We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful transition place from long flights to travel in country or to see Johannesburg”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Zulu Nyala Country Manor
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chartwell
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Wonderful transition place from long flights to travel in country or to see Johannesburg”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Charming, peaceful very welcoming place. Ideal after long flights from U.S.
Lovely rooms and spacious grounds and a breakfast and dinner restaurant. Reasonable distance from airport but as always transfers do cost. Could be a place to stay to enjoy the Johannesburg area yet have a country feel, complete with zebras and antelope. Staff are gracious and welcoming. Seved us well as rest stop before safari.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clel3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    54
    29
    16
    14
See reviews for
24
81
5
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 17, 2012

I have just returned from a 3 day business trip using the conference facilities at Zulu Nyala. I am really shocked to read the negative reviews. As far as I am concerned the staff were fantastic. Really genuinely nice and kind people and more than happy to serve.Everyone was very friendly and every conversation was accompanied by courtesy and smiles. The rooms were also very comfortable. I would definitely return. A very refreshing alternative to the 4/5 star nothingness we normally encounter.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LadyonBiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2012

We recently stayed at Zulu Nyala Country Manor, I had my family with me, altogether 9 of us! We experienced nothing but friendly service, outstanding food, beautiful surroundings & the most amazing Venue for Conferencing, whether samll or large. From the minute we arrived the receptionist 'Pretty' greeted us with utter warmth, friendliness & comfort. Then taken to our what can only be described as 'VERY LARGE' bright room, close to everything, so it was easy to slip into the 'buffet breakfasts everyday' (to add those extra early New Year kilos!). The venue is just amazing, we are in the travel & tourism industry & have been for years & can honestly say that we would most definately recommend Zulu Nyala Country Manor - it's within easy access of the Sandton CBD, airports (just off the highways - either Lanseria or ORTambo) gaining access to Fourways, Bryanston is a breeze or Business in Randburg - it's really a wonderful place to 'come home to' at the end of your busy day in Jo'burg - home from home 'out of Africa' feel - what more does anyone want - Their conferencing facilities are world-class, ideal for any size conference or wedding or just that special birthday celebration - whatever it is your looking for on those lines, you've got it right Zulu Nyala, thank you, you made our stay most enjoyable & very unforgettable!... We look forward to seeing you soon, & my Mum (Nana to the group - can't wait to come back from Ireland to see it again)thoroughly enjoyed her experience with you all - thank you Trevor & Bella & all your team : From the McAlinden Party.....(please give a warm hug to the Zebra,meerkats & all your beautiful animals) xx

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mairead9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
89 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2012

After reading the website, we were surprised at the long distance from JNB airport!
Upon check in, we were escorted to a former stable that was now a room. Not unique... Not nice... Not well done... in fact, kind of sparse.
The restaurant service was literally non-existent. When we finally found a "waitress", she just stared when we asked her for a seat in the empty restaurant. When we asked for water... again, she just stared, then finally left and came back with water. No personality and no customeer service AT ALL!! Others came in from a large French tour group... they asked for the wine list. They were told that the bar was not open. After some discussion, the waitress went to the lobby bar in another building, to get one drink at a time.
The food was very low grade buffet style and VERY overpriced.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dr0119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Chartwell hotels

Oak Harbor, Washington
Level Contributor
47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2011

Spent the night to rest up after a 15 hour flight and before proceeding on to Richards Bay. Place was full so they stuck us way out in the boonies. Needed a shower after the long flight, no hot water! Finally hot next morning. Food was terrible and ended up costing $239.00 for one night even after adjustment for the water issue. Not worth the money, should have stayed in a hotel closer to airport. Will not stay again

Room Tip: Not sure there is a good room!!!!!!!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jackstrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palma de Mallorca, Spain
Level Contributor
146 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2011

We landed in jhb in the morning,and were willing to have some rest before leading towards the panorama route.it is not easy to find but a good option to avoid the city center, and visit Pretoria. It is closed to a shopping mall, giving good access to bank, chemist's, supermarket and different restaurants.Rooms are big with comfortable beds, bathroom was rather old, but clean. Breakfast was satisfactory, thanks to the omelettes cooked on request.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bio_Ma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2011

We stayed at Zulu Nyala for our wedding night. What a HUGE disappointment in terms of the service, the room and the food.

When we arrived at reception we checked in, then wanted to ask the receptionist a question. We had to wait while she dealt with a call that was quite obviously regarding an internal matter, which she could have handled after she had finished serving us.

The so-called restaurant was no better than a school canteen. The food was barely luke-warm, burnt, and the selection on the "buffet" was worse than pathetic. It was supposed to be "traditional" South African food, but the only thing that was traditional was the (very dry) pap, which many people do not eat. The meat dishes were chicken and wiener schnitzel - how can that be regarded as traditional South African fare? The restaurant had no ambience whatsoever. What was embarrassing was that there was a group of tourists staying there as well, and I am so embarrassed to think that this would have been their introduction to South Africa.

On top of that, we had people walking past our room talking loudly at all hours, with staff walking past having a conversation at the tops of their voices at 6:30 on a Sunday morning.

The room was below standard - it obviously has not been cleaned properly for a few weeks, and there were several maintenance issues that should have been picked up if management were doing their jobs and inspecting the rooms. The shower head did not work properly, the shower drain was blocked, there were spiders, cockroaches and ants in the bathroom, the basin was badly stained... need I go on?

I do not recommend this venue at all. What a disappointment for our wedding night.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jenny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chartwell
6.7 mi away
Lanseria Country Estate
Lanseria Country Estate
#1 of 1 in Lanseria
93 reviews
2.6 mi away
Indaba Hotel
Indaba Hotel
#4 of 7 in Fourways
500 reviews
2.8 mi away
Shumba Valley Lodge
Shumba Valley Lodge
#54 of 68 in Johannesburg
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Misty Hills Country Hotel
Misty Hills Country Hotel
#4 of 5 in Muldersdrift
461 reviews
11.8 mi away
The Venue Country Hotel
The Venue Country Hotel
#3 of 3 in Hartbeespoort
10 reviews
18.7 mi away
Kassaboera Lodge
Kassaboera Lodge
#1 of 1 in Schoemansville
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zulu Nyala Country Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zulu Nyala Country Manor

Property: Zulu Nyala Country Manor
Address: 270 E Third Road, Chartwell 2021, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Chartwell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chartwell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Zulu Nyala Country Manor 5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take big city glamour, mix in some country escape, add a twist of the bushveld, warm hospitality, excellent food and truly great value - and you'll have Zulu Nyala Country Manor. Situated in gracious Chartwell on the outskirts of Northern Johannesburg on 13 beautifully landscaped acres, Country Manor is ideal for overnight stays, conferencing, business trips, functions and weddings.The Manor is home to some wild African residents. Take a stroll around the lush grounds and you'll encounter Zebra, Blesbok, springbok, Nyala and other creatures that provide a delightful taste of the bush. Despite this, you'll be just five minutes away from Johannesburg's premiere nightlife, restaurants and shopping areas. A selection of golf courses and the must see Cradle of Humankind - a world heritage site. Quality accommodation is offered on a Bed & Breakfast basis with additional meals or function catering by arrangement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Zulu Nyala Country Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing