd like coffee ( yes) dessert (probably ). By then our guest from New Orleans wanted out as badly as server seemed to want us to go.
I don't recommend sitting outside on second floor. Loud and tight quarters. Id give two stars but I realize young servers have to start somewhere. Here's my suggestion: spend time on training and convey more food and drink ordered equals larger tab equals larger tip. BTW just cause we are boomers, doesn't mean we are cheap. As most of family is in restaurant business, we tip VERY well for good service and 20 for the rest.

Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    53
    45
    26
    40
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Waterville, Maine
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Did not get any bang for my buck”
Reviewed July 5, 2014

When we first arrived a very nice young lady opened the door for us. However, it went down hill from there. We were very disapointed. The lobster roll was dry and really had no taste. And the strawberry short cake was disappointing also. Sorry Linda we will not be going back to your eatery. This is the second time we ate there and it still was not that good at all!!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank connie r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“A good place to eat while Shopping”
Reviewed June 25, 2014

We were in Maine for 10 days I never eat a lobster until the last day of our trip. We ate at Linda Bean's on our last day of our trip. Great location good food. I wish our waitress had told us we had an option with our lobster roll I would have preferred Butter instead of mayo. The onion rings were really good. I did like the fact they allow you 2 different sizes with the Lobster roll. Of course my husband got the biggest and ate every bit of his Lobster roll. We will go back but this time I will ask for A lobster roll with butter instead of Mayo.The weather was perfect for sitting outside.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sudiemccoolmoyse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guilford, Maine
Level 6 Contributor
325 reviews
196 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Would definitely eat here again!”
Reviewed March 15, 2014 via mobile

Not only is this place in the perfect location, but the food was great. It has a great bar upstairs if you wanted to socialize in the evening, although we didn't get to do that due to time. The atmosphere was excellent and staff was willing to go the extra mile if there were any mix-ups. We gave it a shot despite the 3 star review average. It will be a normal stop for us in the future!

Helpful?
Thank YotaPwr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington D.C. Metro Area
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Not Maine's finest”
Reviewed December 16, 2013

Before our visit to the LL Bean flagship store, we stopped at this little street vendor type place, where I had a small sized lobster roll. I only wanted a small lunch and was happy to find a place that offered the smaller size. Unfortunately, although I liked the convenience, the lobster roll itself was quite lackluster. I had one that was far better near Portland in a gourmet grocery store days earlier that was to die for! The lobster here was somewhat flavorless and overdressed, and the bun was not buttery like most lobster roll buns. I was disappointed and it was not inexpensive. I don't mind paying higher prices for a good quality food, but this was not it. I've had many lobster rolls and this one is simply not up to snuff.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Kittehgrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Linda Bean s Perfect Maine Lobster Roll also viewed

 

Been to Linda Bean s Perfect Maine Lobster Roll? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing