We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Still the Best Restaurant in Farmington”

Homestead Bakery Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 39 Restaurants in Farmington
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Business meetings, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
139 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Still the Best Restaurant in Farmington”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

It had been a while since we have stopped for a meal at The Homestead, and have noticed that some recent reviews on this website have indicated that the Homestead is not what it used to be. Accordingly, this place has dropped somewhat in the ranking of restaurants in Farmington.

We ate there for lunch earlier this week and found the same great food, pleasant atmosphere and reasonable prices that we have come to expect from this restaurant. This is the same wonderful place that we have always enjoyed. The food is not ho-hum, it is different. The service was good and there was live piano music, as well.

In my book, The Homestead is still the best restaurant in Farmington.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank runnerskier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    50
    20
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guilford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“What a great find !”
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Well, if your lucky enough to have a student at the University of Maine, Farmington branch..you know about this restaurant/bakery/coffee house. If not, you will just have to take my word for it. I have been here for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Over the years while enjoying the Belgrade Lakes region or skiing at Sugarloaf/Saddleback or hiking Mt. Blue or Tumbledown. You can always pick up a coffee to go, but why not take home a loaf of raisin bread. A personal favorite. The atmosphere is very Italianish with its shades of deep orange/red and tuscan scenic paintings. Our most recent dinner for 6 mid week was easy on the finances with a 2 meal special for $26. This left my steak eating husband happy and my daughter's significant other who loves chicken parm and pasta FULL. The rest of us ranged from 1/2 duck, lobster raviolli, a vegetarian dish with a delightful array of Moroccan spices and a fresh beet and goat cheese salad. Great selection of wines ....ours was from Spain ,,,,did I mention dessert of blackberry cobbler and raspberry pies...both Maine berry fresh. Very pleasant and attentive service. We were lucky enought to have a live piano player playing dinner music. Not much else was happening in Farmington that night, but then again the students are here yet!
P.S. They are aware of glutin-free and veg. diets

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Eastcoasttravelfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
636 reviews
322 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 994 helpful votes
“Good place to have a bite.”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

The Homestead was recommended to us by a couple we met in the mountains!

To be fair we can't fully review as there was a power failure which cut the kitchen an so they had problems.

But we did experience the friendly service and excellent wine! Even though the kitchen had a hard time and the food came to the table barely warm we could see that the hamburger was very good indeed. Good quality beef, soft bun and well dressed with all the sides. We managed a couple of bites before it became cold. Power outs are not the fault of the restaurant and so that is why the "very good".

The restaurant was very professional and fair in not charging us and this was appreciated. What a pity we had to leave, because of the weather and we were in a motorbike, because there was a truly excellent trio playing one of my very favourites...blue grass music. They were

We would for sure go back and recommend.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Harleyclarkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Great Food with Great Service”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

My daughter is allergic to egg and most of the items that she wanted on the kids menu had egg. I informed our waitress that my daughter was allergic to egg and my daughter asked about the mac and cheese and pasta. Both had egg. She then said she would like the chicken fingers and the rest of us ordered. Our waitress apologized that our order was taking a bit longer than usual but because the chicken fingers do have egg, they made a special batch for her! One of the best experiences we have had at a restaurant!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank imbizetbizet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
488 reviews
283 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
“Good place for dinner in a college town”
Reviewed June 14, 2013

I've been to the Homestead restaurant in Farmington several times and it's usually quite good. This time it wasn't bad, but not quite as good as it had been in the past ... maybe they were having an off night? I had the salmon, which was fine, but the preperation was a bit salty. Pricing was not crazy, but a bit higher than might be expected in Farmington. Would definately try it again ... to give them another try.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MassCouple2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Homestead Bakery Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Homestead Bakery Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing