We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Dream gone bad” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Homestead Motel and Cottages

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Homestead Motel and Cottages
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Ellsworth
Nb Canada
Level Contributor
78 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Dream gone bad”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

I hate to write negative reviews about a place, but i guess thats what Trip Advisor is about. I booked the Homestead because i have previously stayed there. I knew it was an older , dated motel but it was quaint. I have to say it has gone downhill in the last 4 years. I made reservations directly to the motel. When i got there , i was very surprised at the condition of the main building let alone the outside of the accomodations. The lawn was over grown, the shrubbery was overgrown, there was rubbish piled in the yard.
There was no one in the office, and i waited for about 20 mins, all the time thinking i need to cancel my reservation. While i was waiting another couple came by and said they too had been waiting but cancelled their reservations based on what they saw "outside". I went for a drive and called to cancel, but the owner called me back within 5 mins. I went over to check it, thinking it cant be too bad.
I checked in, went in the room and realized that it was bad, firstly they charged me a rate that was waaaayyy too high for what this was. the cabin was dark and dingy, no ac , the heater was a small forced air stuck in the wall , there was an old refrigerator probably from the 70s and one of the earliest models of Microwaves.
The Homestead is in a nice location, and it used to be a reasonable place to stay , even if it was dated. It could be a gold mine if the owner invested even 10,000 in the place, even a good landscaping job would help ( i thought the place was closed) .
If you are in the hospitality business , you must respect the fact that people PAY you for a decent place to stay. You need to put some of this pay BACK into the business.
Even if you phased the renos,, replaced some furniture, replaced the tvs in a couple of rooms. change the mattresses ,, even one room a month, in a year you would almost have it all renovated. We dont mind paying a 100 bucks, if its worth it, but we dont want to feel gouged.
Doug, Please , have a look at your rooms. or try staying in the cabins with your family.
It may be time to revisit the "dream"

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Doggerm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    7
    8
    5
    18
See reviews for
14
11
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

I agree with most of the complaints in the other reviews, except that I did not experience bad service or bedbugs. The place is in pretty bad shape. If you are looking for a nice, good-looking motel, don't stay here. However, if you are looking for a less expensive place with friendly service, Homestead is fine. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GSBBYU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

I booked my stay at the Homestead Motel and Cottages online through hotels.com the night before since I had a last minute change of plans and decided to stay in the area an extra night. Not may of the local cottages/motels in the area go through these booking websites, so I was happy to find a guaranteed room for the next night. This is a family owned business and the owner was very helpful and friendly. The main building and the surrounding gardens are quintessentially New England. The cottage I stayed in was clean and comfortable in spite of the mismatched decor. If I wanted a cookie cutter room, I would have stayed at a large hotel chain and paid twice the price. The bed was actually really comfortable and the shower was nice and hot, which was all I needed after hiking all day in Acadia in the rain. There was also a continental breakfast with bagels, muffins, juice, and coffee. One thing to note is that with hotels.com, all of the fees weren't included in the price I thought I was paying so it ended up being about $12 more than I thought. All in all, I am happy to support the local businesses in the area and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank crmsnprd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnatus, New York, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

My sister and I had never been there before and we don't have a lot of money.It's definitely not the Hampton Inn.but we where very pleased with the results.Very clean,affordable,the service was very pleasant,anything we needed they accommodated,would recommend,will be staying there again!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Marge B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastport, Maine, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Worst, most disgusting place I have ever been to. First off, the online pictures and just the whole general thing of it was a 100% completely wrong. We drove up and the looks of it were bleak. It looked old and run down. Had a bad feeling about it from the start. Went to check in and we were charged an additional $8.75 for doing it online and the taxes were close to $10 also. So we paid almost $20 more than was expected. We were supposed to be charged only $77 and we ended up paying $101. The outside around the office had garbage and things all over the yard that was just gross and if there were people around they would have to walk around it all just to get into the Office. Office smelled like a nursing home. We drove up to the cottage that we were given, #7, and there were weeds that were as tall as me all around every cottage, looked like it had never been cut. The screen door had holes in it that were covered by duct tape and there were bricks spaced apart as the steps so one bad step and there goes your ankle. When we walked in there was a musty moldy smell. The celling had huge close to black water marks. When we sat on the bed we sunk right in like the beds were so old and over used. Walking into the bathroom, the tub had duct tape over rotted wood with mold on it. The wall connecting the corners of the room together was apart, you could stick your hand in there if you wanted to. Just walking into that place made me feel nauseous. So we decided to go talk to the owner about getting a refund because it was just disgusting. When we did we brought up the mold and how bad the room was and he immediately said that the celling was not new it was old and they needed a new roof, he argued about the mold that I told him I would show to him. We gave him back the key and just left without the refund because he wouldn’t give it back. Tomorrow I am calling health services on him also. No person should stay here.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Erin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ellsworth hotels

4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
3.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
Marblehead, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

When I got there there was no one in the office to meet me. I waited almost an hour for someone to give me my key.

I had rented a cottage thinking I'd get a kitchenette, I brought food with me, but the cottages are nothing but rooms with a bed and a bathroom.
I don't know what the difference is between the cottages and the motel rooms.
My cottage was musty and overbearing with a bleach or cleaning agent.

This place is in bad shape. All the buildings need renovation and the grounds need to be cleaned up. The chairs outside the rooms were dirty and wet. I wouldn't use them.

I doubt that these people get much repeat business and while I was there at least two renters didn't stay after they saw what they were getting.

Don't go there.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

Certainly good value to stay here - but was a bit old and dirty - needs to be renovated somewhat. Even some fresh paint might help. I was lucky as I had no problems with bed bugs.

The owner was friendly and it was a convenient location.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PhilUSA2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ellsworth
1.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Ellsworth - Bar Harbor
1.6 mi away
Ramada Ellsworth
Ramada Ellsworth
#2 of 10 in Ellsworth
4.0 of 5 stars 519 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Ellsworth / Bar Harbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Eagle's Lodge Motel
Eagle's Lodge Motel
#5 of 10 in Ellsworth
4.0 of 5 stars 128 reviews
0.1 mi away
Twilite Motel
Twilite Motel
#3 of 10 in Ellsworth
4.5 of 5 stars 266 reviews
4.9 mi away
Sunset Motel
Sunset Motel
#6 of 10 in Ellsworth
4.0 of 5 stars 14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homestead Motel and Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homestead Motel and Cottages

Property: Homestead Motel and Cottages
Address: 143 Bucksport Rd, Ellsworth, ME 04605-2732
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Ellsworth
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Ellsworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Homestead Motel and Cottages 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Homestead Motel and Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homestead Motel And Cottages Hotel Ellsworth
Homestead Motel And Cottages Ellsworth, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing