We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant surprise”

Purple Cow House of Pancakes
Ranked #2 of 19 Restaurants in Fairfield
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast
West Brookfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
88 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Pleasant surprise”
Reviewed November 13, 2013

On my way home from a business trip, I saw the sign for the Purple cow and was intrigued. I am so glad I pulled over. The food was very tasty and the amount of food was a great value. Our waitress was very nice. I will stop by again when I am in the area.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ariel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    25
    11
    10
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kennebunks, Maine
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Ribeye Disaster”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

2 t'rys on a very RARE ribeye. Took a cheese burger instead finally. They tried to charge me for ribeye, I said I would pay for the cheeseburger. They said "not to come back ever". "I cost them money". I was on a family gathering. Waitress had the attitude they makes you nuts in a bad way. NEVER going back

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DandR04011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
115 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Stay Away - Do not get off the highway for this place”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We went at nine one morning. Place was understaffed and the service was surly because of it. We waited a long time for menus, coffee, and our order to be taken. Since we were not in a hurry we just let it be. But when the food came out over 30 minutes later, one plate had cold pancakes on it with burnt - yes completely burnt - bacon. The other plate of eggs and bacon was hot and fine. Trying to get our waitress to let her know was impossible and she did not come back for 15 minutes. When showed the bacon she just said, do you want more? No apology, nothing else as she put the check down. When I complained again about both the service and the food, she just picked the check up and walked away. We expected her to come back but she did not. So we left what we thought was the amount and left this place never to come back. Other people were waiting a long time, too. Some food looked good and some people were apparently happy except that the coffee pot would come around about once every 15 minutes or so. So if you did not get the young woman's attention whose job it was to pour, you did not get coffee. So if you get here on a good day, you might get treated well and have hot decent food. But if you are on the road and want to be sure to have a good meal, this is probably not where you want to stop.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BarleyOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
87 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Almost terrible”
Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

Fried foods taste like rancid oil. Bland. Industrial taste. Bad pancakes. Slow service. Weird atmosphere. Unpleasant experience.

Helpful?
Thank outofbutter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winslow,maine
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Waking Up With A Purple Cow”
Reviewed September 20, 2013

I'm referring to a breakfast, not morning after expeirences. Driven past this place a thousand times. We live in Maine and I'm sixty six and we thoughly enjoy a good breafast. You won't be dissapointed with the Purple Cow. My Wife had pancakes and I had the #8, four eggs, sausage, bacon,home fries,ham, toast. Yes you are reading this correctly, a delicious breakfast, and worth every penny! I can't wait to take my Daughter as this was her college Class name " Purple Cow"

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rascalWinslow_maine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Purple Cow House of Pancakes also viewed

 

Been to Purple Cow House of Pancakes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing