We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful staff and a warm welcome”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Baskerville

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Baskerville
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Shiplake
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Wonderful staff and a warm welcome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

We stayed at the Baskerville for one night, the manager Kevin was a warm and welcoming guy who was very attentive. Equally his staff were friendly and happy to help with nothing too much trouble..We stayed in the ship lake room which was very comfortable and cheerful.. It had all the amenities you need for an overnight stay.. The room was spotlessly clean and had a very comfy bed. The evening meal and breakfast was exceptional and the setting for the dining room was very warm and inviting .

Room Tip: A lovely walk into Henley from the hotel down by the river ask for directions.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank newlyweds79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    61
    7
    5
    1
See reviews for
46
82
6
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

Upon arrival we were pleasantly welcomed and shown to our room by one of the members of staff. He went above board to make sure we had everything we wanted in our room.

Once we were settled we went down and had a great meal, followed by a few drinks at the bar. Again the staff in the restaurant were very helpful, but maybe a bit over worked as it did take a while to order.

The room itself was very nice and cosy. The bathroom was also good. My only complaint would be that the door to the room wasn't very secure or sound proofed and we could hear everyone passing our room in the morning.

Overall a great time was had and we shall definitely return if we stay in the area again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adamgoodtime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Level Contributor
65 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

we used the Baskerville as our last night stopover before heading to the airport. In retrospect, it was a little too far away for a stress-free transatlantic flight day. In good conditions, it should take about 45 minutes, but it wouldn't take much of a problem in rush hour to take this to 90 minutes or more.

The rooms are above a Pub, so it isn't the world's quietest room, as some of the noise from the bar inevitably filters through. The beds were reasonably comfortable, and the menu for dinner was varied and tasty. They also had a good selection of cask ales to try. We can't comment on the breakfasts, as we had to leave before breakfast was served.

The temperature in our room was a bit high, and with no thermostat, we had to open a couple of windows to cool things off, thereby increasing the ambient noise level further.

They also had problems with their internet service provider (ISP), so we couldn't check our flight times without assistance. The assistant manager worked with one of the bar staff who was able to use her 3g phone to help us get the information we needed, though. Reportedly, the internet issues should be resolved within a couple of weeks when they get a new ISP online.

There is a nice play structure in the back garden which was great for burning off our 4 year old's excess energy before bedtime.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JeffC123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

We recently stayed at the Baskerville while walking the Thames Path. The staff, the care they showed us, our rooms, the food and the ambience were far superior to many 4 star hotels we've stayed in. We can't praise them too highly and are very much looking forward to a return visit. Don't hesitate if you're thinking of staying here.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NORMA L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

We stayed on the night of my birthday as a treat. My other half who booked the hotel was very disappointed with the quality of the accommodation for the price. The hotel is really a pub with rooms and although it's clean and the staff are friendly there are far better places in the area for a similar price.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grimble_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

Had lunch there this week as it was open for food all day and we wanted to eat at 3pm.

Nice starters of black pudding, egg and leaves and squid and leaves. A little over priced at $7.50 each. My main course of fish and chips was dissappointing as I only ordered it because on the menu it said "chunky fillet of haddock" and when it arrived it was a long, thin fillet of bland fish. Homemade chips were nice.

Partners steak and ale pie was very nice she said, with lots of meat in the pie.

Nice staff and service. Would recommend a try.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Senma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

Only stayed the one night but I would thoroughly recommend it to anyone. Had a lovely welcome and I really liked the pub atmosphere. We didn't try the food(only the breakfast which was good) as we had eaten somewhere on the way. Comfortable and very spacious room and a big plus is the fact that dogs are accepted in some rooms. If I am ever in the area again I would not look elsewhere. It's excellent value for money and really enjoyed the night.

Room Tip: If you want to take a dog phone them for availability
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicola R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shiplake
2.1 mi away
Hotel du Vin
Hotel du Vin
#1 of 8 in Henley-on-Thames
4.0 of 5 bubbles 749 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Catherine Wheel
The Catherine Wheel
#2 of 8 in Henley-on-Thames
4.0 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
6.3 mi away
The Cherry Tree Inn
The Cherry Tree Inn
#1 of 1 in Stoke Row
4.0 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
The Red Lion Hotel
The Red Lion Hotel
#8 of 8 in Henley-on-Thames
3.0 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
2.1 mi away
Loch Fyne Henley
Loch Fyne Henley
#7 of 8 in Henley-on-Thames
3.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
3.8 mi away
Danesfield House Hotel And Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Baskerville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Baskerville

Property: The Baskerville
Address: 7 Station Road, Shiplake, Henley-on-Thames RG9 3NY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Henley-on-Thames > Shiplake
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Shiplake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Baskerville 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oxfordshire Restaurant of the Year 2016. The Baskerville in Lower Shiplake remains a traditional village inn with a ‘proper’ bar, a delightful restaurant, 4 star accommodation, a beautiful garden and ambitions beyond its AA rosette. With Kevin Hannah and head chef Jamie Herridge at the helm, its outstanding customer service is matched only by its creative, seasonally changing menus. Fresh, ethically and locally sourced produce lie at the heart of its modern but classically based dishes which offer a memorable experience. 2015 Beautiful South Awards. Silver Award in Tourism Pub of the Year. It is a AA 4 star Inn and is similarly rated by Visit England but with a Silver Award. It is situated on the Thames Path in the tranquil, affluent village of Lower Shiplake, with well appointed en-suite rooms, the Baskerville is the perfect place to stay the night either for Dinner, business or just for a leisurely break. The small town of Henley-on-Thames with its many interesting shops and home to the Henley Royal Regatta and the Henley Festival is only 1.5 miles away. Enjoy a boat trip up the Thames or visit the River and Rowing Museum. Try a night at the Kenton theatre, the fourth oldest in England. Within the village why not stroll along to Shiplake lock and watch the river cruisers pass through. A little further up the hill is the 13th-century parish church of St Mary's where Alfred Lord Tennyson was married. Further afield are the towns of Reading 7 miles, Windsor, with its castle, and nearby Legoland 15 miles, and the university town of Oxford, 22 miles. All of these can be reached by train from Shiplake station 150 m from the pub via the Henley branch line to Twyford on First Great Western trains. Feeling a little more adventurous? Paddington station is less than an hour away with all that London can offer. Shiplake is 25 miles or 30 minutes by cab or car from Heathrow Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Book Direct Rooms, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Baskerville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing