We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious lunch with flavorful lobster” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gateway Lobster Pound

Gateway Lobster Pound
Ranked #34 of 64 Restaurants in Ellsworth
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
231 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Delicious lunch with flavorful lobster”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

Friends and I had a fabulous quality, affordable lunch of broiled lobster on our way in for a weekend visit. We tried a bunch of lobster eateries during the long weekend, but kept comparing them back to Gateway. We had the biggest, most flavorful lobsters of the weekend there! The restaurant itself has a dive sort of feel to it, but the price is right and the lobster is great.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank SMLove226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    9
    4
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
112 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Strange...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

This place was a bit strange to walk into, like going into an old person's cluttered house. I couldn't tell if they were selling the little trinkets or if it was just decor. Also, not very inviting and just a strange feeling overall being there. The staff wasn't welcoming and we didn't get service, even a "hey i'll be with you in a minute" at all in the time we were there. I wasn't impressed, so we left. It was also very very small. But, I suppose if others say the food is good, and these things don't bother you, then try it out!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cheerfultraveler41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cuyahoga Falls, Ohio
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“BEST LOBSTER STEW IN THE UNIVERSE”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

I see all the reviews on here about the lobster. Look, steamed lobster is steamed lobster. It's hard to screw up and if it's fresh it's great. The decor at Luntz's is not inviting. Kind of like going to an old cluttered polish woman's house for Sunday dinner. Nick Nacks everywhere! Their fried clams and scallops are also very good, but about the same as you'd get most places in the area. We heard people ranting about their chowda, and I will say it is very good. However, take my advice....GET THE LOBSTER STEW!!!! Not a cup but a bowl. Prepare to have an out of body taste experience. My wife and I don't even talk while eating this stuff. It's like a religious experience. From what I can tell it's a whole lobster, heavy cream, butter, and sherry. Try it, you'll love it.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GregM33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Starkville, Mississippi
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Eat outdoors and BYOB!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

Hubby and I stopped here since our preferred place was closed on a Sunday. We wanted to split twin lobsters and have a couple of beers...but you must eat in doors to be served draft-one of those silly laws- and you cannot split the dinner!---because 'it is a special'. It was about 18 bucks for two lobsters with choice of a side. So he ordered the twins and I, the lobster roll. His was cooked perfectly and my lobster roll was average with a little mayo and lettuce on a bun...I'm not a fan. I should have ordered my own single lobster...live and learn. The service was good, the atmosphere is okay..clean and like a diner with lots of trinkets for sale. The outdoor cooking lobster pots is neat, good photo op. Overall, a good place. I suggest ordering from the takeout area, bring your own beverage and enjoy it outdoors on the picnic tables under the shade! And SHARE it if you want!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lacretia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Authentic Maine lobster dining experience but its not cheap”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2012

We've eaten at Lunt's Gateway 3 times: twice last summer and once this week. It's not a fancy place but service is great and food is decent. If you're a newbie at the whole Maine lobster experience, this is a good place to start. They crack the shells for you, to make it easier to eat. However, I've noticed all 3 times that the lobster is a bit overcooked, which results in tail meat that is chewy and tough. It shouldn't be that way. The other disappointment is the price. Recent national news reported lobster prices were way down. However, Gateway's menu is identical to last summer, no price change at all. We paid $18 for a basic dinner. The next day we got brave, bought 2 live lobsters at the grocery and cooked them in our cottage's kitchen - our 1st time every cooking lobster ourselves. It was FANTASTIC and not the least bit chewy or tough. Now my husband refuses to eat at Gateway anymore. I still like it though.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Simba449
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gateway Lobster Pound also viewed

Ellsworth, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Ellsworth, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 
Ellsworth, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Ellsworth, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 

Been to Gateway Lobster Pound? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing