We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spotless but the furnishing were not good.”

Acadia Village Resort
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ellsworth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Acadia Village Resort
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Ellsworth
Reviewed October 23, 2012

I am an ex-housekeeper, so believe me when I tell you our two story unit with a view of the woods was spotless. The staff could not be nicer, especially Grace at the front desk. The problem was the furnishings. This was, no exaggeration, the worst bed I ever slept on. The bed was so bad I left it the first night around three AM to sleep on the sofa, which smelled. The sofa cushions did indeed, as one other reviewer noted, sink right down to the frame. I complained about the bed the next day and a foam mattress was delivered for us to put on under the sheets. It did help somewhat, but not enough. My arm still fell asleep if I leaned on it, the bed was that hard. We constantly fell into the middle of the bed. The bed creaked with every movement from the wood, not the springs, which I think were nonexistent.
After a long day of hiking and biking, a decent bed is a necessity.
Nothing a few dollars wouldn't cure. Until then, look elsewhere.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the woods offer the best view. The two story units have a huge jacuzzi type tub in it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank NapoABC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (72)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 72 reviews

Reviewed September 20, 2012

We stayed in a two story townhouse for a timeshare week. The location is good - just outside of Acadia & not a far drive to get anywhere. The townhouse was immaculately clean, but the entire resort is tired. The rooms were all of good size, but everything is a little worn. The old couch sagged in the middle and was like the rest of the furniture - just past it's use by date. The beds were adequate - but no one would mistake them for comfortable. Every finish, whether it be the furniture or the tiles on the floor all started out cheap & are being asked to extend their lives longer then they maybe should. The Master Bath was indicative of the whole unit. Lots of space, but the smallest, stall shower they could install (reminded me of a cruise ship), the smallest toilet (thought it should be in a children's school), and the cheapest, discount finishes they could find. When I returned home, it made me feel like my home is a resort comparatively.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank chefgraves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

We were searching for a place for 7 (2 families) to stay for a visit to the Acadia National Park. Most hotels charge over $150 a night for one room (and forget about the ones inside the park it starts at $199). We came across this place on the web. The price is extremely reasonable so we weren't sure what we would get but thought it was worth a try. The place is spacious and very functional, extremely clean and well kept. We stayed at a villa and it has a washer and dryer which is a real plus. It is very convenient as it's only 20 mins to the National Park, but it is in the middle of all the places you can get food and literally next to the LLBean outlet. The staff was extremely friendly. They have a indoor pool, a ping pong table, outdoor tennis court, outdoor playground, books and board games you can borrow, and even a good selection of video rentals. For my 5 year old, however, the best part is the indoor playground they have with the Ellsworth Tennis facility, which is a short walking distance to the resort. The kids really wished they have more time there. We would highly recommend anyone with a small family to stay here.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank 732chunyi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

My family and I came to Maine for my sister's wedding in late July. We stayed at the Acadia Village resort for 1 week we had a 2 story town house. we were very pleased with our unit, it was immaculate, the housekeeping staff does a good job keeping the place clean. The staff was always friendly and cordial and ready to assist us. My kids enjoyed the indoor pool with their little cousins I like that it wasn't too crowded 1 or 2 family at the pool at a time. The resort is centrally located with many stores and supermarkets within walking distance. We had a great week and will visit this resort in future. I will recommend this place for anyone who's looking for a nice quiet place to relax for a week.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank ruth g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Dirty, smoke-smelling unit. No a/c and in the upper 80s. I will try to get a better unit as it is August and hardly anyone is here. Many units up for tax sale. If I can't get a clean room I'll have to leave and report this timeshare to Interval International.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank Carl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2012

The resort was in a great location about 1/2 hour drive to many of the national and state parks. The Villa's were clean and gave the home feeling. I am an owner of one of the Villia's so I would like to give you a heads up that these are a time share property not a hotel room. It has 1 bedroom with a comfortable bed with a pull out couch. Full or 1/2 kitchen depending on the 1/2 you stay on. With a full washer and dryer so that you may go home with clean laundry and fill your full fridge that you do not see at most hotels. Wii-Fi is a slight problem but why would you need it if you are on vacation. Smart phone service worked great alone so did not need the Wi-Fi anyways.

There was 2-playgrounds one in great shape but the other was in need of being removed or repaired. The Resort has a discount card for a few local t did not use. The Tennis Center is only a short walk and provides a fitness center and indoor play center for children that my son loved.

The only issue that I had with the resort was the swimming pool was small but most hotels are about the same size and most timeshare properties are larger. The pool was also cold and in need of repairs, and the hot tub in the pool area could use some cleaning.

We loved the grills that could seam to be a little distance from others but really not bad from most spots.

Room Tip: Pay a little more for a villa. The heat worked great and the seam to have more privacy than the tow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Matthew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2011

AVR was everything we needed for our trip. Our room had a den/kitchen and a nice bedroom and bath. Although not new, everything was clean and neat. The supervisor, Tammy, was very helpful in many regards, from assisting us with resort needs to giving directions. Mr. Jim was extremely nice- the entire staff went out of their way to accomodate us. Acadia Village Resort is an excellent location for touring a area. We hope to return and when we do, AVR will be our choice.

Room Tip: We stayed in a 2 apartment complex in the back. You can see wildlife in the marsh area to the north...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ellsworth
0.4 mi away
Ramada Ellsworth
Ramada Ellsworth
#2 of 10 in Ellsworth
699 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Ellsworth / Bar Harbor
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Ellsworth - Bar Harbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Eagle's Lodge Motel
Eagle's Lodge Motel
#4 of 10 in Ellsworth
166 reviews
1.4 mi away
White Birches Motel
White Birches Motel
#1 of 1 in Hancock
94 reviews
9.6 mi away
Best Western Acadia Park Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acadia Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acadia Village Resort

Address: 50 Resort Way, Ellsworth, ME 04605-1717
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Ellsworth
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Ellsworth
Price Range: $99 - $259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Acadia Village Resort is located in Ellsworth, near Acadia National Park and Bar Harbor, two of Maine's premiere tourist destinations. Our accommodations offer a spacious living area, completely furnished, and equipped with modern appliances. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Acadia Village Resort (Ii) Hotel Ellsworth
Acadia Village Resort Ellsworth, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing