We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Burger was awesome .”
Review of The Roost

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Roost
Ranked #19 of 39 Restaurants in Farmington
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Waterville, Maine
1 review
“Burger was awesome .”
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Had Carolina wings and a burger, Both were awesome..Service was good considering it was a busy Friday night

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank doug w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    8
    6
    1
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mount Vernon, Maine
Level Contributor
176 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Known for Its Wings, has Vegetarian Appetizers & Outdoor Seating”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

The Roost serves pub grub in a basement space and would be be pretty unremarkable except for two things. First, in warmer months there is outside seating out back: Nice. Two, there are some tasty appetizers: Fried pickles and other vegetables, which make for interesting change of change of pace from nachos and potatoes. The chicken wings that the Roost is known for are good, but not great. It's not worth going out of your way to go here, but the Roost is a decent option when visiting Farmington or just passing through.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JPTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington, Maine
Level Contributor
83 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“adequate, but not great”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

The Roost came to Farmington at a good time. The Granary-a long time favorite in town-had closed and there was definitely an opening for another place to gather. I wish that The Roost had thought to put in a brick oven pizza oven as I'm not a fan of wings and the burgers are way too big. I was there for one of the Bruins playoff games and they had most of the tv's on the game, but about half of them were a few seconds delayed from the other half so it was very hard to watch and I'd hear people cheering about a goal before I'd see it on the tv nearest to me. My server said that they should have turned off half of the tvs and I think she was right! The Roost does a good job with keeping people coming back for karaoke on Friday night (from what I hear), but Saturday's seem dead. Beer is good, service is friendly and the basement feel with lack of windows is OK at night. Overall, I find this place hit or miss.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank skiqueen10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Wilton
2 reviews
“Better placed in this town...”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Sandwiches were plan and poor flavor. Very limitted choices in general- for a chicken sandwich they offered ketchup or mayonaise- ok... I think it is a place to drink not eat.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
42 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Wow! Totally ROTTEN hamburger! It was foul...”
Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

Could be a fun place I suppose. Decent bar and ok layout. There was no one there - stopped by with the kids on a Saturday. It took a very long time for our order to arrive - tho our server was attentive enough and very pleasant. We had never been there before and were looking forward to lunch having been on the road. I took one bite from my burger and I can tell you I've never smelled or tasted more rotten meat. It was disgusting! They did take it off my tab along with my salad - but I literally can't get the smell off me!! Bottom line: AVOID this place!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AlphaPuppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Roost? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing