We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The worst place I have ever stayed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Homestead Motel and Cottages
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Ellsworth
Reviewed August 9, 2011

Although the flowering beds outside look nice, the room I was in was horrendous. From the rickity bench outside the door to the, the screen door that was falling apart you go into the room with the waterstained and mildewed ceiling. The circa 1970's refrigerator was falling apart and didn't work. The TV was a similar vintage. The bathroom sink was stained, the wallpaper peeling away and the wood casings around the doors were rotting away. I honestly have nothing good to say about this place would I *not* recommend this to anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank gardendesign17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (42)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 42 reviews

Reviewed July 24, 2011

All different flowers in beds, hanging from the gazebo, lining the driveway and in porch pots were well-tended and in full bloom. The proprietors are friendly and helpful and provide a continental breakfast. Many repairs and upgrades are needed to the exterior of the motel. And our room needed new interior decorating, newer bed linens, repair to the broken recliner chair, and improved WiFi service (better outside on the porch). The bathroom was tiny.
There is some road noise from busy Rt 1 with easy access to Acadia and Bar Harbor.
But it's really hard to find a more inexpensive room in this high tourist area!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JuneS2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2011

Made an on line reservation after seeing the pictures on their web site seemed fine. The check in office was cluttered and had a damp smoky smell. Upon seeing the room, we could stay, no matter how tired. The only smart thing we did was walk (drive) away.
Richard L.

Room Tip: I do not believe there are best rooms in this pla.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Leon1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2011

I don't write bad reviews, this is my first. But I felt compelled to write this based on our experience with this motel. We booked this place for an entire week and we did it weeks in advance based on the great deal we thought we were getting. We were wrong because the place is so run down that it ruined the whole trip for us.

Don't get me wrong, the owners were great, they really tried hard to do a good job, but the condition of the rooms ruined it for us. This place needs to be gutted and redone. It is like stepping back into the 1950's without any updating done since then.

Specifically the front door did not close right, or lock right. There were big water stains on the ceilings. The ceiling had big panels which were all sagging big time. Carpet stained. The list keeps going on and on. I dreaded having to enter the room.

So go ahead and get your good price, but be warned, you won't be getting a good deal.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Little_guy_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2010

My family and I stayed here during a long road trip from Texas to PEI. We arrived late in the evening after a long day's drive and received a warm welcome from the proprietor, despite the lateness of the hour. Our family of four stayed in a small cottage-style room. Truth be told, it was a little run down and rather cramped, but we had a comfortable couple of nights nonetheless. What I liked about the place was its charm. For instance, the motel had a pretty garden area where you could sit and drink your coffee in the morning. There was free W-Fi, but the signal was not quite strong enough to reach the cottages (I understand this will be fixed in due course). The motel complex is situated a mile or so from town, not really walking distance, unless you like to walk. I would stay here again if ever I was passing this way.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OilRover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2010

The motel looks cute and quaint from the outside, with light green/blue paint on exterior, and a parking space in front of each unit. Parking lot was tiny; I have a small compact car and I was afraid it wouldn't be able to squeeze past the car parked in the first spot to get to ours.

The room was clean and dust-free on pretty much all surfaces (which is quite rare), but at the same time, dingy: the bathroom walls had peeling and ripped wallpaper in several places. The ceiling suffered obvious water damage (roof leaks) in the past, as evidenced by the peeling paint and masking tape on ceiling. The rusty radiator in bathroom makes the bathroom ithe warmest part of the room when you turn on the heat.

Another off-putting thing about the bathroom was that it didn't have linoleum glued onto the floor. Rather, the linoleum was cut into three pieces and laid on top of the floor, so the sides were curling up from heat exposure. Why bother doing something at all if it's not going to be done right?

There is NO wi-fi in the room. Only the main building, where the office/check-in is, has wi-fi, and "sometimes," parts of the communal driveway area and on the porch. The only thing is, in the office, there are no seats, so if you want to use your laptop, you'd have to put it on the breakfast table against the wall, and crouch over it. Not an ideal (or ergonomic) situation for using for more than a few minutes, unless you're immune to neck and back pain. We ended up finding a cafe with wifi the next morning.

We were only planning on staying a night and moving onto the next city/state on our trip, but just in case, we asked if they had availability the next night. We were told that if we booked through them directly, the rate would be something like $10-15 cheaper than if we booked through Expedia again.

This dingy hotel provided the most luxurious, soft and fluffy bath towel that I had during my entire New England trip; it was much more so than the so-called "luxury towel" that Exeter Inn provided with a red ribbon tied around it. How ironic. Maybe the towel is so soft because not as many people stay at Homestead as at Exeter; hence, the towel remains in better condition.

One great bonus about Homestead was that its cable TV channels included the Food Network.

Homestead is truly a no-frills budget hotel. We paid $69.60 (before taxes) for a Wednesday night. If all you care about is a bed and a shower, by all means, go for it. Just forget about the internet and remember to bring shower slippers.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank kokoskote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2010

We stayed in a no-frills cabin that was dated and a little shabby, but clean and served our needs. Breakfast was minimal but the proprietor was super nice and friendly. If you just need a place to sleep, this will suit you fine, and for a nice low price, too.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Skiold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ellsworth hotels
1.5 mi away
Ramada Ellsworth
Ramada Ellsworth
#2 of 10 in Ellsworth
700 reviews
1.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Ellsworth - Bar Harbor
2.0 mi away
Eagle's Lodge Motel
Eagle's Lodge Motel
#4 of 10 in Ellsworth
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Ellsworth / Bar Harbor
0.1 mi away
Twilite Motel
Twilite Motel
#5 of 10 in Ellsworth
317 reviews
2.2 mi away
Colonial Inn
Colonial Inn
#8 of 10 in Ellsworth
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homestead Motel and Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homestead Motel and Cottages

Address: 143 Bucksport Rd, Ellsworth, ME 04605-2732
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Ellsworth
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Ellsworth
Price Range: $58 - $68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Homestead Motel and Cottages 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your Homestead Motel and Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homestead Motel And Cottages Hotel Ellsworth
Homestead Motel And Cottages Ellsworth, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing