We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent vegetable soup!”

China Hill Incorporated
Ranked #40 of 65 Restaurants in Ellsworth
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Salem, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Excellent vegetable soup!”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Not sure what the buffet is all about but we eat here once a year and it has always been fine. That being said, we usually just stop in for a snack during our travels around. The apps have always been good and the service is excellent. The people here go out of their way to make sure you get the level of service you with for. This year we also tried the Vegetable soup and it was amazingly good! Full of crisp tender veggies like fresh peapod, broccoli, bok choy, and also had water chestnuts and baby corn. The broth was steamy and well flavored. Their oolong tea is also very good. The place could probably use a face lift but it is what it is and we have never been disappointed.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MAFOODIE01970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    18
    27
    20
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“"Don't listen to the reviews," I said.”
Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

"It'll be fine!" I said. I was wrong. Don't make the same mistake!! The food was not fresh, many containers were empty, and there were very few choices. We're in MAINE and there were only two dismal shrimp choices. The service was okay, that's the only positive. It was the worst buffet I've ever been to.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kaylasmom07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good service”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

If your looking for spectacular food, go to an olive garden. But if your looking for something to fill your belly and to receive great service from friendly staff, China hill is your stop. Were always greeted by nice, friendly staff, they check the tables frequently, and I must add the chicken toast is something to try! It is a little pricey, but other than that it would be worth going to.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BAC21994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bar Harbor, Maine
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Bad.. even for bad chinese”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

I have no problem with junkie, entirely inauthentic, Americanized, unhealthy Chinese dives in the US. This place, however, is subpar even for that. I wouldnt say its the worst I have had, but it doesnt really do it for me and can be fairly gross at times. I used to go on occasion. Learned my lesson of late and havent been back.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HarBarbor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bar Harbor, Maine, United States
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“MSG & HFCS laden sustinance only”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Atmosphere... It would help if it were clean. It's not

Service: At the door, good. Waitstaff, horrid.

Food Bar: Obviously boxed frozen food thrown in a fryer... tastes like their food handling practices poor ... frozen, thawen, refrozen is not good.

A lot if most of their stuff comes from cans -- how hard is it to make pudding or cake for the buffet bar? It's not.

This is American Chinese take out equivalent to McDonald's without the cleanliness of McDonalds.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rebbeka M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed China Hill Incorporated also viewed

Ellsworth, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Ellsworth, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 
Ellsworth, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Ellsworth, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 
Ellsworth, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Ellsworth, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 

Been to China Hill Incorporated? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing