We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Be aware”
Review of Mackworth Island

Mackworth Island
Ranked #1 of 9 things to do in Falmouth
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A scenic walking path around the hundred-acre island affords visitors a sweeping view of Casco Bay.
Maine
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Be aware”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Recently visited on a sunny March day with my daughter and two small grandchildren. We were looking forward to a nice walk. We hadn't gone far when we encountered a man with issues. Not sure if it was drug related or emotional but worrisome. He seemed to go on his way. Then he started following us. When we became aware of it, we changed direction. Then he changed direction. A number of times. When you are on a path like this, there really are no good getaway options. We were worried for the children's safety. Luckily, we were able to get back to the car without incident. This can happen on any wooded walk but I wanted to remind people to be aware of their surroundings on any seldom traveled path.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank VacationlandfanMaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    22
    3
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Texas Gulf Coast, Texas
Level Contributor
475 reviews
293 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 447 helpful votes
“Popular Circuit by the Shore”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

A causeway leads to this island where Maine collects a nominal day-use fee. The small gravel first-come-first-served parking lot is often full. When it's full, it's full. Near the lot, two paths lead down to a west-facing beach. A single, wide, mile-long, dirt trail goes around the entire island. Signs admonish users to stay on it. A granite pier affords fine views across Portland Harbor. Several benches offer places to rest. Headstones in a small stone-walled cemetery mark burials of Governor Percival Baxter's pet dogs and horses. Walkers beware! Pairs and clots of joggers often tramp and huff along the trail. Dog-walkers and their dogs (and their scat) are a constant presence; at times, both the trail and beach seem to have "gone to the dogs". Bicyclists must park their bikes at a rack near the island's security gatehouse.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank mainemountainbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gorham, Maine
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“quiet woodland walk along shoreline”
Reviewed February 28, 2013

This is one of my favorite places in Portland area. There is a wonderful, quiet nature trail that runs along the perimeter of this island that was donated by former governor Percival Baxter, well-known advocate for natural conservation and animal rights. The scenery is gorgeous, over-looking Casco Bay. It takes only about an hour to go around the island, Many spots are perfect for a little picnic.

Helpful?
Thank s p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
70 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“summer 12'”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

The view here is amazing especially when the tides are low and you are able to walk to the middle of island and just stand there and take in all of the beauty that you are surrounded by, a beautiful must see!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank rs_929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Drive to walk around island”
Reviewed December 29, 2012

A great place to spend a day on Casco Bay, Walk the 3 mile trail around and enjoy the solitude. One of the few islnds ou czn drive to and spend nothing

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank dgoldfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mackworth Island also viewed

 

Been to Mackworth Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing